We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A destination, not a stop over”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yachats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overleaf Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overleaf, as opposed to others on the coast, is on the right side of the highway. Every room is on the coast with a view. ( ask for second or third floor to avoid the foot traffic 15 ft from your bedroom or Jacuzzi in the window ). When we arrived in a fog bank we wondered what we would do for three days, but by morning the sun emerged and we saw the sites and sights from our balcony. This is not Southern California or Florida ; i.e., this is the coast, not a beach. So come prepared to walk around. At checkout we discovered guides to the area in a dresser drawer ( not mentioned when we checked in?). However, we were able to find what we wanted on our own and that is part of the fun experience in travel. ( no room service on one of the days without explanation )

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FairWinds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us and that the sun emerged for you. Your review makes the fantastic point that we are on the coast, not a beach. Our amazing, rocky coastline is not only immensely beautiful, it allows us to be as close to the water as possible; whereas beachfront properties do not have this proximity. The Overleaf Lodge & Spa truly is the destination for so many of our guests and we appreciate it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I spent two (only) days at the Overleaf Lodge and Spa. As we had been traveling for the past two weeks, this stay was just perfect. We had one of the "Restful Waters" rooms; overlooking the ocean shoreline, Nothing like the sound of the waves breaking on the boulders at night. The room also had a two person jetted tub overlooking the shore. Nice touch. Included in the room stay is a very nice continental breakfast. My wife, who eats gluten-free, was able to order her special oatmeal and some scrambled eggs, prepared just for her. Did I mention the spa?? You have unlimited access to the spa from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM. Of course, messages are separate. Our only regret was that we hadn't scheduled a couple's message....all booked. We loved the Lodge and especially the City of Yachats. Very nice small town. We will be coming back next summer for a three day stay.

Room Tip: Book a room on the second or third floor for the balcony view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Overleaf Lodge & Spa. We are happy to know that your stay was restful and fulfilling. Our popular couple’s massage does get booked quickly, so please give our spa a call in advance to reserve yours next summer. We love knowing how excited you are to return and we look forward to next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Overleaf this past July for 2 nights. We were in route from wine country down to Southern Oregon and were looking for a great coastal break. Overleaf is not a luxury resort, but if you go in with the right expectations, you will have a wonderful experience.

We had a large room at the end which had a separate king room in addition to a pullout couch in the kitchen/living room area. The views from this hotel are spectacular. Everywhere you turn you see dramatic views of the cliffs and ocean. The hotel opens up onto a great walking path that follows the coast line. This is a perfect spot for a nice walk or jog in the morning. We also utilized the spa amenities. The hot tub has a remarkable view of the coast and the sauna / steam room / shower area was nicely renovated. Our reservation came with a full breakfast which included delicious homemade granola and hot items such as breakfast burritos. The hotel is a ~20 walk from the town of Yachats where we had 2 great meals and enjoyed walking around.

As I mentioned, Overleaf is not luxury. The decor of the rooms is sparse and the beds are not overly comfortable. The lobby and front desk close at 10pm. When we requested 4 extra pillows they were able to locate 1. However, we were not looking for a luxury experience but more focused on the beautiful scenery and delightful environment. I recommend Overleaf to anyone looking for a relaxing haven on the beautiful coast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our lodge. We truly appreciate your willingness to recommend us for “a relaxing haven on the beautiful coast”. The Overleaf Lodge is a place that promotes serenity and appreciation of beauty through our attention to detail, clean and comfortable oceanfront rooms, the natural elegance of the art throughout the property, the native landscaping of the grounds, the healing ambiance of the spa, and last, but not least, the dramatic, incomparable beauty of our location. As you mentioned, we also provide our guests with a lovely breakfast (we are glad you enjoyed the homemade granola) and unlimited use of the spa facilities during operating hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here overnight on our drive down the coast in July. The location is beautiful. Right on the coast, with a beautiful rocky shoreline. It's set back off the main road, so that the only noise is the ocean. While we were there they had Grey Whales about 100 yards off shore. I'm sure you just have to be here at the right time to see them, but luckily we were.

The hotel itself is average in my opinion. But at the same time, this is a very small town and there aren't a lot of choices, so if staying in this town again, I'd probably pick the same place.

The staff was very nice and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on that.

The room was very large, but was a bit dated, and were very disappointed that it had a musty smell. We got used to it after awhile, but it wasn't that pleasant upon walking in.

So really nothing I can complain about. But just ok. If you're doing the drive and need to stop in this town, it's a decent spot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our beautiful location while watching grey whales. About 200 grey whales make their summer home on the Oregon coast, so whale watching is a common event this time of year. Your review mentions that you didn't eat at the hotel, but we do offer our guests a complimentary breakfast every morning. We are also happy to read that you found our staff to be “very nice and helpful”. We are looking into your comment regarding the room. We always encourage our guests to let us know at the time if there is anything unsatisfactory about their room so that we can remedy the situation and make sure that you enjoy all aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds and stunning views. The crashing waves and rocky beaches far exceeded our expectations. Our very clean king room was spacious with a closet, large dressing space with vanity, wet bar area, comfortable seating and balcony. Delicious baked goods at breakfast. Unbelievable value. Booked based on TripAdvisor reviews. Thanks everyone. Loved everything about our stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarpJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Overleaf Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us after reading our reviews on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the feedback from all of our guests, whether this is the first stay or one of many. We are thrilled that we “exceeded your expectations”. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were lucky enough to get last minute reservations for The Overleaf Lodge and Spa for one night during our Oregon Coast vacation trip. The hotel property utilizes its location by providing beautiful views of the ocean complete with sunset and marine life. There's a pathway for walking along the shore, however if you prefer the comforts of your room, all rooms face the water. The rooms and grounds are beautifully landscaped and exceptionally clean with deluxe toiletries. The spa facilities are top notch and the breakfast buffet was delicious with a variety of offerings. There is no onsite restaurant, however the rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. In town there are a variety of restaurants and a grocery store. (We had an outstanding dinner/happy hour at Ona Restaurant and Lounge not too far from the Overleaf).
The Overleaf Lodge and Spa will definitely be a destination hotel next time we travel to the Oregon coast as one night and day was just not enough.
Please be aware that the lobby has hours of operation closing at 10:30 p.m. I'm not sure what this means for those with a late arrival. I'm sure they must have a procedure for late arrivals, just be sure to inquire when making reservations if you expect a late arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelgram2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had fresh coffee and scones with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean! Suggest a room with a balcony on the second or third level to listen to the crashing waves. Clean, spacious king room with Aveda products. Spa amenities were a nice inclusion including jetted small pool and steam room. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included which was very tasty. We brought it back to our room to eat on the balcony. Convenient hikes to the ocean. Suggest restaurant in town Ona, great happy hour specials including food! Overall great experience and highly suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marathontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
556 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
21.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
966 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overleaf Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleaf Lodge & Spa

Address: 280 Overleaf Lodge Ln, Yachats, OR 97498-9473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#1 Green Hotel in Yachats
#2 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range: £95 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your outlook, rekindle your relationships and rejuvenate your spirit at our award-winning oceanfront resort and spa. All rooms are oceanfront and amazingly close to the ocean's waves pounding on the rocky coastline. Included with your stay is a wonderful fresh baked breakfast and access to our oceanfront spa where you can surrender to the healing power of the sea. Spa treatments are also available in our spa for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overleaf Lodge And Spa
Overleaf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing