We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Smiles”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All Smiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Overleaf is an exquisite, elegant property in one of Oregon's small treasured cities. Everything about it is first rate, from the stunning view, the beautifully appointed rooms to the health conscious yet delicious breakfast.

What I noticed this time was that every staff person, whether at the desk, in the yards or cleaning rooms always stopped to give a smile and a hello. The welcome begins at the check in, and continues every day until its time to check out.

It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, Cheryl G. The staff will be "all smiles" again when we pass along your comments. We appreciate you and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    206
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
267
796
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Overleaf is a beautiful, classy, clean, well-managed resort in Yachats, OR and is now our favorite place to stay on the coast! We rented the "A lul quoy" cottage in Overleaf Village - an incredibly quaint, beautifully decorated, clean, wonderful house. It slept our family of eight easily and was so comfortable and homey. And at about $300/night, we felt like it was a steal. A short walk down to the beach where there were lots of tide pools (our little ones were in Heaven), everything we needed in the cottage (fully-stocked kitchen, laundry facilities, 3 bathrooms, plenty of bedrooms and beds), and a nice central location to travel up and down the coast made for a great stay. We highly, highly recommend this resort. Our friends travel up to Yachats almost every year and stay in the Overleaf Lodge and say it is the best. We will have to try that as well sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill10012012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. You have perfectly described the Overleaf Village. The cottages are a great choice for family vacations or even for a couple’s get away weekend. Yachats is the perfect choice for a “base camp”, with Newport and Florence just 25 miles away. Whether you choose the Overleaf Lodge or the Overleaf Village, we look forward to a return visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed in early July with two teenage sons. Found the accommodations and view fantastic! If you only stay at Motel 6, then yes, it might be "pricey". Certainly cheaper than the Holiday Inn San Francisco, and for the price, you get more.
The rooms were huge, and included balcony with ocean view (depending on the room you get, you can get a bigger balcony and/or better view). A healthy, spectacular breakfast (love that quiche!) also included. Coffee was on anytime, and there was a fruit/cheese platter in the lobby in the afternoon. Laundry room facilities free, including detergent, and there was a library, as well as computer access.
A beautiful walkway along the water was in very close proximity (the Inn overlooked it), as was the town of Yachats. Check out the Luna Sea restaurant in Yachats for the best seafood (the owner has his own fishing boat).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
We are thrilled that your experience at the Overleaf Lodge was “beyond your expectations”! We truly appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Fourth stop on a 24 day,13 hotel, Pacific Coast Hwy, Nat'l Park Journey. I opened the door to the room and my wife said "We only have one night here?" Everything about this hotel was exceptional. Not five stars when compared to a Four Seasons type experience, apples to apples though, if you're traveling the costal highway, you'd be hard pressed to find better accommodations. It's worth staying here just for the experience.

From the moment we turned into the parking lot the exhaustion of a long day on the road melted away. This is an extremely well maintained property that doesn't just say welcome, rather, it says "Welcome Home". Located north of Yachats, you may very well find yourself never wanting to leave. In fact, after only one night, we considered moving across the country to live near here.

Building/Grounds: Beautifully maintained building with lovely landscaping. Walking paths encourage you to slow down and take your time. Staying at the Overleaf is not about getting there, it's about being there.

The spacious lobby invites you to stay awhile, sipping coffee, browsing the gift shop or simply taking in the spectacular view. Take away the incredible setting and your still left with an outstanding example of how a hotel property can, and should be run.

During our stay, the hotel was a partner with a local food drive. Sure, a room discount for a can of food or two is a nice perk, but we never had the feeling they were a part of this program for our business. Rather, it seemed that management was committed to making a difference in the community. We phoned our reservation in and only found out about the promotion online at a later date. The front desk cheerfully extended use the discounted rate and, not being familiar with the area, suggested places to shop along the way.

Check in was effortless. While the front desk staff (Joan & Joni) were extremely courteous and professional, there was more to it than just registering a guest. They were personable and their smiles, enthusiasm, conversation and laughter told you that this wasn't just a job for them. I hope that management recognizes them in some small way for the contributions that they bring to this property.

The Room: Third floor. Fireplace. Balcony. A beautiful room. Open the sliding glass door, and let the sound of nature wash over you with its amazing fury. Spellbound, we didn't want to leave. We did have to call the front desk to figure out how to start the fireplace! The heat baffle to the fireplace was the only thing that required maintenance.

Food: An exceptional continental breakfast is served on site. When a member of the cooking staff noticed my hesitation over an egg dish, she inquired if she could assist me. Explaining a food allergy, without hesitation she immediately offered to make me plain scrambled eggs. Again, someone going out of their way to make a difference in a guests experience. I only wish I had gotten her name.

Dinner options are a short walk to the Adobe restaurant or to drive a few miles into town. This in the only downside we found to this property. During inclement weather, this could be a factor. We ate at the Adobe, had an ocean view table and a wonderful meal at a reasonable price. The food was delicious and the kitchen agreeably addressed our food allergies.

Summary: We didn't want to leave. If you're driving the coastal highway and just trying to get from point A to point B, you won't regret an hours extra drive time for the experience that awaits you. Don't make the same mistake we did on our timeline. Stay for more than one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zdc2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your very thoughtful, thorough review regarding your experience at the Overleaf Lodge. We have passed along your compliments to Joan, Joni and the kitchen staff and they extend their thanks to you. We endeavor to provide our guests with a peaceful, harmonious atmosphere that enhances the natural beauty of the surrounding area. We appreciate that this was your experience, so much so, that you didn’t want to leave. We would love to welcome you back the next time you feel the desire to “let the sound of nature wash over you with its amazing fury”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreland Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Overleaf was a wonderful getaway. Ocean and basalt rocks with tide pools right out the door. Room spotless and well equipped with refrigerator and microwave. The lodge was always quiet. Staff was always ready to answer questions. Plantings and natural growth were spectacular. In quick proximity of hiking and little towns to explore. One suggestion..add dinner. .

Room Tip: First floor rooms have clear view of surroundings without the link fence which encloses upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Although a little pricey, we love this place. Perhaps the best hotel for watching the crashing waves on the rocks in Oregon. Loved the included breakfasts! and my wife loved the hot tub overlooking the ocean for sunsets.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 301 or 204 and 304 are the closest to the crashing waves and have the best views. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
We are happy to hear you had such a great time watching the surf. We look forward to seeing you the next time you find yourself in Oregon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in the Wapiti cottage next to the lodge. We had four adults and three kids under 6. The house was beautiful, large, clean and well decorated. It had everything we ever could have needed for a great beach weekend. We brought lots of food found all the dishes and appliances we needed in the kitchen. We also were glad we brought our own laundry soap for the washer and dryer. They worked great and with multiple trips to the tidepools, we were so glad to have a place to wash our muddy, sandy clothes. We especially enjoyed all the books, magazines and games in the living room. It was like borrowing a friends house for the weekend. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Oregonmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
As you discovered, the cottages at Overleaf Village are just a short walk from the ocean’s edge making it a breeze to go tide pooling, walking, or just relaxing on one of the benches along the 804 Trail. As you mentioned, the cottages are equipped with everything you need for a fun, family weekend. Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
22.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Property: Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing