We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Quiet! Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Quiet! Great Location!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The property is well maintained, but the signage and directions from the staff is lacking. The main lodge was gorgeous, so when we were sent to our room, I was let down. We stayed at the Crofts building. The outside looks old and run down. The room has been recently updated and was clean. We only stayed one night, but that was our plan. We ate at the Mallard Bar and the waitress was great. So were the Nachos! We didn't take advantage of the golfing, spa or other amenities. Just not enough time! Upon checking out and leaving, we were a few miles away when we noticed we had left our ipad! We called immediately, but we didn't reach a "live" person until we were parking at their front door. The front staff was unorganized, but we did get help and the ipad was retrieved! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Tysmamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_erickson, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let me know about your stay. The team has been informed about your comments, and we are addressing the points you made. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    202
    69
    42
    28
See reviews for
190
344
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The location is to die for. The rooms are updated misers and beautiful. The golf course is legendary. This is a must stay in the Mount Hood area. Many thins to do every season. The location is perfect for just about any activity.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_erickson, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love this place. It is in a beautiful area near Mt. Hood. The resort is lovely. In a wooded area with an array of room types to choose from. Love the outdoor heated pool. Food is wonderful. My husband loves the golf, my teenagers love hiking in the summer and fall and snowboarding in the winter. It is one place that has something for everyone in my family. No one gets bored. The resort fits in well with its surroundings. Sort of lodge like appeal. The best value is to book rooms in the main lodge. They have suites which have "kitchens" but not really even a kitchenette in my opionion. There are no dishes, cookware, etc. Pretty much a sink microwave and a mini fridge. However, do stay in the suites as you have your own deck or balcony that overlooks the beautiful mountain area. The beds and bedding in this resort are superior.

Room Tip: Opt for the suprise upgrade upon checkin when you book. It is a good way to get a sweet deal on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let me know about your stay. I do appreciate your referral to others. We look forward to your return.

John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

For 3 days in April, 2014, my husband and I stayed in a large $300/night suite on the golf course. The suite was well-appointed, although the kitchen was not sufficiently equipped to be useful for light meals (breakfast, lunch). We had to buy bowls at the market down the road for cereal and snacks. Incredibly, the room was never serviced. Not once. The first day, after we called the front desk, the room servicer came by at 4 p.m. We took a change of towels but declined because we didn't want to vacate into the rain while we were relaxing at the end of the day. On each of the next two days we called the front desk around 1:30 p.m. asking when they would service the room; we were assured they "were on it." In fact, at noon the second day I told the front desk we were out of the room and would be at the restaurant until 2, and if they wanted us to stay out longer we would. When we left, we complained, and the front desk offered us a $20/day discount on the rooms. Well, at $300/day this was ridiculous. They said they would contact us. We waited ONE MONTH TO THE DAY. No communication from them. My husband then sent a letter to the CEO and has never received a response. We had stayed there before, but we are never going back.
To be fair, my husband said the staff at the golf course was terrific - friendly, service-oriented, thoughtful. So, I would say: golf at the Resort but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: This is pet-friendly, so you might ask to be put in a room where pets are not allowed (if you have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your letting me know about your experience, and assure you this is not our recognized service level. I do take your comments seriously, and I will personally be following up with our staff to insure your points are addressed.

Sincerely,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grande, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We rented a 3-BR golf villa for a family vacation. The construction and decor of the Resort are lovely and it gives the appearance of a top quality resort. I was pretty quickly disappointed. The villa came with a 'fully equipped kitchen' which included about 30 coffee mugs and about 30 wine glasses, but only a single kitchen knife, no dishcloths. There was a dishwasher but no dishwasher detergent; there was dishwashing soap but no drying rack. Basically the kitchen was stocked with odds and ends and was impossible to use as a real kitchen to prepare meals. Room service came the first day and took our used towels without replacing them, then didn't even come back the second day. The A/C in our unit didn't work. I called the front desk and they had someone there within 10 minutes. He looked at the unit, told us it wasn't turned on, and left. It still didn't work. Fortunately the next 2 days were cool so we could just open windows. There's more but I won't drone on. I will not be back to this hotel; for this level of service I would expect to pay a whole lot less.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maynard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. This is not our standard, and we have undertaken the steps to rectify the negatives encountered.

Thank you for letting me know about your experience.

Sincerely,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked a basic room online, but the desk clerk gave us a free upgrade to a better room. We were lucky that a wedding and golf tourney needed the dual queen beds more than we did. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

It's a beautifully landscaped property with tons of things to do scattered throughout. This would be a great place to take the family, with the pool, miniature golf course, croquet, horseshoes, tennis courts, golf course and who knows what else nearby. The wireless network performed flawlessly, which is more than I can say for anywhere else we stayed in Oregon. The food at the less formal grill dining facility was not very impressive, however.

We wanted a short hike and the staff directed us to the Old Salmon River Trail, just a few miles down the street. A more beautiful forest hiking area than this could not possibly exist, we fell in love with Oregon just being there. The natural beauty surrounding this resort is possibly it's greatest asset.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are easier to get to, but you can hear people walking around above you. The firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omnivore2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing remarks. I appreciate hearing from you. We appreciate your business. Come back soon and often.

Sincerely,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossil, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wonderful, peaceful wooded Shangrila. They have opened building 2 to pets and are building a fence around the back. No more having to go to the segregated building lol.
Great walking trails. The macaroni and cheese with bacon at the golf course resturaunt is the best I have had anywhere and the breakfasts are awesome. Staff is friendly and helpful. Minor problem was taken care of within minutes. Met the manager in the lobby and he was adamant that if we have problems they would be taken care of immediately. Would stay again!

Room Tip: If you have a pet building 2 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pegareeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, General Manager at Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Resort to be your destination this last week. I appreciate your mentioning the new fence at building 2. It was good to meet you. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
John A. Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
15.9 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
25.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection

Property: Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Address: 68010 E Fairway Ave, Mt Hood Golf Resort, Welches, OR 97067-9706 (Formerly Resort At The Mountain, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the western highlands of Mt. Hood less than an hour above Portland, The Resort at The Mountain is a premier Oregon golf, ski & meeting resort. With a unique ambiance, exceptional service, and the natural beauty of national forests and clear running streams, The Resort offers a wonderful array of experiences for couples, families, outdoor enthusiasts and meeting or event groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At The Mountain Hotel Welches
Hotel At The Mountain
Resort At The Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing