We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
South Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation Highlight”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We just returned from an 8,000 mile road trip that included Bosco, our four year old English Springer Spaniel. At times it seemed as if we were along on “his” vacation to be driver and tour guide. Bosco’s favorite stop on the entire trip was Deane’s in Yachats Oregon. Deane’s is a 1950’s style oceanfront motel whose current owners have done a great job of upgrading and also making the place very dog friendly. Upon arrival you are greeted in the office by their two Corgi’s. When mentioning that we had a dog the owner said no problem and handed me a dog print tote bag filled with a “dog” sheet for the top of the bed, a towel to dry wet paws, a dog bowl and bag of treats. There was also a paw wash for a good rinse when returning from the fabulous beach at the back of the property. The rooms were very charming for humans as well. They have done an excellent job of keeping the 50’s charm with all the “today” amenities. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyK696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others and we're glad that you appreciate our mix of original vintage features with modern ammenities! Our goal here at Deane's is to provide an experience that is unique and different from a completely modern building. We're looking forward to seeing you again on your next roadtrip!

Glen and Katherine
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    209
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
213
415
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
191 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

When business took us to Salem for a few weeks, our favorite getaway was Deane's. Clean and comfortable, the hotel has all of the charm of a 1950's vintage beach hotel - with wifi!
Over the weeks, we got to know the staff and the owner's father... just part of the charm! Personally, I like room #6.. so if I am coming, choose another room!
Close to everything, between Yachats and Waldport.. friendly and affordable.. charming and clean.. what more can you ask for!!?!?!?!

Room Tip: DON'T choose Room 6.. it is my favorite.. and I want it to be open when I come back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bisbohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at Deane's twice on the same vacation - going to and coming from California. If we had been smart, we would have just extended the first stay. Loved the super clean, comfy rooms, the picnic tables, and the beach couldn't be more relaxing! Love the firepit, too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Deane's on Oct 26-28th. What a fun place to stay. We were in room 12 which had a kitchenette. Didn't do much cooking but there was pots, pans, dishes, etc if you wanted to. The room was clean, and quiet. Just a short walk down a path and steps to the beach, covered patio in the back, the friendliest staff! They are so pet friendly. Quaint, and clean is how I would describe this place. It was built in the 40's with a cute block shower, adorable kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and small fireplace. If your looking for a 5 star room with all the bells and whistles, then this isn't the place for you. If your looking for a place that will let you bring your 4 legged friends, super clean with NO doggie smell, close to the beach, friendly staff, then this is the place for you! Will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Deane's is a delightful little spot on the Oregon Coast. The rooms are super clean and some are pet friendly. It has a convenient location between Yachats and Waldport with easy access to both Florence to the south and Newport Bay to the north. There is easy beach access from the grounds and you can walk the large sandy expanse for miles. There is nothing fancy or pretentious about the property, but its quaint charm offers a good value for a great little getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kLou_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge two times now. We enjoy staying with Deane's, the buildings are clean and comfortable and our dogs have a great time. The building is old and well cared for; the staff is friendly and approchable. The beach access is awesome! Deane's is priced right which makes it affordable for multiple day visits. We are looking forward to our next trip to Deane's Ocenfront Lodge. Check it out and have a blast!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I recently stayed at Deanne's for 3 nights. First, I must say that this hotel caters to dog lovers. If you have a dog or more than one, this may be just the place for you. The sound-proofing at Deane's is terrible. You can hear almost every noise from your neighbor next door and their furry friends. This was moderately tolerable to me but it was the SMELL of "wet dog" and "doggy do-do" which were simply intolerable for me. The motel sits a fair distance from the oceon and because it is a one-story structure, you can't really enjoy the oceon unless you leave your room. On the plus side, The owners have done a good job at renovating the rooms and it is a cute road-side motel with many amenities including a beautiful beach and safe stairs to get to the beach. In addition, they provide bbq's and tools and seem to really care about their guests. The grassy knoll behind the motel is nice for pets but the concrete patio behind the hotel is simply a huge eye-sore. I found myself leaving the motel daily just to get away from the lack of sound-proofing and the unsightliness of the cement patio which was simply disgusting. Last, the beds were terrible........... they were very uncomfortable and need to be replaced. I did visit several other motels and there are several that sit closer to the oceon and don't have that "doggy smell". While others love this place, I personally feel that you can do better................

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frequenttraveler4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear frequenttravelor4511 - Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. In looking at your TripAdvisor profile, it appears that you typically stay at much more expensive and luxurious hotels. Deane’s is literally 1/3 the price of other places that you’ve reviewed. Our “value proposition” is to provide quality accommodations at a reasonable price. We try to steer people looking for luxurious accommodations, with manicured grounds, elsewhere. We really want to attract guests looking for a hotel with charming, clean rooms, and great service, along one the most beautiful beaches anywhere.

We were happy to read that you appreciated the beach access and our caring service. However, we were horrified to read that you felt that your room smelled “doggy”. We really do wish that you had told us of your dissatisfaction during your 3 day stay so that we could have worked with you to remedy the situation. It’s hard to imagine how this could have been the case but we would have done whatever it takes to make things right had we known. We invite you to contact us directly to discuss further. We want to ensure that no future guests have the same impressions/experience.

Sincerely, Glen and Katherine (owners – 541-547-3321)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
509 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
19.0 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
897 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
592 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing