We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay At Whispering Woods Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Woods Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay At Whispering Woods Resort”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A friend of mine and I went up to Whispering Woods to some work and play. We brought our computers and settled into one of their two-bedroom loft units.

Staff is very accommodating, the unit was clean and lovely inside. Full-kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, large fridge, oven and stove, coffee maker, and toaster), living room with wood-burning stove, two-bedrooms, two-bathrooms, full washer and dryer, TV, DVD player, stereo....we loved it all.

The kitchen is stocked with utensils, pots, pans, dishes, and silverware. All you need is the food!

Behind us was their 27-hole golf course, all covered in snow.

They have free wifi throughout the units (12 towers around the grounds), but at the time of this writing, it needs some work. Connectivity was off and on. I hope they hard-wire all the units for Internet.

The unit was well-insulated and we couldn't hear neighbors. It was March, so the snow in the trees was gorgeous.

At the Clubhouse, they have an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, and sauna. There is a weight room inside, a wired computer for guests, TV and lots of seating to lounge around. They also have a whole wall of DVDs for rent to take back to your condo.

We had a really nice time there and will definitely return. Make sure you check their web site for a lot more information than I've written here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_PDX_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    55
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend with our son and his family. They arrrived several hours before we did. The office staff were very friendly and got them right into the condo. They even got to play in the snow on the gulf course right out the backdoor before our arrival. The condo had lots of room. Our grandaughter loved her upstairs sitting area. Having two bathrooms and a laundry really came in handy. We took turns as couples cooking in the well equipped kitchen. We went to Government Camp to go tubing. Our son and family spent several hours in the heated pool and us in the hot tub with snow all around.The kids left reluctently on Sunday. We were able to meet them again in Grisham for dinner. We finished off the week going up the ski lift at Timberline Lodge, hiking at Woodland Park, reading and watching movies rented from the reception.

The only negatives: better linens were needed, some of the wood on the doors could use sprucing up, the firewood never arrived for the woodstove (the heater worked well). Just being picky.

Room Tip: If you are stay for a week, buy groceries in Grisham, Fred Meyer or Safeway. The local store has q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My Aunt and Uncle from Texas (so am I) have a vacation time share with this resort and they told us that they love it!!! There was one year they had a problem because Oregon was having a heat wave and the units only have heat - no a/c!!! They said that it was miserable!!
They go up every other year and the year that they don't go, they let my brother and his family (wife and 6 kids) use the time share. A couple of years ago, my other brother took me up to Oregon and we stayed at a 2 bedroom condo and my other brother and family had a 2 bedroom/loft condo. Both condos were clean, with well stocked kitchens and looked out on the golf fairway. We took hikes all over the area and everything was beautiful!!!
There's always someplace to go to have fun around the area, ie: Mount Hood and Timberline Lodge, Alpine Slide (in summer), going down Columbia River Gorge and viewing all the waterfalls , going into nearby Portland, etc. There are also lots of places to go eat or if you want to fix something at the condo, there is a grocery store down on the highway.
The staff was very helpful with all the questions that I had and my brother used the WIFI in the clubhouse.
Again, this is a very beautiful area and a very beautiful resort that we really enjoyed!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We spent a week at Whispering Wood during February of this year. When we checked in I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the unit. We had a two bedroom with loft and it had everything we could possibly need during our stay. The people there were very helpful and the setting is beautiful. It's also very convenient to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband & I booked two weeks thru our time share & are very happy with our 2 bed/bath condo. We have been here a week already & have to say we couldn't be happier with our stay. Our condo is perfectly clean & nicely decorated. And they offer daily tidy service & midweek cleaning. It's just the two of us but would be perfect for four adults & maybe two children as the living room only has a couch & two chairs. We are Sleeping in the upstairs master bedroom & it has a great king bed, very comfortable. Love the gas fireplace & washer/dryer in unit. Beautiful surroundings and very quiet. Nice walking paths & about 16 miles to town of Sandy for more dining, shopping options. I walked the mile or so to thrift way to shop & get some exercise. Haven't used the pool/sauna yet but they look nice. Front desk personnel have been very nice & helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The condo itself was fine (although the beds are impossible to sleep on). If you want proper, kind, and fast service you need to go across the street to The Resort. Like one reviewer commented, the only person at the front desk who is able to answer your questions is never available when you need her-- esp in the evening. I had emergency surgery (and it was a heartbreaking situation) the night before, and had to go to Portland. We figured we'd come back that evening to recover; we didn't have time to pack up everything that day and return home after the operation anyway. So we called the evening of and asked if we could rent one more day-- nothing was available, so we just asked for a little more time to get out (11am is checkout). After we returned from Portland (which was later than expected), we had just enough time to eat and put our baby to bed. The front desk gave us a litany of reasons as to why we couldn't extend our checkout (they could have just said, No) so we rushed. They knocked at out door at 10:52. Then called twice before 11. Then a whole crew of people congregated outside and watched us (while talking about us back and forth on their walkie-talkies-- real appropriate). My husband cut himself on a razor during the whole shuffle, and I helped as much as I could tending to our crying son, and packing up the car. One lady snapped at my husband: You asked for an hour, we said no, and you took it anyway! We didn't ask for an hour. She continued: These people get paid by the hour, etc., etc... A very nice maintenance man actually helped my husband find our keys, after seeing that he had been cut badly and was bleeding. He was THE ONLY nice staff member. If thirty minutes was too long, and cut into anyone's wages, my husband would have been more than happy to pay Whispering Woods those lost minutes, especially to avoid such a humiliating spectacle the staff member at this resort caused, and to especially avoid having to tell the front desk the details of our experience the night before in order for some UNDERSTANDING. I will NEVER return to this place. We spent a night at The Resort before leaving, and the service there makes these people look like monsters.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank paulmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We just got back from a few days at Whispering Woods. It is a great place to visit.
Staff is great and condos are very nice. Snow on ground but roads were all clear.
We would go there again any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.4 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
990 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
514 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
24.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Property: Whispering Woods Resort
Address: 67800 E Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067-8718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing