We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View and Room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lititz
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful View and Room”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Overleaf one night during our drive down the Oregon Coast. It is a very nice lodge and our room was just fine with a very comfortable bed. We had an awesome view from our balcony and the staff was very helpful. We were a bit disappointed in the breakfast buffet that we had read so much about and did not feel that it was any better than the buffets at most mid-range hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We appreciate the time you took to review your stay at the Overleaf Lodge & Spa. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the "awesome view, staff and lodge".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    213
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
287
825
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, oregon, USA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in the Alulquoy Cottage for a weekend with my brother and sister in law and their two small children. The house was immaculately clean and a great layout for us with 3 bedrooms, two of which had king beds.

I could not give this property a 5 star for a couple reasons. For starters, a lot of the resort was closed for construction including the pool & spa. That is fine, but I think discounts should have been factored in because we had fewer amenities. Secondly, although the cottage was super cute, it was sort of a nightmare for my bro & sis in law. There are nick knacky things EVERYWHERE, which was a treasure trove for 2 year olds with curious fingers. They had to work to keep the kids out of things while they were here. It just needs to be cleared out of "stuff" so that it is more vacation rental friendly.

Great staff at the lodge, good location with a nice path that leads to a sandy beach. Yachats is pretty, but I think there are much better locations on the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanderson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
A 'lul' qouy, meaning dolphin or to go in peace, certainly is a charming cottage. We are happy to read that you found the cottage immaculately clean and enjoyed the layout, along with it's proximity to the ocean and walking trail. We will certainly take heed of your note regarding the decor being tempting to two year old children. Our spa facilities, which include steam rooms, saunas and soaking tubs, were closed for renovation during your stay. Our front desk staff made every effort to inform every guest in advance of the dates the spa would be closed. Although the spa and lodge amenities are not included in a stay at one of the cottages, we are sorry if we missed informing you of the closure. Guests of the cottages,with the current exception of the spa renovation, are able to purchase day use passes to the spa facilities and they are always able to book any of our blissful spa treatments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As so many other travelers have found this is just a great spot. The room was large, well equipped and cared for. The breakfast was outstanding. The first day we had the best berry scones I've ever tasted. As before, we loved walking along the coast and spent most of a rainy day before the fire after a short scenic drive to the nearby covered bridge. It is close to Yachats and worth the trip. I had a great spa experience with an exfoliation treatment from Killey and hope to repeat that!!

Room Tip: We had just a regular Inglenook room with balcony and it was fine.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very easy to follow directions as to where to put what.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our popular Inglenook rooms. I will be sure to let our kitchen staff know how much you enjoyed the scones. We hope you will be able to return again soon to enjoy another great spa treatment and relaxing weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to enjoy the ocean in a comfortable view room with an opportunity for a convenient spa experience. The morning breakfast was a tasty buffet with more choices than usual. Overall a quality facility to escape and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKA674086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed a rejuvenating stay with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, staff and overall care. Rooms were huge and well equipped. Great spot for a stop over. Amazing view and location to enjoy the stunning views. Make sure to walk along the coast. Well worth breaking up your drive down the cost.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our “amazing location and stunning views”. Yachats is known as the “gem of the Oregon coast” and it is certainly worth a visit. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family of 4 booked the Grand Pacific Suite (GPS) for 2 nights at the Overleaf Lodge from Sunday, April 13, 2014 to Tuesday, April 15, 2014. We booked directly with the website and paid $420.00 per night. The Grand Pacific Suite is the top of the line room in the hotel and there is only one of these rooms. Technically the room number is 220, on the second floor and there are 3 floors total. There are 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 3 televisions, a fireplace, and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, utensils, plates, etc. Both bathrooms are identical with great jetted tubs. The balcony and the view of the beach and ocean is the best in the house. We enjoyed an awesome sunset one evening when it was a sunny day. I made the most of it with my camera and tripod on the balcony. The Wi-Fi is included and was fine in the room. The mattresses were great and we slept great. The self parking is free, no valet parking available. There is a continental breakfast each morning that was good. We enjoyed the tidal pools within the rocks near the beach behind the hotel because there were plenty of sea anemones and starfish out there. Make sure to go out on the rocks near the beach during low tide to view the sea life in the tidal pools.

Now, for the somewhat unfortunate news. During both afternoons of our stay, there was a leak from the ceiling in one of the bedrooms where water was dripping from the ceiling and landing in the middle of the bed. Management and maintenance told us there are leaks in the grout of the tile in the spa/sauna directly above the room. Yes, you read that correctly. The GPS was on the second floor (not the top floor which would be the third) and is directly underneath the spa/sauna. Both afternoons they turned off the water upstairs and replaced the sheets and mattress as needed. The first leak happened about an hour after we checked in. The manager let us look at 2 houses which were affiliated with the hotel and we could decide to switch to one of those houses if we wanted. When you book the best room in the hotel and there’s a problem, there’s no where to go but down, as in downgrade instead of upgrade. In the end, we wanted to stay in the GPS since they were able to stabilize the water leak initially. In the hotel’s defense, they had already scheduled to shut down the spa a week or two after our stay to fix the cracks in the grout in the spa. The problem is the leaks were occurring sooner and more often before the scheduled maintenance. Hindsight is 20/20 and knowing what I know now, I think the hotel has a serious design flaw with placing it’s best suite directly underneath the spa/sauna. The GPS should have been on the top floor with the spa underneath, but the hotel is already built, so the question is, will the leak from the ceilings continue to be an ongoing issue in the future? We’d love to come back to this hotel, but we will hesitate whether or not the GPS won’t have any leak problems again. I will say also the management did step up and discount our entire bill by 75%. We paid half for the first night and the second night was free since the leak happened a second time. I’ll try and post some pictures with this review.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2thdoc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are happy to know that so much of your stay was truly enjoyable; from the comfortable beds to the fabulous views. Unfortunately, the room above you did leak both days. Our construction crew began work a couple of days after you departed and are working hard every day on repairing the issue, along with some other beautification projects. We appreciate that you made note of our apologies, along with the free second night and the deep discount for the first night. As you also noted, we did offer to move you into one of the cottages, but we do understand why you would choose to stay in the Grand Pacific Suite in order to fully enjoy the gorgeous view. We enjoyed viewing the lovely photographs you took from the balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
346 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel might be four stars elsewhere, but in the context of Oregon Coast lodging it is definitely five stars. Our room was spacious, housekeeping was excellent, it had all the usual amenities and more, and it had a great ocean view. Breakfast was delicious--the kind you might expect to be provided by a very gracious homemaker. The only fault I found was too few TV channels in the lineup.

Room Tip: There is a popular foot path that goes past first floor rooms with terraces.
See more room tips
Green Features: Gracious. They give the option but no guilt trip. They want me add more words, but I don't have anything more to say on this subject.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing us as "one of the best places on the Oregon Coast". We truly appreciate your compliments, but more importantly, we are gratified to know that you had a wonderful experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
21.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
926 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Property: Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing