We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, One Night Stay”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, One Night Stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Fireside Motel and were glad to have chosen this location for our last night's stay during our 12 day trip to Oregon. We had a corner room on the second floor that allowed viewing of the ocean out 2 windows--very nice. The weather was cold, damp & misty while we were there so we did not take advantage of the walking trail or beach access during our brief stay. Both were very convenient and inviting but we wimped out. The room was nicely laid out, clean and the beds VERY comfortable. The only downsides to the Fireside --there was no elevator--at least we didn't see one and the continental breakfast was picked up in the lobby and brought back to the room. That was not a big deal--in fact we enjoyed eating in our own room and looking out our windows--it 's just something others should be aware of. We would recommend this motel to anyone visiting the central coast of Oregon.

Room Tip: Ask for room # 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
We are glad you chose the Fireside Motel for your stay and that you had a nice time while you were here. Room 18 is a very popular room, especially in the winter time as guests can sit in the comfort of their room and watch the waves crash through the large picture window. Thank you for taking the time to review the Fireside and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    296
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
202
505
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We always love staying in Yachats - especially the Fireside Motel. The rooms are great --views on the second floor wonderful and this time we also were surprised to get a yummy continental breakfast. We most certainly will be back.
Also my grandson loved the shell nightlight and star fish we bought in the lobby!

Room Tip: the upper rooms facing the rocks and ocean are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmarie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for such a nice review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed our new continental breakfast and I will make sure to pass on to our cook that you thought the scones were great. We look forward to your next visit with us here at the Fireside Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We love this place, and I have reviewed it twice previously. It is our favorite place to stay when we are in the Newport-Yachats-Florence area.

On 9/16 we stayed in a pet-friendly room (#30) and on 9/19 we stayed in a room in which pets are not welcome (#39).

When I booked for 9/16, #30 was the only ocean-front room available. I was assured, "All our rooms are clean." True, perhaps, but we wouldn't sit in either of the over-stuffed chairs in #30 because they radiated over-exposure to canine napping and the room is not cheerful.

On 9/19 our stay in room #39 was satisfactory in every way. It was clean, cheerful, and it had no ghosts of other people's pets.

PS: Fireside now serves a light breakfast. It consisted of cold cereal, orange juice, muffins, apples, and bananas on the morning of 9/20.

Room Tip: Book an ocean-front room (but not a pet-friendly room unless you are traveling with a pet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Although most of our guests are satisfied with the cleanliness of our pet rooms, we understand that some guests may have allergy issues or other sensitivities. Along with having rooms here at the Fireside Motel that are classified as non pet rooms, there is also our sister property the Overleaf Lodge where pets are not allowed if this is a concern. We are pleased to hear that your stay in Room 39 was completely satisfactory, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

There was coffee in the lobby with cinnamon rolls when we arrived. The lobby also had a repair kit for glasses that we purchased and it was only $2. This helped when we needed a kit at 10p! The room was a standard room but clean and we only slept in it. We spent our time searching for agates behind the motel and dinner at Drift Inn. It was a comfortable stay and it is a nice stop after driving the coast all day. Also a small breakfast of fruit, cereal and oatmeal was provided in the morning. The back of the motel is a highlight and worth stopping just to be able to explore the rocks!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_at_Heart_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This place is worth the money! Gorgous views!! Nice gift shop. And vey nice service. Lets start with the view, There are no words!! All the beauty that your eyes can behold. There are pathways all along the shoreline for walking and admiring the waves. Room was clean, and large. The only down side was a toilet that didn't want to flush, ( and my husband fixed that). King size bed, couch along with two chairs and a table. The hotel is setting between 2 more expensive hotels, but I think the view from the Fireside is the best of all. If I come back to Oregon, I will be back to the Fireside!!! I saw my first Pacific sunset here, so it will always be a special place to me.

Room Tip: Any room that has a view will be great. Balcony is nice, but it is a very short walk to get to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftkc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Fireside motel. Our view is definitely one of the best along the Oregon Coast, and our Oceanfront rooms are a great way to enjoy it. If there are ever any maintenance issues in our rooms we appreciate when our guests let us know, our maintenance staff is here to make sure everything works properly.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Fireside on August 23, 2012. Our check in was awesome. we were offered an upgrade which we took. We stayed in a room with a fireplace and a spa tub. I think it was room 19. It was nice. The views were awesome. The continental breakfast was great. The gift shop was nice. The only negative was an employee named Nora. She was not happy about "three pages of guests" coming in for the weekend. She complained the entire time we were in the shop. The other employee tried to run interference! Despite that, we will be back. It was a great place to stay and the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
It is always great to hear when someone enjoys their stay here at the Fireside. Room 19 is a perfect place to relax and unwind while taking in our breathtaking ocean front view. This is a one of a kind room here at the motel, it is our oceanfront room with gas burning fireplace, balcony, king size bed and in room two person spa tub. Certainly sounds like a great way to spend a couple of nights here in Yachats! As for the discussions as described by Teresa125 they are inappropriate and will not happen again. We apologize for this negative occurrence but otherwise great stay at the Fireside Motel, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEBANON
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spend a week here every November-December. What a romantic place. Fireplace makes it cozy and warm. During these two months it is almost always raining. It is a great place to get away. Very quiet. The employees there are great and bend over backward to accomodate. We will be going back again this year!!! They also have great winter specials. Property is located right on a rocky stretch of ocean great for viewing from your balcony, especially when a storm rolls in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodNLebanon_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
The Fireside Motel is a perfect place to come and enjoy a winter storm on the Oregon Coast, and November and December are normally prime storm watching times. The staff will continue to do everything we can to ensure all our guests are comfortable during their stay here at the Fireside, and we certainly appreciate the compliment! Thank you for continuing to make the Fireside your place to stay, and we look forward to your upcoming visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
522 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing