We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dog-friendly beach-side hotel”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect dog-friendly beach-side hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We've been returning to the Fireside for more than twenty years now. The location and view is unparalleled, the rooms are always clean and well-appointed (plenty of towels, extra pillows, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker), the staff exceptionally friendly. This dog-friendly hotel has not yet disappointed us. Plus, they've recently added a continental breakfast served in the lobby with trays available to take food to the room - an added bonus! The hotel has been refreshed and updated several times since we've been staying there, each time adding a few more comforts and modernization. (No flat screen TVs yet, which was perfectly fine by us.)

The second-floor ocean view rooms with fireplaces and balconies are the best rooms to stay in. The only small issue I have is that when sitting in the chairs on the balcony, the railing obstructs the view of the ocean. The table inside has taller chairs, I've been known to take one of those to the balcony to get a better view of the crashing waves and tide pools just a few yards from the room.

So nice to have a dog-friendly hotel that is also people friendly! We'll be back, as usual.

Room Tip: 2nd story ocean view rooms have the best view. The fireplaces are nice on a cold, rainy winter day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl&Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you Cheryl and Roger for making the Fireside your place to stay in Yachats! Your review is outstanding, and we certainly appreciate you taking the time to write this. We will continue doing our best to make your stays comfortable and enjoyable. Don't forget to "like" us on facebook or check our website periodically for upcoming promotions and specials. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    296
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
202
506
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Fireside is a nice location, right on the beach. Unfortunately, the windows don't open. The only access to hear the beach at night is to leave the door unlocked -- very disappointing. Otherwise, everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know their thoughts on the Fireside Motel. We will certainly take your suggestion into thought during our next remodel. You are correct that the large picture windows in the oceanfront rooms do not open, however these rooms do have two transom windows providing air flow through the room along with the sounds of the ocean. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Yachats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Meares, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

If you have a dog and have been to motels that accept them, then like me, perhaps you've found them to be dives that smell bad. Right when I arrived, they gave me two dog towels to keep his paws clean and body dry and a dog sheet. The room was pretty standard for the price, but unique in appearance and clean. It smelled fresh and had no unpleasant surprises (like a dirty shower or nasty stains). It had all the ammenities one would need (fridge with freezer, dryer, cable, etc.) and a decent bed. The area out front is a photographer's paradise. The front desk personnel were kind and helpful as were the people in the town. I can't wait to go back and I seldom say that about any place.

Room Tip: I was in the "no view" rooms and there was an ample ocean view, I simply had to look left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ciel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
What a fantastic compliment, we are so happy to have surprised you! Here at the Fireside we want every guest (including the furry ones) to have a great stay, and we have tried to make our accommodations comfortable for all. Our "non view" rooms face north, and you are correct if you look west from the room you will see the Ocean. Since these rooms do not have the direct ocean view they are less expensive than our oceanfront rooms, but still just as comfortable. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We took our son and daughter in law to the Fireside for a relaxing get away for all of us. She is recovering from a liver transplant caused from a botched surgery so this was very important to all of us. They loved their stay in the apartment unit and we had a king w/fireplace. Only disappointment was it rained HARD all the time.

Room Tip: Go to Newport and eat at Open Ocean down on the bay front. Awesome food, good prices. Was not impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review, and we are please everyone enjoyed their stay with us. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the weather down here on the Oregon Coast, and rain is inevitable during the fall and winter. We have some fantastic storms, and one of our oceanfront rooms is a perfect way to enjoy them! We hope to see you again soon, and don't forget to "like" us on facebook for upcoming specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the fireside during our honeymoon in 2006 and were enchanted by this little gem on the edge of the ocean.

We have stayed several times since and have never had any bad experiences other than the fireplace not working once. They have a friendly staff that respects your privacy, clean rooms with just enough to make life comfortable. If you want frills, stay next door at the overleaf lodge (also owns the fireside). Very good place for a fraction of the cost of next door.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank huntermanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for making the Fireside your place to stay when visiting Yachats! We certainly appreciate our repeat guests, and thank you for taking the time to review us. We always want our guests to know if there are any problems such as a fireplace not working to contact our front desk, we have maintenance here on site that is happy to fix these issues. Our canned food drive just started to benefit our local food pantry, so now is a great time to return to the Fireside! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a great find. Stayed at the Fireside based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not sorry. Ocean front with nice walking trail, beautiful views, the sound of crashing waves, and a great value. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you Mike for your review, and we are glad to hear we lived up to your expectations. We have a room for all prices ranges, from Oceanfront with a king bed, fireplace, and balcony to our more economical north facing rooms. The Fireside Motel is a great place to come and enjoy the rocky Oregon coastline, especially during the winter when we have some fantastic storm watching. We hope to see you again here at the Fireside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We loved our stay at Fireside. Our room was great and our dogs loved their stay too! Being able to hear the ocean all night was amazing. We had one of the rooms that overlooks the ocean complete with a fireplace. The kingsize bed was extremely comfortable. It was a wonderful treat - we will stay here again if we are fortunate to travel the Oregon coast in the future!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get the rooms with a balcony overlooking the ocean and fireplace - its worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckynonnie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Fireside Motel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Fireside is a perfect place for dog lovers to stay and bring their furry friends to come play at the beach. We have oceanfront rooms with balconies, fireplaces, picture windows, spa tubs and pets are allowed in all of these. There are also non-pet rooms for those that prefer it or allergy issues. We hope you will make another trip to Oregon and the Fireside soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
523 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing