We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Woods Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
253 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent a week at Whispering Wood during February of this year. When we checked in I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the unit. We had a two bedroom with loft and it had everything we could possibly need during our stay. The people there were very helpful and the setting is beautiful. It's also very convenient to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    51
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband & I booked two weeks thru our time share & are very happy with our 2 bed/bath condo. We have been here a week already & have to say we couldn't be happier with our stay. Our condo is perfectly clean & nicely decorated. And they offer daily tidy service & midweek cleaning. It's just the two of us but would be perfect for four adults & maybe two children as the living room only has a couch & two chairs. We are Sleeping in the upstairs master bedroom & it has a great king bed, very comfortable. Love the gas fireplace & washer/dryer in unit. Beautiful surroundings and very quiet. Nice walking paths & about 16 miles to town of Sandy for more dining, shopping options. I walked the mile or so to thrift way to shop & get some exercise. Haven't used the pool/sauna yet but they look nice. Front desk personnel have been very nice & helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The condo itself was fine (although the beds are impossible to sleep on). If you want proper, kind, and fast service you need to go across the street to The Resort. Like one reviewer commented, the only person at the front desk who is able to answer your questions is never available when you need her-- esp in the evening. I had emergency surgery (and it was a heartbreaking situation) the night before, and had to go to Portland. We figured we'd come back that evening to recover; we didn't have time to pack up everything that day and return home after the operation anyway. So we called the evening of and asked if we could rent one more day-- nothing was available, so we just asked for a little more time to get out (11am is checkout). After we returned from Portland (which was later than expected), we had just enough time to eat and put our baby to bed. The front desk gave us a litany of reasons as to why we couldn't extend our checkout (they could have just said, No) so we rushed. They knocked at out door at 10:52. Then called twice before 11. Then a whole crew of people congregated outside and watched us (while talking about us back and forth on their walkie-talkies-- real appropriate). My husband cut himself on a razor during the whole shuffle, and I helped as much as I could tending to our crying son, and packing up the car. One lady snapped at my husband: You asked for an hour, we said no, and you took it anyway! We didn't ask for an hour. She continued: These people get paid by the hour, etc., etc... A very nice maintenance man actually helped my husband find our keys, after seeing that he had been cut badly and was bleeding. He was THE ONLY nice staff member. If thirty minutes was too long, and cut into anyone's wages, my husband would have been more than happy to pay Whispering Woods those lost minutes, especially to avoid such a humiliating spectacle the staff member at this resort caused, and to especially avoid having to tell the front desk the details of our experience the night before in order for some UNDERSTANDING. I will NEVER return to this place. We spent a night at The Resort before leaving, and the service there makes these people look like monsters.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
4 Thank paulmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We just got back from a few days at Whispering Woods. It is a great place to visit.
Staff is great and condos are very nice. Snow on ground but roads were all clear.
We would go there again any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The staff of this resort are very nice but one day the power went out at about 9:30 pm and the clubhouse closes at 8:30. I called the emergency or after hours number several times to see what was going on and there was no answer. I was so surprised that no one called us to let us know what was going on and to see if we needed help. I guess they don't realize that being from out of state, and not being familiar with fireplaces and snow, there were questions that would have settled our anxieties greatly, if we had a few answers. Power was off about 12 hours and not a call.
The other thing is that there is no a/c but only heaters. The rooms were too warm even when we turned the thermostat down to 65.
Having one boy and one girl, it would have been nice if the second bedroom had twin beds. Most of the timeshares we have been to are set up that way. There was a sofa bed but neither of the kids wanted to sleep outside in the living room alone.
Other than that, this was a very nice place to stay. Nice workout room, gift shop, pool. Friendly staff, clean facilities with updated appliances. Surrounding area quite nice (we saw some deer on the snow covered golf course as the sun was going down and it was a lovely scene. )
Nice little market down the street with shops nearby. Good place to stay.

Room Tip: No elevator so if climbing stairs is hard for you, request a bottom floor with a ramp. They try ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We've stayed at Whispering Woods several times in the last year and loved it every time. We live just outside of Portland and are about 1 1/2 hours from Mt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort. To make our weekend ski trips more relaxing, we often reserve a condo at Whispering Woods to cut down on the driving.

We reserve through our vacation ownership at a discounted rate if units are available, but I think that the regular rates are pretty reasonable too.

It's a beautiful location, just a short drive off of Hwy 26. There are quite a few dining options available in Welches, Rhododendron, etc. Just keep in mind that not many of them are open late, so if you're back late from night skiing, the options will be limited.

The condos look older on the outside, but are updated inside. They are clean and spacious. We've stayed in a 1 BR with 4 people. There is a pullout couch in the living room area. Gas fireplace and I think most of the units also have gas grills.

The staff are very friendly and will give you an overview of the day, weekend or week of activities coming up. Last year, we enjoyed ice cream sundaes after the pool for $2.

Full kitchens stocked with basic pots and pans. Nothing like cooking oil or spices, so remember to bring those with you. There's a Thriftway down at the intersection with Hwy 26, in case you forget something, but it is quite pricey!

Washer & dryer in the bathrooms. If I remember correctly, they provide 2 single-use boxes of detergent too.

For coffee lovers, Coffee Brewsters is down next to the Thriftway. They have fresh baked scones that melt in your mouth, wonderful coffee and for the kids...Krabby Patties made from Oreos and other goodies!! We used to drive straight up to the mountain, but I demand to stop at CB on the way up nowadays!

For skiers and snowboarders, it's only about 15-20 minutes from Ski-Bowl and Timberline and 30-35 minutes from Meadows. After skiing, the kids can play in the heated pool (open year round!) and the adults can enjoy the hot tub. There's a golf course right in Welches too.

I recently found out that the ski shop in Welches ($22) and Mt. Hood Meadows Resort ($25) have a surcharge on their Sno-Park passes, but you can get an annual pass at REI in Portland for $20.

We love WW and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The townhouses on the north side of the complex have very small parking lots. Sometimes there are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank watergirlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

While this facility was closer to a motel in room amenities than a vacation resort, it was very nice, tucked back in the fir trees and along the golf course. Lots of wildlife travelling through the area. We had snow, rain and hail, yet didn't let the weather slow us down. You can't visit here without going to Timberline Lodge ... beautiful old-world architecture and wonderful food. Portland is only one hour way and there is great fly-fishing on the Sandy and Deschutes rivers. There are some great restaurants nearby and plenty of great scenery and drives.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acuraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
12.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sandy Inn
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Property: Whispering Woods Resort
Address: 67800 E Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067-8718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing