We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best accommodation on the Oregon coast”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our best accommodation on the Oregon coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

In early July 2013 my daughter and I took a road trip down the Oregon coast from Seattle. Wonderful, wonderful sights and weather. Our favorite stop along the way by far was the Overleaf Lodge. It is close enough to Newport to make sense as an overnight for the Aquarium, which is a must on the coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    206
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
267
796
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I chose the Overleaf for the second night of a whirlwind, end of summer, vacation with my two kiddos. We had a wonderful time! Parents note that if you require pool or beach this is not the hotel for you. However if your family has had your fill of pool and beach and you seek inspiring, contemplative surrounding among the crashing waves, this is for you! We explored the tide pools in front if the hotel ( ever mindful of sneaker waves) and ventured out for a day trip to the marvels if Cape Perpetua. As I was traveling alone with the kids there was no spa time for me (as it is for the over 18 set only) but on my next visit I will tote along enough adult supervision to take advantage of the spa visit included with the room.

Breakfast is beautiful and unexpectedly well presented. Several cereal choices including homemade granola, a soufflé, two kinds of fruit salad, English muffins to toast. It was continental but felt much more like a great buffet. Staff is kind and welcoming and if the weather is nice a naturalist offers nature tours and s'mores can be roasted in the evenings. I would recommend the Overleaf primarily for couples but on the last day of a family vacation it was a lovely family retreat for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaChris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our “inspiring, contemplative surroundings”. It sounds like you and your kids really enjoyed our beautiful area, which includes tidal pools, coastal rain forest and incredible crashing waves. In order to maintain the therapeutic atmosphere of the Overleaf Spa, there is an age limit of 18 years and older. We do hope that you will be able to take advantage of the facilities and maybe even indulge in a relaxing facial or massage on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We greatly enjoyed our three day stay at Overleaf. The view was, as always, perfect. The weather surprised us and turned rainy which made the fireplace a bonus. Whales played in front of the lodge. The food was terrific. I love that there are always hot egg dishes and hard boiled eggs. The blueberry scones were great. The only negative comments would be that the spa hot tubs were down most of the time of our visit (as well as the ladies steam room). More accurately the cooler tub was down and they lowered the temp on the hotter tub to try to accommodate all tastes. But, that made the remaining tub too cool to use for our tastes. It was a significant disappointment, but we understand problems do happen. There were a few minor concerns such as not being told when our room was ready, no corkscrew in the room, no wine glasses being left during the cleaning. I mention these in the spirit of constructive criticism. We love the Overleaf and will return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwineandcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
I am sure that all of us agree with you when you write that you “can’t beat this view”. This stretch of coastline is mesmerizing, whether the sky is cloudy or blue, and the grey whales are the icing on the cake! Unfortunately, one of our soaking pools had mechanical issues during your stay. Because these things can happen from time to time, our spa features two Jacuzzi’s, so that we are still able to accommodate our guests. We appreciate having you stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was our second stay at the Overleaf and it was as good as the first! All of the rooms have a great view of the ocean, a fireplace and a small kitchenette area. We signed up for the free nature walk led by a marine biologist - very interesting history and info on the plants and trees. The staff is so friendly and helpful and the breakfast which is included in the room price is not the ordinary breakfast. Fresh and delicious! We hiked in the Cape Perpetua area which is close and took the path that is in front of the Overleaf into Yachats for dinner. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All room have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoCo0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Overleaf Lodge & Spa! The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment I began talking to them to book the reservation. The web site was a good marketing tool for the Lodge, not only from the beautiful pictures of the facility, but it's links to activities in the area is what sold me on staying in Yachats to begin with. The room was spacious, clean, nicely furnished and with a beautiful view of the ocean right out our 2nd floor window-- which we left open all night listening to the waves crash. The breakfast was delicious and varied, not your run of the mill packaged goods from a store shelf, but freshly baked or cooked on the premises. And the free access to laundry was a real plus.

Room Tip: I really loved the rooms overlooking the ocean, but I would think any room would be great here.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had trash cans for recycling which we loved, but didn't always listen to our request to not give us new towels each day.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoCubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I planned a three day two night stay at the coast for our 23rd anniversary and was very happy with the Overleaf Lodge. First off the location is excellent you can't get much closer without being in the ocean. The property is beautifully landscaped and while we didn't take advantage of it this trip is right on the 804 trail that runs up and down the coast. The Spa area looked very nice but we didn't take advantage of that either, we don't get away very often and decided to stay in the room when we weren't eating or enjoying the local scenery. The rooms are laid out well, the bed was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet, and the large soaking/jacuzzi tub was great. The breakfast seemed to be pretty good we only took part on the last day and the fresh blackberry scones were excellent. If I had to knock it for anything the rooms didn't seem to have air conditioning or if it did it didn't make much difference. That being said there is almost always a good solid breeze blowing at the coast and a few minutes with the doors open to the room and the balcony and the room cooled right down. We kept the balcony door open all night to hear the crashing waves... very nice. WE will be back and do this again. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: corner rooms have a view from two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Overleaf. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, with a walking path elevated above the beach, overlooking the ocean, but it's also just a short, easy walk down to the beach. There are many benches & places to watch the ocean or sunset, and the view from the 99 degree heated pool can't be beat. Nearby Cape Perpetua and Devil's Churn are must-sees, and the scenery along this section of the coast is stunning.

My one complaint about this hotel is that the walls are paper-thin. We were in room 110, and not only could we hear every word of our neighbor's conversation on Sunday morning, but as people left the hotel (before 8 am), we heard every conversation and bang of luggage. There was NO way to sleep in or enjoy the solitude and quiet on Sunday morning. I HIGHLY recommend requesting a 3rd floor room, so as to be away from the noise of people leaving in the morning. Though you will still be able to hear neighbors talk.

Other than the noise on Sunday morning, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I absolutely would return, but only if I could get a room on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a top-floor room to avoid the noise of people leaving in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpnta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
22.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Property: Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing