We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
271
225
70
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
225
70
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalad barocean viewhotel restaurantoregon coastsunday brunch isgreat viewjacuzzi suitefitness roomelectric fireplacesliding doorwaves crashingfridge and microwavethird floorindoor poolcomfy chairson the rocksnice room
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We love this little place. The rooms are average but you cannot beat the views! Their restaurant should stay open later than 9pm on Fridays and Saturdays though for late night travelers especially since there is not much in the area. Rooms are "roomy" and clean. We come back year after year. Great little hideaway for families or couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandyS612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Good location, right on the ocean. The 804 Trail runs behind the property allowing a hike north along the coastline and south, clear into Yachats. Updated rooms with microwave, fridge, and electric fireplace. We didn't have time to use pool or restaurant/lounge, so can't comment.
We had a room with a comfortable King bed on the 3rd floor, with one big problem. The sheet set was too small for the bed making the sheets pull off repeatedly during the night. The staff surely must know when the fitted sheets don't pull over the bottom of the mattress. Water pressure and temperature iffy.

Room Tip: If a non-smoker, be sure to ask for non-smoking room...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveRtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This resort has rooms that face the ocean, and we had one of them. From our room, we could listen to and watch the waves, which was a unique experience for us. It was so peaceful and beautiful just sitting in our room and looking out. At night, we were able to leave our patio door ajar a little so we could hear the waves during the night. They had a stopper, so the door could only be opened a little ways.

They are a little laid back here. Breakfast was not served until 8AM. We were still on Eastern time, so this was really late for us.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that faced the ocean, so we could walk out and be just a few yards from the coast.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 512Dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

nice little hotel right on a lovely piece of the Oregon coast. staff is very friendly and helpful. we had an oceanside room with a spectacular view of the sea.

room was comfortable, clean and spacious. full sized refrigerator, standard def TV (although we never bothered to turn it on).

the restaurant in the hotel is good, but not great.

other amenities include a gym, bar & giftshop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I can't say enough about this resort. It is listed as a motel, but I must say it is more like a resort. When we first saw it, the exterior looked plain and simple. Upon closer examination in the restaurant, one can still see the original adobe bricks painted over. A large, abstract ship hangs inside the restaurant near the salad bar, giving the place a nautical feel.

For some reason, a lot of mature couples and people stayed here at the same time as us. However, as the week continued, we saw younger couples and even a couple of teens with their families. Maybe they knew a good deal. The hotel was reasonable for the space and location, as well as amenities. We would return here in a heartbeat.

Located at Smelt Sands, where the tides rush in and out over the rocky shore, and spouting horns blow every few minutes, many people come here to dig in the small sand beach when the tide is out, or to scramble over the rocks early in the morning. We walked twenty minutes north to a long, sandy beach, past beautiful scenic points. Lots of dog owners like to visit this beach, so you will be visited, too.

Back at the resort, you will find fine dining at a reasonable cost, although it's not inexpensive. The food was excellent! We sat every night and every morning at a table with an ocean view. For lunch, we sat in the bar area. Upstairs is a library and games, I think. A spa and indoor pool are also offered.

The room we had on the second floor, south wing, had an ocean view. We left our window open at night, because about 150 feet away, the waves crashed over the beach and rocks at 3:00 a.m. The sound was soothing to us. I took many sunset photos from our window. The beds were comfy, but the pillows need to be softer for our preferences. The room was very spacious, too.

As you walked the grassy back area on the cliff, you noticed pretty pink flowers, perhaps called Armeria. This lent itself to photos of couples and anyone who stood there with the ocean behind them.

From this resort, we drove easily to Cape Perpetua and to Devil's Churn, which will take one day to explore completely. We also drove to the small, scenic town of Yachats, where the bay lay exposed at low tide, for tide pool exploration. Wear your Wellies here!.

Do come visit. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view on the north or south side. Some rooms do accommodate pets.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cococantada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews