We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Bear Creek, twice!”
Review of Wolf Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolf Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolf Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wolf Creek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We stayed at the Wolf Creek Inn on two separate occasions in the month of August - once before a rafting trip, and once after.

Our extended family stayed the night before a rafting trip - we stayed in 7 of the 9 rooms available. Checking in was bit of a circus, do more to all of us arriving at once, then any ineptness of the hotel staff.

All the rooms have bathrooms, but are rather small. The rooms with double beds really had double beds, except for the suite, which had a queen size bed. The suite is great if you can get it. Supposedly Clark Gable stayed in the room and it is nice to have a little extra space.

Dinner is served at the Inn (but not included in the room cost), and is quite good. The prices are reasonable and the wait staff was very attentive to us - even when all 17 of our family members were seated at two tables.

A cooked full breakfast is included in the room and was quite good. My daughter is a vegan and the hotel staff worked to find her something to eat that would meet her requirements. Actually, all the hotel staff were as accommodating as they could be.

Warning for those who must have TV: there isn't any. But then again, isn't that why we have TiVo?

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Therapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2007

Travelling through to Portland with our 2 young children.

What a delightful find! Great food. Great ambiance. Historical building.

Full breakfast was included for 4 of us about $100 for the night. They also serve dinner, which was delicious & convenient. We spent about $80 including beverages & dessert.

Played checkers in the lobby.

There is a great campground behind, with a stream & limited play equipment. Fun for our boys.

Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Luv-Beach-Towns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We stayed one night at the Wolf Creek Inn on our recent trip down to southern Oregon. We both absolutely loved the Wolf Creek Inn! What a charming place! We had a nice relaxing stay and really enjoyed getting to look around and explore it. It was nice to be able to look around (mostly) at will, with not much restricted. The inn was very peaceful and quiet. It appeared that there were only two other couples staying the night we did, though it looked like quite a few more people came to eat dinner at the inn.
We stayed in the Clark Gable suite, which we also really liked. The suite definitely has a more masculine feel to it-more rustic, fishing-type decor, compared to a couple of the other rooms we saw (more feminine-frilly feel). The suite is very spacious (we understand it used to be two rooms) with beautiful furnishings. My husband especially liked the rocking chair. The bed is quite high and fairly firm, but we thoughtit was comfortable. Definitely not the softest bed, but not bad at all.
We enjoyed the verandah, which opened off of the hallway outside our room. We checked in in the mid-afernoon and looked around the inn and at the other guestrooms (we didn't see a couple of them, as they were occupied already). We both love history, so we enjoyed reading the informative signs outside and inside the inn and exploring it. The women's and men's parlors were very nice-loved the furnishings! We looked at the Jack London room. There are two otehr rooms in the same hallway-one was about teh ghost town of Golden, and the other appeared to be about the history of the inn.
We didn't eat dinner at the inn, as we left in the late afternoon and were gone for a few hours to visit relatives down in Gold Hill, returning in the evening. We did enjoy breakfast the next morning, which was very good. There were only us and the other two couples. Breakfast included coffee (which we declined), orange juice, water, crapes with berries (I don't remember the exact name of it), bacon, and fruit-melon, pinapple, and orange slices.
The staff at the inn were nice and friendly, though we didn't see them much, only at check-in and at breakfast.
The only downside of the inn that we noticed was the traffic on the road outside the inn property-we were quite surprised how much traffic there was on it. We did notice the noise from the road, but not as much from the highway. The highway noise was more of a quiet rumble-not really noticable. Of course, the traffic noise is in no way a fault of the inn.
Overall, we loved our stay and would love to stay at the Wolf Creek Inn again. We would like to have the chance to explore the area more and just enjoy the inn. London Peak (located behind the inn) sounded like a nice hike, though we didn't have time for it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diekmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

We went there on the very busy July 4th weekend (actually July 1st, but busy nonetheless). The atmosphere was great. The staff is top notch. The sitting rooms and bedrooms are fun because they are decorated in decor of days gone by. Although they are old fashioned in decor, the rooms do have the modern amenities such as a tub/shower and air conditioning.

On top of all that, the food is wonderful. They try to showcase the local food, which means it is very fresh. As another reviewer mentioned, the room price is very reasonable, and that includes a very hearty breakfast for 2 people (in a double room).

The only complaint that I have is that although the beds looked wonderful, they are quite hard. If you like a very firm mattress, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LScholzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2005

Two tired travellers, we were making our way from San Francisco to Seattle by car visiting all available National Parks on the way. Wolf Creek is a tiny place on the map: one Hwy 5 exit and just a few dozen houses. Its claim to fame: Wolf Creek is exactly half-way between san Francisco and Seattle and the Inn is the place to stay. We got the Suite where Clark Gable once stayed. The room was large and charming: no TV and no alarm-clock, hard-wood fllors, a high historic bed and a lot of character. The only bad thing: no sound insulation-- the walls are thin and you can hear everything. It's a good thing that everybody goes to bed early and we had no problems sleeping.

If you stay at the Inn, you MUST eat at the Inn. It is the best food between San Francisco and Seattle bar none. The Innkeeper is also the chef and he is very friendly.

A nice bonus: since this is a property owned by the State, you don't pay hotel taxes. My room was quoted for $107 and this is exactly how much I paid.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2005

Stayed here for one night on the way to Crater Lake National Park. It was wonderful! We stayed in the Suite which is the only room located in the original part of the inn. This place is over flowing with history! We had dinner at the inn and it was great (I'm not sure there is anywhere else to eat in Wolf Creek) and breakfast comes with your room. If you want to break the habit of staying in chain hotels and you are traveling Interstate 5 in Southern Oregon, give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2004

We stayed in the suite (room 9) and my father-in-law in one of the smaller rooms here, the floor is so creaky I feared we might fall through, but the place is so charming and such an excellent value that we can't resist going back. In a charming location (isolated but just a very few miles from I-5), the friendly innkeeper serves up excellent dinners, and breakfast is included in the price of the room. When there make a side trip to the ghost town of Golden, just 4 miles away. Run by the State Park service, this is a true find!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scarlet_Pimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wolf Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Creek Inn

Address: 100 Front St, Wolf Creek, OR 97497-0006
Region: United States > Oregon > Wolf Creek
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wolf Creek
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf Creek Inn is Inviting! Comfortable antique furnishings, cheerful bedroom fabrics, and full private baths in each room invite you to slow down and enjoy a relaxing stay in the oldest continually operating Inn in the Pacific Northwest. Inspirational! Daily free guided tours of this nearly 140 year old establishment will show you how stagecoach, railroad, and automobile travelers have all experienced the Inn's hospitality. Intimate! With just eight uniquely appointed rooms, the welcoming front desk staff will make sure you stay is enjoyable and refreshing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolf Creek Hotel Wolf Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing