We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had never stayed here before, we always were at the Adobe. This place was perfect, not only was our dog welcome, but they gave us towels and sheets, poop bags and a treat! The room was very clean, and the view was picture perfect. We have found our new place on the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Each guest bringing a dog (or dogs) receives our "pet pack" upon arrival with the towels, sheets, and bags. Many guests bring their own, but using ours makes for less laundry when they get home! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    284
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
192
478
58
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Hearing the ocean crash & sound like thunder is what I love & this is the place for it !! Awesome view from the room, sat out on the deck at 3am for high tide, OMG the waves that come in & SPLASH are impressive !! The rooms are clean & I heat the room with the fireplace alone. I like to leave my door to the deck open for the ocean breeze & the sound of the ocean..Fantastic place to stay ! I found Fireside thru trip advisor & wanted to add my experience..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKat2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We greatly appreciate you adding your experience to Trip Advisor, and agree that it is an "Awesome view!". During the winter months we get some high tides that are amazing to just sit and watch. Our storm season not only brings in some fantastic waves, but if you like beach combing or agate hunting this is the place to do it. We hope to see you again soon here at the Fireside, and thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I said in my last hotel review that I rarely comment on my hotel stays, but I might have to start making exceptions. My exception here is the fact that dogs are so welcome here.

My dogs love the coast and I love being able to travel with them, but I don't get a chance to do it very often. The Fireside is not a fancy place at all, it's a standard hotel with standard rooms. Its sister hotel, The Overleaf, is right next door and there is an obvious difference in the appearance of the two. I haven't stayed there because they don't allow dogs, but I would definitely consider it if I were there without them.

We were there over President's weekend and they were full. I really think every room had a dog in it. I saw several dogs out for their morning potties and heard the one next door bark a couple of times. If you really don't like dogs, then you might want to go next door. I love all dogs, not just my own, so I really enjoyed it and felt like we fit in.

The views are great and there is a pathway that goes in either direction near the water. It isn't right on the sand, you do have to walk a little way to get to sand walking, but we had so many opportunities elsewhere that I didn't mind.

They provide sheets and towels so we were able to keep them clean and not make a mess in the room with the wet sand. The sheets allowed them to sleep on the bed with us as they're accustomed to and made us feel that our dogs' needs were accepted.

We really had a great time here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatAlex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
You are certainly correct, we love dogs here at the Fireside. Most of our rooms here at the hotel are pet friendly with a few exceptions for those guests that may have allergies or no pets travelling with them. Many of our rooms have balconies that our guests and their dogs can use to enjoy the magnificent view of the Pacific. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we do appreciate it, and we definitely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I found a special I couldn't pass up and I was extremely happy with my decision. Spent 3 nights at Fireside with my husband, two (grown) boys, and our dog. Accommodations were great - ocean view room with plenty of space, nice deck and fireplace, and extensive trail system along the shore. You could walk in to Yachats or head the other direction and hit a sandy beach. Gift shop was filled with lots of nice items. We usually stay south of Yachats in accommodations that include 2 bedrooms with kitchen/living area. I missed having a kitchen, and the continental breakfast had a pretty poor selection, but I am not complaining. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Ocean view room on upper level with fireplace and deck was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSB_Bend_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at the Fireside Motel. We do have one unit on site that has two separate rooms and a full kitchen if you are interested for future stays. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Nice location with quick access to town either by car or walking. VERY dog accommodating with provided towels, baggies and walking area. Friendly staff, reasonable prices, better than average continental breakfast and the 2nd level fireplace rooms spacious with good sea views.

Room Tip: 2nd level fireplace oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Fireside Motel. We certainly hope you and your "pooch" will be back to see us again. You can always stay up to date with our current specials when you "like" us on facebook as well. Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We picked the Fireside due to other good reviews and were not disappointed! Our room was large, well appointed, clean and right on the ocean with a balconcy and large window for wave watching. We had our dog with us and as advertised they were great about it: didn't get shunted to a back room because of it, but rather had a premium upstairs front row seat for ocean vistas. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Upper floor has best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you Joan for your complimentary review. Here at the Fireside pet friendly really means pet friendly, unlike some of those places that do put you in the back room. We certainly hope you will come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Located in Yachats, on the mid Oregon coast is the Fireside Motel. We'd read good reviews on TA and decided to try for ourselves and our new Rescue dog , Sophie. Not only are pets welcome, but provided w/ their own beach towel to clean sandy paws , as well as a cover for the bed/ couch if the dog ( cat , iguana , who knows ? ) sits on it.
Not forgetting humans who have a clean room, great beds , and very pleasant and helpful staff.
Unlike some ''oceanfront'' motels where you walk endlessly to the beach, you have a 30yard ''trek'' there at the Fireside. This portion of the beach has a very nice trail and great agate hunting at low tides .
Another plus is the gift shop in the office ; many local artists are represented for those who wish to support them instead of ''Made in China'' shlock. Very nice surprise .

Room Tip: Just ask the desk / phone persons what you find important ; view, quiet , etc. They are actual huma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonDocmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review! You are definitely correct about our gift gallery, local artists are very important to us as well as the community of Yachats. We take pride in our area and our Motel and want all of our guests to feel the same. We really are oceanfront with some of the best views on the Oregon Coast. The rocky shoreline makes for some magnificent waves splashing, and just a short walk down the path is 8 miles of sandy beach. We certainly hope you will be back to visit us again, and Sophie is always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing