We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Woods Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Whispering Woods was quiet and relaxing, but it would have been nice to have some air conditioning in the 90 degree August heat. The resort is in a beautiful location with many hiking trails nearby and its proximity to Portland. Some other negatives though are a dirty pool and the BBQ on the deck wasn't working.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

While the surroundings are beautiful & the resort was fairly quiet... this is Not a place to stay at in the summer or if you have any disabilities. We arrived 2 weeks ago to typical 80-90 degree weather for summer on Mt Hood. ( NO AIR CONDITIONING). When I made reservations.. NO-WHERE did it state that there were stairs to all their rooms. I'm 50% disabled. Even normal people would not appreciate to have to drag all their luggage up multiple flights of stairs. When I complained to the staff they said "nothing they could do"... she did say I was not the first to complain though *** SO FIX IT*** or at least warn people that its Hot & YOU HAVE NO AIR or that EVERYONE MUST CLIMB STAIRS TO GET TO ROOM & post it on THE RESERVATION SITE..!!!!

THE ROOMS ARE POORLY TAKEN CARE OF... There was mold along the top of shower enclosure & the carpet very worn out throughout the room. THE BALCONY LOOKED AS IF IT HADN'T BEEN CLEANED IN WEEKS (at Vino Bello & Legacy they were spotless). The maid had the audacity to leave a tip envelope though.

THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL/RESORT I HAVE STAYED AT IN 10 YEARS... IF YOUR THINKING OF STAYING HERE... FIND A NICE HOLIDAY EXPRESS OR HAMPTON INN. INSTEAD.

I'm shocked as a Shell member that we have such a low quality poorly taken care of resort in the line-up. All other Shell Resorts (7) we have been at have been top notch.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel... This one is Filthy. Dont stay in the summertime as there is no air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Fantastic location and very nice resort. We spent 5 nights here and loved it. Our 2 Br unit was large and accomodating. Fully stocked kitchen, good sized patio with a Weber gas grill. Perfect location to explore the Mt Hood area, Columbia river gorge, Portland, and the orchards and fruit growing region just north of Mt Hood. Our condo was a little dated, but everthing was in good order. A wonderful place to come back to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Avoid the building next to the club house and pool for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarkp727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have a timeshare at another facility and used one of our weeks to stay at the Whispering Woods. We have stayed at several different timeshares and while the Whispering Woods is located in a beautiful area, there were too many "issues" that make this timeshare just average.

CHECK IN: The staff wasn't rude, but they weren't friendly or welcoming.

CONDO: This "condo" was really more like an apartment. It had been updated with granite countertops in the bathroom and kitchen, and 2 flat-screened t.v.s. (One in the bedroom, one in the living area.) Though it was clean...our feet were obviously very dirty after walking on the carpeting barefoot right after showering. There were 3 of us (adults) and we stayed in a one bedroom unit that supposedly sleeps 4. It was a little tight for the 3 of us for a week.

We were in a first floor unit, yet we had to climb up 2 sets of stairs to get to our unit. THERE WERE NO ELEVATORS. Do you know how hard it is to carry all of your "stuff" up two flights of narrow stairs? I felt sorry for the people in the upper units.

As other reviewers have shared, there is NO AC!!!! It was 95 degrees when we arrived at 6 p.m.and it was blasting hot in our unit. We had planned on spending 2 days out of 7 to relax and enjoy the Whispering Woods complex. Unfortunately, it was so hot all week that we could not stay in our unit during the day and had to rearrange our plans. I would think this facility would invest in window air conditioners. At night, even with the windows open and fans going, it was uncomfortably hot. None of us slept well all week.

The pull out sofa my adult daughter slept on was uncomfortable, so she didn't pull out the bed...just slept on the sofa. Had we had a 4th person, the two people on the pull out would have been VERY uncomfortable.

If you use timeshares, you know that they come fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc. This unit was no exception and we were very pleased with what was stocked, with the exception of a tiny, table top ironing board. Whispering Woods...INVEST in regular sized ironing boards!!

Our unit had a washer and dryer in the bathroom that worked well. It also had a nice Weber bbq grill with bbq utensils.

The first time we used the garbage disposal, it wasn't working. We let the front desk know and, at some point the next day while we were gone, someone fixed it.

There was something wrong with the refrigerator and it ruined a bunch of our food...fruit, veggies, a whole watermelon, eggs, etc. by freezing it. When we arrived, the temperature was set at normal and even though we turned it down BELOW normal when our foods started freezing up, the refrigerator STILL ruined our food.

We were trying to look up information on things to do in the area and consistently had problems with the WIFI. It was slow and at times didn't work.

Another one of our pet peeves was the use of the swimming pool. Though the swimming pool area was pristine and inviting, the USE of the pool was frustrating. The timeshares where we stay always have an adults-only swim hour at least twice a day. The Whispering Woods doesn't offer that. Well...there were rude kids at all hours of the day. Now, I love children immensely, but not when they are allowed to over fun the pool...kicking water in your face, practically running into the adults, and being unruly. We thought it would have been best for the adult guests if there had been a designated adult swim hour so we EVERYONE could enjoy the pool.

Yes, I have been very negative. Perhaps our experiences with other timeshares have made us a bit particular, but when you pay into a timeshare, I think you should be particular.

The pluses here...GREAT location next to Mt. Hood and amazing lakes. Only an hour from Portland. Nice exercise room and large selection of DVDs to rent. Nice property. We also appreciated that it was quiet at night and in the early morning.

If you are buying groceries for your stay here...make sure you buy them at one of the grocery stores in Sandy or Gresham. The Thriftway here was terrible and terribly over priced.

Will we stay here again? NO! If we want to visit the area again, we will stay elsewhere even if we can't use a timeshare trade.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1happydisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My spouse and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip around Oregon. We had a two bedroom condo (which was bigger than we needed). It was very nice! Full size kitchen with a nice living room and a little deck/patio that looked on the golf course. We also had a personal grill for our unit which I thought was really nice!

It is very close to Mt. Hood and the local lakes and trails. You can buy the local forest parking pass at the office. The only thing I will say is that check in here is late, 5pm. We had to kill a lot of time before we could check in but since the weather was nice it wasnt too big of a deal. We will stay here again, especially if we decide to take up skiing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our last spot on our Oregon vacation was The Welches. My family and I aren't really into the mountains, but we decided to stay at the Whispering Woods for some relaxation before our drive back to Portland and our return to the East Coast.

Whispering Woods has a good location; about an hour or so to/from Portland; another hour to Hood River, and under an hour to Mount Hood. Whispering Woods is a large resort area. There is a swimming pool and jacuzzi by the office, as well as a fitness center. You can rent dvds in the office to bring back to your room to watch. There are several car ports to park under to avoid snow/rain. Our condo was in the C building, one level up. If you have tons of luggage; it might be tricky since there aren't any elevators. But we managed just fine. The two-bedroom condo is large! There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a full sized kitchen, living room with fireplace, dining room, and laundry room. There's also a small patio area with a grill and some seating. This place easily accomodates 6 people comfortably. There's lots of seating and sleeping areas. The decor is a little dated, but clean, and functional. There isn't any air conditioning, so if you get hot easily, I'd try not to stay here during the late summer. We were here in mid July and one night, it was hot in the room, the next night, cool and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and we had good sleep. We watched a lot of movies and ate dinner in the kitchen. There's a grocery store and some restaurants down the road in case you forgot to pack something or you're hungry, which is convenient. And of course, free wifi, which is always a plus.

I wish I brought my snowboarding gear. I didn't realize how close Timberline Lodge/Ski resort was to Whispering Woods! I'm sure it's difficult to get a room during the winter months, but in the future, I'd totally stay here for some summer snowboarding!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room with only one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank complikada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the "Whispering Woods" resort in early May, in a 1BR condo with a full kitchen. The balcony looks out over the "Foxglove" golf course. Our unit had a fireplace. It's nice - they are older units but have obviously have been renovated recently. Newer paint and granite countertops, and wood cabinets. Free wifi worked great for us, and the cable TV was nice during our rainy stay. The unit had a very narrow hall which was OK for the two of us - it would be a real squeeze with 3 or 4 people though. Saw there is a "nature trail" adjacent to building D but it was too rainy and muddy for a hike.

We didn't make use of the clubhouse, pool, or gym - they are open 8am to 8pm only.

I would stay there again. I think it would be a great "base camp" for summer activities like hiking, playing golf, and a visit to the Mt Hood Adventure Park as well as a shopping day in Portland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiveforefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.4 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,071 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
540 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
24.4 mi away
Skamania Lodge
Skamania Lodge
#1 of 4 in Stevenson
2,545 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Address: 67800 E Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067-8718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range: £94 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing