We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable oceanfront motel at a reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, Washington
1 review
“Enjoyable oceanfront motel at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We enjoyed our recent stay at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge. It has a nice homey feeling to it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The oceanfront location makes it a great place for strolling the beach and watching beautiful sunsets. The bed was very comfortable and having a kitchenette was a big plus. They also have complimentary coffee and limited pastries and fruit available in the morning. We'll definitely stay here for any future trips to the Yachats area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocko779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    209
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
213
416
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We loved this old-school hotel. The back door opened right onto a patio with just a large grassy area separating us from the cliffs and steps down to the beach. My kids loved walking the beach in the early morning and playing on the beach in the afternoon. Toys were provided and there was a convenient foot washing station. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was light - just fruit and donuts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

If oceanfront is what you want, keep looking. Can see sunset from room, but it's not that close. No tidepools near hotel. Great place for dogs to run, though.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bTada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Hello bTada. This review brings up a good point about the view at Deane's. What constitutes a 'good view" really differs from person to person and we want to be as accurate as possible when describing the view so that guests aren't dissapointed. There are essentially two types of beaches in the area - sandy beaches and rocky beaches. The beach at Deane's is miles of sandy beaches. When people ask us about the view we describe it as follows: "The motel sits about 200 feet back from the ocean. There is a flat grassy area between the rooms and the ocean. You can see an unobstructed view of the ocean. There is a short flight of stairs to the sandy beach." The beach is perfect for long walks, building sandcastles, flying a kite and more. Dogs definitely love it! There are several places nearby to see tidepools. We post the tides daily to assist in visiting the tidepools at the best times. Hopefully this response will help future guests to know what to expect so that the motel attracts people looking for what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Yes, I know. Everyone likes this place. But let's remember the Vintage aspect.
Very cool glass block showers....also a wee bit of mold. No big deal for us.
Period bathroom fixtures....also variable water pressure.
Clean rooms with tasteful period decor...also wall heaters.
Very open to dog owners....LOTS of dog talk.

We did really appreciate the way the signs in the rooms were written and the tone. You know when you stay places that are overrun with "no this, no that signs"? The helpful reminders at Deane's were so well done we absolutely wanted to follow the rules.

A real plus is the proximity of the beach. Just a short walk, no dunes to struggle over and you are there. Stay for a few minutes or stay for hours.

We would come back. The Yachats area is really not to be missed.

Room Tip: Explore the kitchenette idea?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBB66066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Nicely remodeled hotel, nice people, nice price for that close to the ocean. I have to dock them a star for the poor internet signal, and speed, and the weird layout of the shower. I had to step over the toilet to get in the shower.
I slept good, nice bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for all of the kind words! Katherine and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry you had a problem with the internet. We have 3 "repeater" bases on site to ensure all rooms have a strong,fast signal. However, sometimes computers hook up to the first one that it senses ( maybe coming into the parking lot) rather than the strongest one nearest to your room. For any future guests or if you come to see us again (and we hope you do) just look for the signal listed for your room number and you'll get a good signal.

Thanks again for staying with us and for the valuable feedback.

Regards
Glen and Katherine - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here mid-week at the beginning of May. The property is very well-kept. As many of the other reviews have mentioned, there is a large grassy area in the front of the hotel and a large covered concrete patio in the back. You can see the ocean from your room but it is a small hike down to the actual beach. Each of the units had a small fridge and microwave. Ours also had a stove/sink unit but we didn't use it.
The rooms are small but comfortable - our room had one king bed, great for a couples retreat! The decorations are attractive, tastefully decorated and fit the motif of the coast. .

The service you receive here is spectacular. The owners work at the lodge in the morning and their parents run the check-in desk at night. You feel like family when you are there. They were able to give us great restaurant recommendations.

The lobby has fresh coffee, pastries and fruit in the morning. There are also a lot of movies that you can borrow for your room and books. They also have some small snacks for sale.

The location of the lodge is great - you are about 2 miles north of Yachats.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The rooms are reasonably priced. $99 a night in the summer gets you a very clean room that looks out at the ocean with a nice back patio. The beach is about a 20 second walk from the door. The location is nice because you are so close to the beach and about a 4 minute drive to town! It is very quiet here! The owner is very nice and has made a commitment to this motel. It has recently been renovated. I would recommend that you stay here because it is a nice facility, a good price, and it has great access to the ocean! You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
HI,

Thank you so much for the kind words. Reading all of these reviews really make all of our hard work so worthwhile. We've taken care to keep the vintage charm of our special place while providing today's modern comforts and are so glad that our customers appreciate that. We take great pride in providing a good value for our customers who are looking for clean, comfortable and simple oceanfront accomodations.

Thanks,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
510 reviews
19.0 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
597 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing