We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mallard's Cafe Excellent Sweet Potato Fries!”

mallards cafe & pub
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Welches
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: mallards cafe & pub (open approximately May 1 - September 1) offers traditional, familiar fare in casual, comfortable surroundings - amidst the natural beauty of the Mt. Hood National Forest. Seasonal outdoor seating is available and boasts some of the most spectacular views at The Resort at The Mountain. mallards café & pub is open for breakfast daily - 7 – 11 AM. Sunday Brunch is available seasonally 9 AM - 1 PM. All Day Dining menu is available Sunday through Thursday 11 AM - 8 PM; Friday and Saturday 11 AM - 11 PM (or later!)And, if entertainment is important to you, you can 'rack ‘em up' on our pool table any time!
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mallard's Cafe Excellent Sweet Potato Fries!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stopped at Mallard's Café & Pub while visiting Mt. Hood. We found it a little hard to find because it is located on the golf course of The Resort at the Mountain. It is located off East Welches Road, go past Fairway Avenue and turn left on East Estates Road. The address takes you to the resort...it isn't in the resort.

It was a beautiful day with a light breeze. We walked around to the back of the facility through lovely flowers and an old telephone booth...Superman did not appear however!

This place has a rustic charm and beautiful views of the golf course including a mountain view; virtually all the diners were outside, including us. The setting was beautiful, we could have sat there all day. Our table was closest to the course and we watched a couple of golfers teeing off in front of us.

Our server, Alyssa, was exceptional. She really got her exercise going back and forth to the restaurant! She was friendly and helpful. I ordered the grilled chicken on a croissant with avocado after being told they were out of crab for the crab club (this was the only negative). My husband ordered the BLT with hood fries (tossed in olive oil, parmesan and parsley). I chose the sweet potato fries to go with my sandwich.

While we were waiting, the general manager, John Erickson, came by and talked with us...very friendly! In fact everyone there was friendly, including the other diners, one diner came up and offered to take our picture for us!

When the food arrived I was blown away by the sweet potato fries! They were shoestring cut and had a crunchy outside with a soft delicious inside...the best I have ever eaten! Alyssa said that they are popular and they cook them in olive oil. My husband's hood fries were also delicious, but not as good as the sweet potato fries. I really can't comment on the sandwich, I think it was good but I was too focused on the fries!

Overall, a very good place...excellent atmosphere. It certainly helped that it was a perfect day too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrpamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    18
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Pub With Wonderful Views.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good food and rotating beer taps. What is not to like? The bar is situated with a great view of the golf course and a beautiful, heavily treed mountain in the background.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDude2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Ducky's...”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

(hard to avoid the NCIS allusion...)

Attended a wedding up on the mountain. Wedding was at Timberline Lodge, a marvelous WPA project from the '30s, brought back to new condition perhaps thirty years ago; guests mostly stayed at The Resort at the Mountain (see separate review there which includes comments about Mallards). Mallards was the location of a night-before welcome reception and the morning after the wedding breakfast, plus we ate dinner there on our own the morning of the wedding itself - a Saturday.

Service was good - quite good with server. The wait staff was young it being summer - summer jobs and all. Most were very friendly and welcoming and focused on helping guests any way they could. (A couple were more into their own thoughts but that's the case anywhere you go.) As i said, those hwo waited on us did their best to help us find what we wanted and have a lovely time. At which they succeeded.

The bar Friday evening was busy; staff were a bit whelmed but made things work out and put out the effort to keep us happy until they could get to us. The space was very nice - informal, open.

Saturday morning we ordered off the menus - there was a nice selection, certainly adequate. Our server offered to get us whatever we wanted - one pancake? sure, no problem. The eggs were fresh - or tasted fresh, anyway; the bacon was thick sliced and well cooked. The yogurt was very good, the granola light and not too sweet but good. Their oatmeal was a bit odd - real oatmeal but dry and they liked it on the less-cooked side - if you like it that way, it's fine. Coffee was pretty good but like most places it was Starbuck style - a bit rough around the edges but good. You know you're back in the PacNW when....

On Sunday we had the buffet which was very good. A broad choice of options and all were quite good. Included smoked salmon of course, eggs, that oatmeal, the same good bacon, sausages and chicken and ham options as well.

In all we were very satisfied with Mallards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

No reservations available. We came early as suggested the staff the day before we arrived. We came with a large family group and it took forever to seat us. They wanted to seat us outside but several elderly members are mobility impaired and it would have meant walking farther over uneven grass. Not an option.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and friendly.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went to the happy hour on a beautiful day. From the hostesses, waiters, we received excellent service, attention and flexibility. We sat outside and the view was breathtaking. Food was very good. We had the 1/4 pound hamburger with sweet potato fries from the happy hour menu. Plenty of food, which allowed us to split a wonderful warm brownie with blueberry ice cream. Highly recommend Mallards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darnelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed mallards cafe & pub also viewed

 
Welches, Clackamas County
Welches, Clackamas County
 

Been to mallards cafe & pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing