We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a neat place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a neat place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I decided on this lodge/motel once we read up on the reviews and checked out some of the photos on TA. The family who operate this business made us feel welcome just from the initial phone calls. When we arrived a couple of weeks ago, we were greeted by the resident house cat who decided that sitting on the guest registry book would ensure a warm welcome. It did.
When we got to our room complete with glassed tiled showers, we were impressed. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Everything in the room met our needs including the local coffee for the machine.(Nice touch).
The grounds at the back were just a short walk to the bluffs and you were on the beach.
This would be a great place to have a family reunion. We may not be able to convice all 25 of us to visit at the same time, but maybe another family of 5 to start. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear SteveHall,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our nostalgic place and of course the great beach. It was a pleasure having you here and please do bring the whole family next time!

Regards,
Glen, Katherine and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    204
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
209
403
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I loved our room. Yes, the bathroom was a bit cramped but the original pink tile and glass blocks made up for it. A wonderful open patio area with picnic tables that led to a path to the bluff overlooking a beautiful beach and ocean scene. Nice access to the beach. A large fire pit with driftwood seating led to an enjoyable meeting with guests on their annual motorcycle tour across America. The owner was cordial and very helpful. The travel coffee cups provided for lovely morning walks along the shore. Not a complaint, a suggestion....nice thick towels would be a real plus. We will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Definitely retro but very affordable and a wonderful location. If we ever make a return trip to this area, I would stay here again. Loved the short walk to the beach. We were off season but it was very quiet and met our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fable16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed last May, on an awesome family trip. The staff was super friendly, including a pair of corgis. It's one of the few beachfront hotels that are still family owned so they've got that nostalgic atmosphere going on, The rooms are up to date though, with nice beds, (ours was fairly new) electric fireplaces, microwave and small fridge. Internet access is free. Bathroom was smallish, but loved the glassed in shower. No bathtub, but we were there for the beach front access. Most of the rooms have beach access. We walked in the front door, dropped our bags on the bed and walked out the back door and down the bluffs to the beach. Our room was clean and they offered extra towels at check in without us asking.

It's a nice little hotel and we totally plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zombietomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This motel has a great location, just 3 miles from Yachats, and right on a bluff overlooking the beach. But our room, without a beach view, was pretty bad. It was worn down, with uncomfortable beds, windows that would not close completely, an uneven floor, bathroom taps that dripped all the time, and a bathroom so small that we had to climb over the toilet to get into the shower. And still $98 per night, plus tax. Had it not been cold and raining, we would have camped and been almost as comfortable.

Room Tip: Get one of the recently renovated rooms with a beach view. They might be better than what we experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankies3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunachaser, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Frankies3rd - We are glad that you appreciated our incredible location. However, we were disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your standards. ALL rooms at the hotel have been recently renovated. Updates include new carpet and flooring, new beds and bedding, small refrigerators, micro-waves, coffee makers, tvs, dvd players, electric fireplaces and more. In addition, there are many renovations that are less obvious such as extensive sound-proofing as well as new windows in every room (which makes us very surprised to hear that your window wouldn't shut!). That being said, the renovations have NOT made the rooms feel modern and new. There is still a lot of character in all of the rooms - glass block showers, white washed wood paneling, original tile floors in the bathrooms etc. The hotel has been extensively updated but still retains the character and charm of 1940's Oregon Coast lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My grandson and I were traveling down the coast with my young Corgi, Holly. We were getting tired and so lucky to find Deane's on Google! I called and they waited up for us, showing us the two rooms that were available. We chose a non oceanfront room as we needed a roll away bed. The room and everything was quite comfy, they did everything to make our short stay nice. The doggie bag, bowl and treats were great...lol. Morning found Holly and I walking along the ocean. The beach is just a short walk out back... it would be interesting at high tide! WOW. At checkout they offered fresh fruit, pastries and coffee, in addition to taking Holly's photo for their Corgi gallery! :) I wish we could have stayed longer! Next time...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgrandma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

for the price this place is excellent, ocean view, on the beach (it has its own private access to a great beach and its like 1-2 min walk from the room), fire place, bbq pits, fire pits, beach toys to use, dog friendly (so much theres 2 doggies on staff in the lobby to greet you)super cool shower, 1 story, looks cool from the outside,coffee and doughnuts in the morning, picnic tables outside. I could easily see someone renting all the rooms and having a great casual beach wedding here, or fam reunion, the grassy area has a great setting for this, the rooms lend themselves to having a cool party.
the staff here are super friendly!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank do0fis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing