We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come Hungry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barlow Trail Roadhouse

Barlow Trail Roadhouse
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An authentic log cabin rich in history and legends, The Barlow Trail Roadhouse dates back to 1926 and is loved by everyone who visits. Locals, travelers and tourists alike have made this restaurant one of their favorite gathering places. The Barlow Trail Inn was built by the legendary William “Bill” Lenz, and named after the famous toll road constructed by Sam Barlow. The building originally served as a general store, and nine months later became The Barlow Trail Inn. The local inn had the reputation of having the “Best Food on the Loop to Timberline” downstairs and “Best Girls” upstairs. Hence, it was a popular stop for miners coming across the Cascades, construction workers building Timberline Lodge, and the local loggers. In 2001 the restaurant was renamed “The Territory” which did not sit well with several folks. By popular demand, the building has been renamed to include the historic Barlow Trail name.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Come Hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

WOW, Have breakfast here!! You will not be disappointed. Great service and portions that could be shared by 2 people. Very quaint and comfortable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was like night and day....seriously”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a party of 5 and went to the Barlow Trail Roadhouse for dinner the other night. The food and the services was out of this world! The waitress....wish I had asked her name....was such a delight. She was friendly and funny and right on the money as far as making sure we had everything we wanted and needed. The dinners...chicken cordon bleu, meatloaf, chicken salad, nachos, was SO delicious. We all walked out swearing we would go out of our way to eat there again. So the next morning we figured why even look for a place for breakfast when dinner was so good so we headed back to the Roadhouse. There were 3 waitresses/girls working and although appearances shouldn't matter, they do. And the appearance between the waitress the night before and these girls was like night and day. And so was the food! The waitress got one of our orders wrong and not only was she upset by it, she defended what she wrote down, she walked away and left the wrong order on the table, and said 3 times how long it would take to get the right order out. The order ended up coming out less than 10 minutes later so we don't know what the fuss was about. The hash browns were a flat tasteless mush and not too much else was anything to right home about. In comparison, all 5 plates were cleaned off the night before, but the next morning 1 plate went back more than half full, 2 plates were almost cleared, and 2 plates were taken home to the dogs. Weirdest thing ever. Both the service and the food was like night and day.
Over all I would try this restaurant again if I was in the area, and I would recommend it but not for breakfast. But out dinners were out of this world yummy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Opadiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome breakfast * beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Cool place for sure***you gotta go check it out***food was terrific, service was wonderful and friendly, It sure didnt feel like 2014 (and trust me people, that was sure nice) Loved it, I must when you are in the area for a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mommx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get the stompin' mountain toast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Get the stompin' mountain toast - it is Texas toast dipped in pancake batter , oats, and frosted flakes deep fried. Sooo good. Cool atmosphere too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauradufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What A Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

What a find this was, thanks to tripadvisor.com my sister and I had the best bisquits and gravy. Ever. And believe me, we know our bisquits and gravy! This seemed to be a "local's" place and those are always the best places to eat. Great food, very friendly staff, we left feeling like we'd made new friends. We recommended this restaurant to the others traveling with us and they agree, it's a great place. The ambience, the people, the history all made for a great start to our day. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barlow Trail Roadhouse also viewed

Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 
Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 
Welches, Clackamas County
 

Been to Barlow Trail Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing