We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on the coast.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Yachats B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The view from our window was worth the stay. We watched as powerful waves built in the ocean, followed their progress across the water until they slammed into the cliffs, stacks, and sandy beach in the cove. Whenever we wanted, we could walk ten minutes up the trail to the magical Heceta Head Lighthouse. (Be sure to go at night with a flashlight.) The B & B is over 100 years old, so it has its creaks and groans. It served as the lighthouse keeper's residence and is now filled with antiques, collectibles, and wonderful photographs. The famous breakfast served with flair, is outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

The Heceta Head Lighthouse B&B is located at a fantastic spot with unique views. We highly enjoyed the walks up the hill next to the actual lighthouse through the dense forest. We did the walk in the evening, at night and in the morning and each time it was fantastic. The seven course breakfast was very good.

However, there are some things we would like to mention here. The Innkeeper didn't introduce herself to us, not even at breakfast - we didn't know who of the ladies the Innkeeper was and who was just responsible for serving breakfast. Further, we did not get any receipt of our stay and they also didn't ask for a signature for the credit card, which made it highly impersonal.

Further, the substance of the house is very nice but the decor is mixed. There is no clear and clean line in the decor throughout the house. In our opinion and compared to other B&B's, we had the impression that the innkeeper’s don't really care for the details inside the house. This could be improved very easily, especially at these room rates.

Overall, it is a unique place to spend a night but the atmosphere inside the house is not very welcoming. When the above would be improved we also might spend a week there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

What else can we say that hasn't been said? We spent 2 nights here (Victoria's room) and would like to go back someday. We had beautiful weather so enjoyed the inn at supper by picking up easy picnic fixings in Yachats from the wine and cheese store, the grocery store and great chowder at LunaSea (they also have fresh, raw seafood you can take out as well, there is a fully equipped kitchen for you to use). Breakfast was amazing both days, and we really enjoyed the company of the other couples staying there as well, we laughed alot on the porch with wine at night and at the table the next morning. Very relaxing, very atmospheric, very fun. Walk down to the beach at low tide, and up to the lighthouse at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Heceta Head Lighthouse B&B is a beautifully restored home of the lighthouse keeper. It is immaculate and nicely decorated in period style. The bed was very comfortable. Views of the ocean from the large porch are stunningly beautiful. The seven course breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was amazing! Staff is so kind and courteous. They provide a flashlight in your room so you can walk to the lighthouse after dark - I would recommend this! We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend Heceta Head B&B.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank pollyanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Truly one of the most beautiful places in the world. The setting is unbelievably gorgeous. The vibe at the inn is extremely friendly. Guests are invited to use the very nice kitchen, and can eat at a couple of different tables inside the house. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast is the best I've ever eaten at a bed and breakfast. And, maybe best of all, there's no cell phone service, so you don't hear people yakking at all hours(internet works great).

Walk up to the lighthouse at night is amazing, and we were extra-fortunate to be there on a warm, clear night with full moon. And the bathtub in the shared bath is magical, with an eyebrow pull-out window with a view of the isolated beach(and that moon).

Thanks, tripadvisor, for telling us about this place!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

What a beautiful place. I loved every minute of our stay here and visiting the lighthouse was an added plus.
The rooms and the staff are wonderful and the breakfast as well.

At night, take your flashlights and walk up to the lighthouse. They will give you blankets to stay warm and we needed them.
The views from the windows are incredible.
It's in a great location, near sandboarding and dining and the sea lions cave.
Treat yourself to an unusual and fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We were celebrating our anniversary week on the Oregon coast and wanted the lighthouse B&B experience.....to say the least, we were awe-struck with the beautiful location! Our stay was 4 nights, and we wanted to stay longer. All of the amenities were excellent....the staff service, the gourmet breakfasts, the beautiful period furnishings, and the postcard-perfect views! Visits to the lighthouse after sunset were incredible, especially when the light pierces the fog or mist....very magical! Overall, we rate this property as deserving of a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to experience. We intend to return for another wonderful stay. Our thanks to the host, Kim, the managers, Michelle & Steve, and the caretakers, Bonnie & Jack, for helping to make our stay so great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31ChewallaLakeRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
15.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
12.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
556 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,041 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92072 Highway 101 S, Yachats, OR 97498-9701
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yachats
Price Range: £101 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heceta Head Lighthouse Hotel Yachats
Heceta Head Lighthouse b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing