We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend them to ANYONE looking for a cozy, friendly place to stay right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I have stayed in their lodge and now their Vista Cottage and loved them both! For a much more reasonably priced (than most hotels) place to stay on the coast, where it's quiet and cozy and has VERY friendly faces to greet you, you HAVE to stay here! I grew up on the coast and after 13 years of not living there, I have finally found my favorite place to stay! I have taken friends there as well as my family and we all had THE BEST time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Hi Sheila,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Katherine and I have put our hearts and souls into this place since buying it in November....wow almost a year! You were one of our first customers and having you back so many times proves to us that we have made the right decision. We've tried really hard to separate ourselves from other establishments (fine ones of course) by having restored our classic lodge keeping the look and feel of times past. We seem to be drawing the right customers! Thanks Glen and Katherine- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

I don't know what the place looked like before, but OMG what totally tacky terrible rooms. I don't know if they have professionals cleaning the place, but the bathroom porcelain and shower stall were stained, the toilet ran throughout the night....we had rooms 12 and 14, next to the office, so there was that noise. Beach access was fairly non existent.While they were attempting to build new stairs, they were steep, poorly designed and were unfinished, unsafe,without handrails, with a five foot drop off at the end into a large pile of sand/rock mixture. We also had our dogs w/us, so the constant foot traffic out to the construction, and the workers on the roof, made for a terrible birthday getaway.
I'm still trying to figure out where the rooms represented in their photos were, and from where they took the pictures. Anyway,the rooms certainly could be made much more attractive and functional with a little thought, good cleaning products and the pet friendly rooms moved to the far end, away from the office.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmath0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

This guest is absolutely correct that she was not notified of the beach stair replacement project when she made her reservation. The reason for this is that the our stair replacement project ran 3 hours long and therefore impacted her ability to use the stairs on the afternoon of her check-in. We are extremely sorry that this activity impacted her stay. We should have warned her of this possible scenario when she made the reservation.

Our main concern is the inference that our pictures are not of our room or are taken to not represent the actual rooms. We have taken great care to display representative photos of a few rooms to display on our website. We purposely did not enhance or retouch photos so that our guests would be pleasantly surprised when they arrive which is most often the case. Each room is decorated with a slightly different coastal theme and may not appeal to everyone however most people find it warm, charming and attractive. We have purposely decided to renovate this classic lodge by keeping the original glass tile showers, salmon tile and fixtures. Most people love these features but since Deane’s was built in 1947 these features show some signs of wear but are immaculately and professionally cleaned by our in house , experienced staff.

We were quite surprised that this guest disliked our place to this extent as she indicated the next morning that she had a change of heart about cancelling the second night and wished to stay in the same rooms. No mention was made of any issues outlined in her review. We were not able to accommodate this request as we had already taken a reservation after she cancelled her 2nd night.

At Deane’s we strive to make everyone happy and this time we have missed the mark and have learned how to better take care of our guests in the future.

Regards,
Glen and Katherine Aukstikalnis- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed here around fifteen years ago and vowed never to return due to rudeness of the management. Heard it was under new ownership and decided to give it another try and am very glad that we did . The new owners are young and focused and working very hard to make this a first class spot. We most appreciated not being treated as second class guests because we travel with our two dogs. We stayed in their duplex (Shell Cottage) and it was the cleanest and most pleasant place currently available on the central Oregon Coast if you're traveling with pets and believe me, we have tried them all over the years. The owners are exceptionally attuned to the needs of their guests and go the extra mile to make you feel at home. There is a slight problem with noise if you have neighbors next door, but Deanes is not a modern structure and this is in no way the fault of the owners and probably cannot be remedied. The beach is fabulous and the general ambience of the surroundings more than made up for any of the slight problems with noise from neighbors. Give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Deane’s Oceanfront Lodge was a wonderful relaxing stay. Our charming seaside room was very clean, offering a beautiful ocean view and calming sounds of the surf. The pristine beach was a short walk across the rear of the property and down the stairs. The motel staff was very friendly and we would recommend a stay for anyone visiting the area…hope to see you again soon, Mike and Terrie – Austin, TX.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I loved the charm of this newly renovated coastal lodge. It has the appeal of a mid-century motor lodge but refurbished and with all the modern conveniences.

Ours was a large, clean, and comfortable two-room suite with a refrigerator & microwave, king bed, fold-out futon, and full bath with a bathtub and an original glass block wall. The hand-sewn upholstery, curtains, and comforters gave the room a lovely personal touch.

The suite was the perfect size for our energetic 4 year old and 5 month old baby just learning to crawl. We could fit a pack & play next to the bed and still have lots of room to move around it - unlike a lot of hotels that would charge twice the price for a smaller space.

We also loved having a communal patio space right outside our room for meals and an area for a romantic bonfire after the kids were asleep (our baby monitor worked from the fire pit. bonus!)

Although there were other families around it was still quiet, spacious, and private enough for mid-day naps and reading a book alone on the beach or in the grassy courtyard.

The staff was so personable that we felt comfortable with our son walking to the lobby by himself to get snacks, DVDs, or board games.

Everyone in my family was so comfortable here and we'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I just returned from a week-long stay at Deane's-- had a GREAT time!

This piece of land was doomed to become condos. (Just what the Oregon Coast needs, more condos. Think North Depoe Bay. Ugh.) Thankfully Glen and Katherine bought the land and hotel, thus preserving its natural charm.

The main selling point for me was the extent of their pet-friendliness-- you get a "doggie bag" when you check in with treats, baggies, etcetera. (Loved the Corgi "welcoming committee" as well.) Some places charge a daily pet fee, which can really add up for a long-time stay. Deane's charges a one-time fee so I could afford to stay for a week-- a real vacation!

The rooms are very "homey," Katherine makes GREAT coffee, and the location is perfect: Miles of beautiful, uncrowded beach to walk on. However, not too good for winter storm-watching, as you can't see the surf from the rooms. (There is about an acre of grass between the motel and the beach.)

All in all, a wonderful place to stay. The owners are directly involved in making sure the patrons are happy-- quite the antithesis to the "big-box" hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Thank you so much for the nice review. Having guests stay for a full work is nice because we love the business but even more so it really gives us a chance to get to know our customers. We're looking forward to seeing you again and if you do come during storm season you actually will see quite a bit of white water action as the surf was pretty calm this last week. It's not the wave crashing on the rocks view but I think it's a good balance between wave action and getting to sneak out on the beach when the tide is out during the stormy days.

Thanks again,
Glen and Katherine- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at Deane's one night on our road trip along the Oregon Coast and found it to be very charming and clean. Granted, it is an old motel, but the new owners, Glen and Katherine, have done a wonderful job remodeling. We stayed in room 11, which was a pet-friendly room, but there was no evidence of previous pets in residence (no smell, pet-hair, stains, etc). Be advised this is an old building , but it has been remodeled with cozy beds and beach motif. Flat--screen TV with satellite, microwave, coffee pot & refrigerator. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, so if you are looking for fancy or ultra-modern, dont come here. But if you want a clean, comfortable old-school beachfront experience, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAirStreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deaneslodge, Owner at Deane's Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2010

The moment that you told me that you own an airstream, I knew you would like our classic lodge! We definately chose to not renovate with a bulldozer so that we could maintain the classic charm but provide the modern conveniences. Thanks for the kind words and enjoy the rest of your trip!

Regards,
Glen and Katherine- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
563 reviews
19 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
3.5 mi away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deane's Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deane's Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 7365 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yachats
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deane's Oceanfront Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge located in Yachats, Oregon. Located on 4 acres with private beach access. Each room has microwaves, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, electric fireplaces. Ocean view rooms with private beach access. Covered patios with BBQ. Free coffee, fruit and donuts in the lobby every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Deane's Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deane`s Oceanfront Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing