We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whispering Woods Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is a quiet resort conveniently located for day hikes and scenic drives around Mt Hood which is what we were there for. We arrived after the 8:00pm office closing and had to do a night check in which was a bit inconvenient but it was our own doing getting there late. We had a two bedroom unit on the third floor with no elevator so be prepared for a workout carrying up luggage, groceries, etc. Stop in Sandy to buy groceries as the kitchen is fully stocked and not only were we able to save money packing lunches for our hikes but there was also a grill on our deck allowing us to bbq supper as well (or you could throw a frozen dinner in the oven if you wanted to). The unit was comfortable but we were there in September so not having AC wasn't an issue for us. As time share owners we had exchanged into this one so that we could visit Oregon. This resort is by comparison is older and does not have the updated amenities like leather furniture, king size bed, comfy pillows, new carpet, jacuzzi bath tub, and the pool and hot tub closed early not allowing us use. However, the hiking and awesome views made up for any short comings of the resort. This area is rustic and that is what we love and we came to enjoy the outdoors so if you are like us you will also love this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

I normally don't complain about any vacation rental but this just took the cake. We stayed in Unit D7.

The location of this resort...if I dare call it a resort is about 40 miles outside of Portland. The surrounding town is very hillbilly and you get an extreme towny feel. The food when eating out is rough at best. Back to the property itself. This location feels like a retirement community and not a resort. The hot tub was broken and the work out facility was likely last updated in 1989 with used equipment. The treadmill was broken as well.

The unit itself was very small, maybe 400 sqft total. It was a one bedroom with hide-a-bed in the living room. The bed in the bedroom was very old and hard. The linens were also last updated in 1989...pure polyester. The pillows were matted and totally flat and had to be replaced. I would NOT recommend staying here in the winter as the heaters are on timers and only stay on for 90 minutes at a time...in addition to no AC.

The kitchen was decent. Marble-like counter and stainless sink. Be warned, the knife set is weak at best. It was likely 10 years old but one of those $9.99 deals at KMart on blue light special. The cooking pots were also rather old and beat. The silverware had been caught in the garbage disposal a few times and the spoons were sharp, yikes! The worst part of the kitchen was the dishwasher that was loud like a Dave Matthews concert.

The unit was clean overall and had a propane grill on the deck area. It is in bad need of updates though.

A few recommendations for the area: Trout Farm on RT26. It's a farm that lets you fish even if you don't have any equipment. The owner provides all fishing equipment and then you pay based on size of the fish you catch. Very reasonable considering he also guts the fish too. It's been there for 31 years.
"Del Burro Loco" or the Crazy Donkey! It's a Mexican restaurant which is reasonable, filling and great service. Good stuff.
Dita's Chocolate in the nearby town of Sandy. Amazing chocolate and a great selection of wine as well.

Good Luck!

Room Tip: Do not chose D7. I believe all even number suites are doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TomN591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWResort, General Manager at Whispering Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I’m sorry we fell short of your expectations. Just to clarify a few points:

1. Welches is definitely a small town, but we do enjoy a full service grocery store for those who like to cook in their full kitchen, and more than a dozen local restaurants, many of which have received at least 4 stars on Yelp.

2. The hot tub heater was indeed out of service for a short time this season and you must have been one of the unfortunate guests who only had access to our pool. For that, as well as the non-working treadmill, I am truly sorry. The hot tub was repaired and the treadmill was replaced with a brand new True Fitness PS100 to go with our True Fitness elliptical and multi-station gym.

3. Your specific comments about the one-bedroom unit (542 square feet) and the kitchen are also appreciated. Many of our guests enjoy the granite countertops and we are continuously updating our kitchenware. While I happen to enjoy some of Dave Matthews’ music, I agree the dishwasher could be quieter.

4. Understandably, beds are very important to our guests. The mattresses are 4 years old and the linens are no more than 2 years old. I’m sorry our beds were not to your liking.

5. Your comment about the heaters was perplexing. They are thermostatically controlled and they are not on timers.

6. Great recommendations for the Trout Farm, El Burro Loco and Dita’s Chocolates!

Thanks again for your time and comments.

Pat Easterbrooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We went here with friends, what a mistake this place sucked..! it is always in high 80s summertime on Mt Hood and this place has no air in their rooms. Oh and they dont tell you they have no elevators for their 3-story lodging. I will say the pool was refreshing at night. We thought the front desk staff to be rather snooty and that they show a complete lack of care towads guests needs.

I would not stay here again if they offered me the trip for free.

Room Tip: My tip to you if it is summertime find a nother resort that has air & an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWResort, General Manager at Whispering Woods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, especially at the front desk. Although your comment about our staff was truly unexpected and not what I am used to hearing, it will be addressed.

Unfortunately, we did have several days well above 90 degrees in August this year, making our non-air-conditioned rooms uncomfortable for some of our guests. We do have a few hot days during the summer months, but average temperatures in July and August generally stay in the high 70s.

If you should choose to return in the future, please ask your reservations agent for a ground floor unit as we do have a limited number available. We are currently working on a solution to the stairs challenge by installing lifts at one or two of our buildings.

Please know that your comments are sincerely appreciated.

Pat Easterbrooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I am a Shell Vacations owner (Hawaii) and used some left over points to book 4 nights in this resort. Being with Shell Vacations, I expected it to be superior as all the other resorts I have stayed in that are associated with Shell Vacations.
Cons:
I have never stayed at a resort with a 5:00 pm check in, sort of blows the day when trying to get into a condo, get food, get settled, etc.
Very small one bedroom with queen bed.
Fireplace was a plus, but had not been cleaned so most of the glass was pitch black and had to bend down to "see" the fire.
Pool towels were a cut below what you might get as bath towels at a Motel 6. The lounge chairs at pool were hard as a rock and very uncomfortable.
BUT the most horrible part of the stay was not being able to use the pool or spa - this place was overrun with families and only one average sized pool and spa. When we were waiting for our room to be cleaned we watched a couple with their 3 kids come out of our building and start walking to the pool, the little boy was maybe 3 and he stopped and started to fuss because he had just peed on himself and his bathing suit. He wanted to go back to the room and change and he father told him to get going, he could clean up when he got into the pool. First red flag. Then when we checked in I checked out the pool and it was filled with lots of kids, many were smaller children and NONE were wearing swim diapers (as that little boy should have been) and they were not required. However, it was clearly posted that children under 6 were NOT to be in the spa and yet, there were children under 6 in the spa at all times when I went down. My husband asked that I not use the pool or spa because of the unsanitary conditions created by careless parents and clueless staff.
Pros:
Kid friendly - no restrictions for them.
Setting was pleasant, we were in building D which was furthest from pool and very quiet and serene, had a lovely forest setting to look out at. Nice touch by this resort is that every unit had it's own gas BBQ so no need to wait for one to cook.
Kitchen was well appointed, refrigerator had automatic ice maker and unit had WiFi.
Clubhouse had an extensive DVD movie section and we were able to get 3 movies that we had on our Netflix list which gave us something to do in the evening.
Area has lots of things for people to do from hiking, to summer skiing, sightseeing. There were many wineries and fruit stands to explore. Yummy cherries grown in the area.
Lastly, the Zig Zag Inn is a mile down the road and has delicious food, great staff and good prices on food and souvenier items.

Room Tip: Building C or D. C would be best if you get first level as you can walk right in, D you have to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christeenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We loved this property. It is small, just 4 buildings with 6 - 8 units per building. There are just a few units that are on the ground floor, so if you don't want to climb stairs, you need to make sure that you have been assigned a bottom floor unit as there are no elevators. Also, there is no air conditioning. We were there in August and it was hot but did cool down at night. There is a small swimming pool with plenty of seating, a hot tub and a sauna. There is also a small but nice exercise room. There are very limited activities on site, but with so much to do in the general area, we would not have taken advantage of on site activitites anyway.The 2 bedroom unit we were in was on the top floor with nice views of the golf course from the balcony. The kitchen had everything needed to be able to cook. Each patio/balcony has a BBQ. Our unit was clean and the pull out sofa bed was also comfortable.This was a perfect size unit for a family. We did visit with another family who stayed in Building D on a ground floor unit. While it stayed a little cooler because there was no direct sunlight, it was darker, and there were mosquitos. We much preferred our top floor unit in Building A. (But again, there are lots of steps). Building A is directly acorss from the pool and Building D is near the small playground. There are so many things to do in this area. We went to Beacon Rock, Mt. Hood, hiked to Mirror Lake, saw the falls and visited the Fish Hatchery. And we still ran out of time to see and do everything. We would definately return to Whispering Woods.

Room Tip: You will get more of a cooling breeze at night in an upper unit. All units except the ground floor u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Whispering Woods was quiet and relaxing, but it would have been nice to have some air conditioning in the 90 degree August heat. The resort is in a beautiful location with many hiking trails nearby and its proximity to Portland. Some other negatives though are a dirty pool and the BBQ on the deck wasn't working.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

While the surroundings are beautiful & the resort was fairly quiet... this is Not a place to stay at in the summer or if you have any disabilities. We arrived 2 weeks ago to typical 80-90 degree weather for summer on Mt Hood. ( NO AIR CONDITIONING). When I made reservations.. NO-WHERE did it state that there were stairs to all their rooms. I'm 50% disabled. Even normal people would not appreciate to have to drag all their luggage up multiple flights of stairs. When I complained to the staff they said "nothing they could do"... she did say I was not the first to complain though *** SO FIX IT*** or at least warn people that its Hot & YOU HAVE NO AIR or that EVERYONE MUST CLIMB STAIRS TO GET TO ROOM & post it on THE RESERVATION SITE..!!!!

THE ROOMS ARE POORLY TAKEN CARE OF... There was mold along the top of shower enclosure & the carpet very worn out throughout the room. THE BALCONY LOOKED AS IF IT HADN'T BEEN CLEANED IN WEEKS (at Vino Bello & Legacy they were spotless). The maid had the audacity to leave a tip envelope though.

THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL/RESORT I HAVE STAYED AT IN 10 YEARS... IF YOUR THINKING OF STAYING HERE... FIND A NICE HOLIDAY EXPRESS OR HAMPTON INN. INSTEAD.

I'm shocked as a Shell member that we have such a low quality poorly taken care of resort in the line-up. All other Shell Resorts (7) we have been at have been top notch.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel... This one is Filthy. Dont stay in the summertime as there is no air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welches
12.4 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,085 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
549 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Sandy Inn
19.3 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Woods Resort

Address: 67800 E Nicklaus Way, Welches, OR 97067-8718
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Welches
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Welches
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With world-famous Mt. Hood only minutes away, Whispering Woods Resort offers you and your family the best in accommodations, relaxation and fun. You can ski in one of Oregon’s finest and most highly rated ski areas or enjoy the many activities within the surrounding area of Welches, Oregon. Whispering Woods Resort in Oregon isn’t just for outdoor adrenalin junkies. It’s also perfect for a relaxing family getaway, mountain wedding or business retreat. And when you’re ready to kick back and recharge your batteries, a well appointed one or two bedroom condominium awaits, complete with kitchen, dining room, and patio or deck. In addition to Mother Nature’s attractions, you’ll also find a heated swimming pool and spa, tennis courts and clubhouse with hot tub, sauna, and big screen TV. So come check out all Oregon has to offer at Whispering Woods Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whispering Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Woods Hotel Welches
Whispering Wood Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing