We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food, nice people, quiet place”

Barlow Trail Roadhouse
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An authentic log cabin rich in history and legends, The Barlow Trail Roadhouse dates back to 1926 and is loved by everyone who visits. Locals, travelers and tourists alike have made this restaurant one of their favorite gathering places. The Barlow Trail Inn was built by the legendary William “Bill” Lenz, and named after the famous toll road constructed by Sam Barlow. The building originally served as a general store, and nine months later became The Barlow Trail Inn. The local inn had the reputation of having the “Best Food on the Loop to Timberline” downstairs and “Best Girls” upstairs. Hence, it was a popular stop for miners coming across the Cascades, construction workers building Timberline Lodge, and the local loggers. In 2001 the restaurant was renamed “The Territory” which did not sit well with several folks. By popular demand, the building has been renamed to include the historic Barlow Trail name.
kent, wa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good food, nice people, quiet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My mother and I like to visit this place for the soups, especially, and sandwiches. Meals are good, all are very good and reasonably priced.

Interesting decor, nice folks, prompt service. Coffee is passable, not great. Beers and wine are good to excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pat012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
STL, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

If you want average American food, you will be satisfied. Don't expect fresh food, this is standard high fat, deep fried kind of place. I had the chicken fried steak SMOTHERED in gravy and my friend had chicken cordon bleu that said it was made fresh but appeared to have been taken out of a bag and then deep fried until it was too brown. Enough said. Our waitress was very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STLColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“All trails lead to Barlow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

This roadside quaint establishment offers American food at reasonable prices. Portions are generous but not overwhelming. Ordered blue cheese bacon burger w/onion rings and was very pleased. My partner had the fish & chips and was also pleasantly satisfied with it. With sodas and the up charge for onion rings, our bill came to $30 for lunch. Service was good though my only complaint is that our food took a bit longer than expected to reach us, but that is a first world problem of insignificant proportion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't drive by this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Best breakfast ever. I had the special omelette with mushrooms, tomato, ham, swiss, and hollandaise sauce. Huge bunch of hasbrowns and great toast to boot. My son had the strawberry pancakes off the kids menu and the best bacon he said he has ever had. This breakfast was awesome - even better than usual at a great breakfast place.

The service was friendly and good. They made mash potatoes & gravy along with mac & cheese for a little girl at another table during breakfast hours. Great people, service and food.

When we drove away, my 8 year old son asked "Did you leave them a big tip?" and then answered his own question with "you better have" Cool log cabin atmosphere too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the desert
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must stop for hungry people!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My girlfriend and i have been here twice nowand it is reasily become our favorite place to go!! Service is always great and the food is amazing!! We have tried different things every time and everything had been freaking amazing!!!! Blue bacon burger, home made spaghetti, grilled turkey sandwich, and chicken and dumplings.we well be back!!!!! Ask about the history of the place, very interesting!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank waynewaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barlow Trail Roadhouse also viewed

Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 
Welches, Clackamas County
Zigzag, Clackamas County
 
Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 

Been to Barlow Trail Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing