We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Culp Creek, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

From the warm reception Friday night, to the farewells Sunday morning, our stay at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge was a wonderful experience. To know that we have a place where dogs are welcome is really going to make our visits to the coast better-- and one small fee for the two dogs, wow! that was nice!
Thank you for providing such a lovely place for animal lovers.
Angela and Michael, Bella and Panda

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerns924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    214
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
221
428
78
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We planned a trip to take our dog to see the ocean and selected this place among the many "pet friendly" places due to the fact that it is right on a beach where the dogs can play. This is a very dog savvy establishment - they have onsite poop bags, they give you a pet bag at check in with a sheet you can put on the bed so the dog will not get sand on the "human bedding," (we do this at home but have never seen a hotel do it - smarter than the "no pets on the bed" rule) and they even give you treats, poop bags and a water bowl to use during your stay, plus a towel to use on your dog post swim. There is a huge yard out back where you can walk the dog for "business matters" and then you take a staircase down to the beach, where dogs can play off leash. The beach was nearly deserted each time we were there and there is a huge long stretch of sand you can play on...and play and play and play! And then....they have a rinsing station where you can rinse sand and saltwater off your dog before you go back to your room. Truly awesome!!!

It was SUCH a great place for dogs (and the owners are clearly "dog people") that it would get 5 stars on that alone. No where else that I know of can you have the beach right out your door and stay with your dog, and play off leash in the waves. Worth our long drive! I would also note all the dog owners there were really responsible and the dogs well behaved - not true everywhere! Everyone there seemed to appreciate the canine amenities.

However, you can also check out DVDs in the lobby, borrow a hairdryer or other item you need, etc. in the style of a B&B. Parking right outside the rooms. Small older motor inn style, not too crowded. Very clean. Pastries (yum), fruit and coffee in the mornings in the lobby at no extra charge. Fridge and microwave in the room. Comfortable bed. All excellent! We selected a non-oceanfront room to save money. Rates were very reasonable and only a $10 pet fee. From the reservation process through checkout staff were super friendly and attentive. Owner wanted to be sure we were happy with our stay; customer service is clearly a true priority.

Any drawbacks? Of course - every place has a few. The windows have no screens so if you want to leave them open at night be aware they are the old style push out panes that some once can reach in or out of - not a problem for me, may be for some. (If you travel with a dog this is a non-issue since they would let you know if anyone was near!) The bathrooms are tiny and we had a weird layout where you have to step over the toilet to enter the shower. Ok for us, possibly an issue for an older person so do ask about this when booking to see if they have a layout that works for you if you have handicap or access issues. Hotel towels were older and quite thin, but serviceable. We considered all these items quite minor.

Overall, we will stay here for future visits to the OR Coast! While I think it would be good for non-pet owners too, if you are on the road with a dog, do not pass this place up! It is one in a million!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Thank goodness the owners haven't remodelled this gem! The bright and clean glass block showers and salmon bathroom tile are a historical treasure. The location couln't be better: oceanfront with a large grassy area buffer. Whether you bring your dogs or not, you will be delighted by the cleanliness, the friendly staff, and the thoughtful touches that make you feel at home here. We have found a new favorite "home away from home".

Room Tip: Bring your dog and socialize with the other dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhorse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, IL
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We enjoyed staying in a place so close to the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Wish we could have stayed longer in this cute, clean and comfortable vintage motel near Yachats. We always look for independent older-style motels when travelling, and this one is a real find. The owners have done a great job in bringing this place back to life. The vintage bathroom and kitchenette in #12 were so retro-cool and the king sized bed was really comfortable. There's even a firepit out back to keep you warm on the cool nights at the coast! If you want a resonably priced room at the beach and can appreciate a little place with lots of character, Deane's Oceanfront is for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwillberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Amazing piece of property on the ocean with clean rooms. We motorcycle cross country and loved being able park our bike right in front of the door. No stairs, elevators. Out the back door is a picnic table with small grill, open fire pit, and large grassy area for children and grandchildren to play. Long, wonderful walking beach is just yards away, down the steps and room to run or walk in both directions.

Local restaurants will deliver some fine food if you're on a bike and don't want to go into to town. Otherwise, three restaurants with good menus down the road about 3 miles in Yachats. Delightful owners and lobby area. They have preserved the vintage feel but updated. Most of all the place feels cared for and valued. Additionally, there is a duplex right behind the motel owned by the same folks that can be rented for larger groups. We hope to get our grown children and grandchildren all to the beach and stay for 4-5 days. The families can stay together in the duplex, we visit, and then get our quiet sleep in one of the motel rooms. It's a great location and price in off season. Can say enough good about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband & I recently sold our home down the road from Deane's & needed to stay in a hotel for a couple of weeks. This is truly the best beach hotel in this area of the Oregon Coast. The hotel has been lovingly restored to its original self, making it a true classic. Beds are good, everything is perfectly clean, the owner & staff are genuinely friendly, and the big yard facing the ocean gives visitors more options for enjoying this 7 mile stretch of beach, which you usually have all to yourself. Nice touch with the available BBQ's. This hotel is sure to become very popular - everyone checking out doesn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
19.0 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
923 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
630 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing