We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless, charming, welcoming...and right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Spotless, charming, welcoming...and right on the beach!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed my stay at Deane's! Glen, Katherine, Tom and their staff went out of their way to be kind and helpful to me and my two dogs. Their location is perfect: right on the beach and near the yummy eateries of and quaint shops of Yachats. I love the decor of the rooms, subtle seaside colors that fit the mood of the coast, and the direct access to the beach out the back door. My night was quiet except for the lovely roar of the ocean, and I spent a sunny (!) day reading and walking on the shore. A perfect getaway, thanks to Deanne's!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    208
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
212
409
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here when they first opened and I loved it. The beach was right in front and it was great to walk and listen to the waves. Came back with my friend and she loved it too. We walked the stretch of beach and loved the beauty and tranquility.The people who work there are super friendly and made you feel like theywere sharing their home with you. We will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buenvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Deane's Oceanfront Lodge is a nice little motel right on the highway (quiet stretch) and just set back from a nice long stretch of beach. I would recommend this motel for people traveling on a budget and for one to two nights. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the first call to checkout.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bcas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! It has been almost 2 years since Katherine and I started on this chapter of our lives and we have met so many nice people who enjoy our relaxed style and comfortable rooms. With so many great customers, we couldn't be happier!

Our vintage charm with modern amenities approach is attracting customers looking for something nostalgic but having the modern comforts like electric fireplaces, mini kitchenettes and Wifi. Plus one of the nicest secluded sandy beaches on the Oregon Coast just across our back lawn doesn't hurt!

Thanks again,
Glen and Katherine- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Pros: If your priorities are good customer service, wide open beaches, (not to mention huge open lawn areas), small pet friendly, clean, nostalgic motels, this is the place for you! A great place for kids flying kites on the beach, long beach walks/runs, large covered patio with bbqs, on Hwy 101, but 'off the beaten path' with a short drive to some good restaurants 'in town'. Good price. Be sure to read the information provided in your room regarding what they can provide (e.g. chairs, tables, etc.).
Cons: TVs/remotes need updating, ice tray too big for freezer compartment...but froze ice anyway, need 'black out' curtains for some windows if you are like me & want it dark while sleeping.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms, have patio & back outdoor access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene, or
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The room was rustic and charming, but small. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. I usually pay a little more for a bigger room with a better view, that's closer to Yachats, so I won't be returning. Overall it was fine, just not for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jklupenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We’re so glad that you appreciate our vintage charm and service. Our value proposition for our oceanfront accommodation is affordable, super clean, friendly, warm rooms, a nice view of the ocean across our field and access to miles of sandy beach out your back door. At Deane’s, we’ve worked really hard to keep the charm and provide the modern amenities and super service to all of our guests.
All of our reviews really help potential guest to know what we’re all about so we encourage everyone to take a look and come to stay with us if we’re the place for you before you visit. The one thing that we appreciate the most is when people come back to see us so we’re sorry that we’re not the place for you. Best of luck in your future travels
Regards,
Glen and Katherine Aukstikalnis - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here while on vacation luckily for just one night. The owners were extremely friendly and kind. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of choosing a unit which was
not an ocean view, although I'm not sure if it would have made a difference. All night I was kept awake by the highway noise on hwy 101. Our room was quite close to the road. It was handy to have the full kitchenette, although we went out to eat so it served well for reheating next morning. The bed was fairly comfortable, but the spread was dingy and smelled of body odor. The rooms were really close together so you could hear your neighbors talking through the walls. I realize that this was an old facility which you have to make some concessions, but when the people next door took a shower, the whole place shook when the plumbing was turned on. It was really Loud!! On the bright side, they have a nice area in the back of the property to go down to a beautiful beach. We liked that they would loan out DVDs if you want. They also have a barbeque for their quest to use. We loved Yachats and the surrounding areas! The Drift Inn is a fun place to get a great meal.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ltrowbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Hello Ltrowbrid. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback for the motel. We appreciate the positive comments but are sorry you didn't have a better stay. We agree that paying an extra $10 for an oceanfront room is worth it. For people very sensitive to noise, hearing the ocean at night can be very relaxing. We'll take your feedback regarding the bedspread to heart and work harder to ensure that everything smells fresh and clean every time. We know that cleanliness is super important to our guests and its super important to us (although we wouldn't describe the bedspread as dingy - it's only 6 months old and has always been a pale creamy/light blue patter with shells). We are glad you liked the beach and the town of Yachats. Thank you also for your comments on our friendliness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sloughhouse
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Deane's is a really neat old 1950's style motel that has been completely renovated by the new owners. The rooms may be small compared to modern lodging, but it is really comfortable and clean, the place really has personality. But what makes it unique, is that it sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean, a few steps from your room are expansive sandy beaches to explore. It's located a couple of miles north of Yachats, its quiet and a great deal with the beach right at your doorstep. When we return to the Oregon Coast, we'll definitely stay at Deane's.

Room Tip: Try to get Room #1, it has an extra room great for kids, also a real fireplace, and its only about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank re8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing