We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, fun, great value--but triple check your reservation.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winchester Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salmon Harbor Landing
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winchester Bay
Reviewed 18 April 2009

This was a clean and comfortable room that FAR exceeded my expectations--especially for the price--fantastic value! The owner takes pride in the property and goes to great lengths to make your stay comfortable. High quality mattress, high quality linens, lots of fun extras. I would highly recommend it--we had a wonderful vacation.

HOWEVER, because the owner is not an organized manager, I also HIGHLY recommend double-checking your reservation. I booked 4 months prior and she lost my reservation. (Based on another review here, I called to check in a few weeks prior.) She had booked someone else in the room I'd reserved, but she moved them and honored my reservation. I called again a few days prior to our arrival and she had us booked for the wrong dates. After my third call, she was ready and waiting to greet us when we arrived. I was a little nervous and had booked alternate lodging--but once we'd arrived, we decided to stay and had a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akapoptart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2008

We didn't even make it through the door. I reserved a room back in February for dates in August 2008. I just called to confirm the reservation because when the booking was made the owner said she did not use an electronic booking system, therefore, she did not have a confirmation number, nor did she take a deposit or any contact info. This should have been a red flag. She also mentioned at the time of booking, that only one other room was reserved.

So to my frustration, I was informed that our room and the entire motel was now booked for an event and we did not have any lodging. After much discussion she offered up a manufactured home on the property that she was renovating. She would give it to us at half price.

Now, two days later, she has called and left a message that she could "not accomodate us".

So, now what to do for the family reunion? Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank livetotravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

This is a great place to stay!

We stayed in Room 2, I think it is called the Vicotorian Room. (Comfy bed.) Along with being very affordable, everything has been completly remodeld --the bathroom was wonderful--all new and a had pretty mirror. It's not just regular motel furnishings, they have taken the time to decorate with great furniture. For expample our bed had mosquito netting that could be draped around it, which we thought was kind of romantic. Everthing was super clean. The rooms come with a microwave, refrigerator, and a hair dryer.

Just a short distance down the street is small market and across the street from that is a tavern with live music Friday and Saturday nights. The night we were there, my boyfreind entered and won the watermellon eating contest! Afterward we just walked back to the motel. It is also a nice walk down to the harbor where the gift shops and restaurants are.

Although it is very close to Hwy 101, I was not kept up at all during the night by traffic noise. I don't think 101 is very busy at night anyway. The first time I noticed the traffic was about 9 am when we woke up and it was not bad.

When we checked in the owner came out with us and showed the room and how to work the electric fire place, she was very sweet. We will definetly be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BeeSweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

I booked this online and almost kept driving when I saw it. What a mistake that would have been! The owners have completely redone it's 6 rooms. They have wonderful new memory foam topped beds that were great for me with Fibromyalgia. The bathrooms - all new! Little microwave and refrigerator, electric fireplace and beautiful antiques in every room. All 6 rooms have a different theme. Only one has 2 beds. This hotel is right on the highway and can get kind of loud. I suggest earplugs.
Okay - what am I doing...I don't want to share this place!!! Everyone will book it up and I won't have my room to stay in so nevermind.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sheri2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchester Bay
3.6 mi away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
20.0 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
20.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Itty Bitty Inn
Itty Bitty Inn
#2 of 4 in North Bend
93 reviews
20.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fir Grove Motel
Fir Grove Motel
#2 of 4 in Reedsport
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Harbor Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Harbor Landing

Address: 265 S. 8th Street, Winchester Bay, OR 97467
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Winchester Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winchester Bay
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique family owned and operated motel with clean and comfortable rooms in charming Winchester Bay, Oregon. Pet friendly, refrigerator, microwave, TV, and Wifi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing