We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Room, Nice Setting”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Tx
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent Room, Nice Setting”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

During a solo trip down the Oregon Coast, I arrived in Yachats in the late afternoon. Although clear at the time, the forecast called for overnight rain, and because I had already spent the previous night camping in the rain up coast, I opted to find a room. My first stop was the Fireside and it looked nice enough for the $75 price tag (non-oceanfront). I decided to take it instead of spending my evenign looking for a cheaper room, and that was a good decision.

The room was clean and dated, and overall pretty average. The location was quite nice, however. The Fireside sits facing the pacific with a playground of wave worn rocks right outside your door. Just about anyone can appreciate the view, the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks, the tidal pools, etc. that this area has to offer. There is also a walking path along the coast in front of several neighboring hotels.

The motel offered a simple, but nice, continental breakfast set up in the office/gift shop that hit the spot. If you are big on breakfast, you'll have to look elsewhere.

Overall, I'd say it was a little above average....."good", but I'll give it 3 stars because I didn't find it "Very Good" which is the description of 4 stars.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ctb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
The Fireside Motel sits along a rocky coastline and offers magnificent views of the Pacific ocean. We have rooms for all budget types from our Oceanfront balcony rooms to our more economical north facing (non view) rooms. We appreciate the review and hope to see you with us again here at the Fireside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    288
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
196
491
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Curt front desk woman, large but stuffy and bad smelling room, old bedding, lame breakfast-all trumped by divine location and reasonable price-might stay here again but might spend a bit more for better accommodations-

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are sorry to hear this guest did not enjoy their stay the same way most of our trip advisor reviewers have. When one of our guests has a problem and we are notified we always do our best to try and remedy the situation. The Fireside Motel sits along the edge of a rocky coastline where our guests can enjoy the spectacular view, tide pools, whale watching, hiking, and more. We would like all of our guests to enjoy their stay and want to return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Fireside is an older but well kept up motel property in Yachats. The location is unbeatable. The waves are crashing just outside your window. It must be perfect for storm-watching.

The room is large as is typical of older motel properties, and features a gas fireplace, flat screen TV, micro wave and a fridge. Enough to keep you comfy.

If you're not walking the many oceanfront trails in the area, just spend some time on your balcony with a glass of wine looking at the sea and the waves. Very soothing...!!

Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but there are several breakfast places in the little town of Yachats that are quite good.

Our room was dog-friendly and fairly reasonable...considering the location.

We were happy and will return..!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We originally had wanted to stay for 2 nights at the Fireside Motel's "sister" property, the Overleaf Hotel and Spa. However, the only room available was their $495 a night grand suite. We thought that the Fireside would be a good choice since it was "related" to the other one. Not so.

On the plus side, this hotel was an amazing view. Our room overlooked the ocean. It was large and clean. I considered the price low if only location/view were considered.
If decor doesn't bother/interest you, read no further as it was a clean room at a great price for a great view.

This property has so much potential but was very disappointing. We were going to stay 2 nights but decided to leave after 1 night. The staff was gracious in that they charged us only for the 1 night.

The property has a lot of deferred maintance. The room was musty but we aired it out by opening the door. We had a room that overlooked the ocean. There was a balcony. The only windows that opened were 2 small "porthole" types so you couldn't near the ocean at night.

My guess is that the room has not been updated in 10 years. The rooms still had keys (rooms numbers were not on the keys for security). The king bed was confortable but not one of the more modern pillowtops. The strip on the bottom of the door was moldy. There were numerous paint and wall chips. We had a jacuzzi in our room, which to me is not really an asset. Would rather have seen a couch. There were 2 large chairs near a desk, but when you sat in them you sank down so low as to make it difficult to reach the desk.

Breakfast was available in the lobby area but you had to take it to your room or eat outside. Had it been a nice day that morning, it would have been great to sit outside. In the lobby is a gift shop. Would rather have seen a nicer lobby and eating area. The food was limited and the scones were delicious. The staff was friendly.

We were mesmerized by the tide coming in on the rocky shore and watched it for an hour. We were so disappointed overall, because this could have been a truly amazing place.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Owner's Representative at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Future Guest,

If you arrive at the Fireside Motel, or any motel for that matter, and you note as many detail items in the room as this person did, you probably should not stay. We would be glad to help find you a different place for the evening and refund whatever you have paid. For a few folks, the Fireside Motel is just not their ‘cup of tea.’ That is fine. Don’t stay for the night if you are not completely satisfied with your accommodations. The Fireside Motel, while related by ownership to the Overleaf Lodge, does not match the accommodations at the Overleaf Lodge. The Fireside Motel has the same ocean front perspective as the Overleaf Lodge, but the accommodations are not as deluxe, therefore the Fireside’s room rates are more affordable for many. The overwhelming majority of our guests want a clean, safe, friendly and more affordable ocean-front accommodation on one of the most scenic stretches of coastline anywhere in the world.


Sincerely,
Drew Roslund
Owner’s representative
541-330-1286
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We're not very picky when it comes to motels/hotels. As long as they are clean and we can sleep we are generally happy. Unfortunately, The Fireside Motel didn't provide those things. The room had paper-thin walls and every time the neighboring room turned on their shower or sink we were bombarded with a very loud and obnoxious noise. Once they would stop showering we could hear our fridge made a loud, knocking noise that continued to wake us up. The room was hot and there was no screen on the large window so we didn't feel very safe leaving it open at night, especially with a dog.

As far as cleanliness goes, it was ok. The floor hadn't been vacuumed and there was garbage and dog food on it, but we were told it was because they had to move someone out of the room last minute. It wasn't a big deal, but still kind of a turn off right from the beginning.

This motel does have two things going for it though: the location is amazing and Michelle at the front desk was one of the best/nicest receptionists we have encountered this trip.

We may have just had a bad room because the reviews for this Motel were so good.

Overall though we wouldn't stay here again. The price was right, but even at the price it wasn't worth it. If you can't sleep at a place you pay to sleep at, you can't justify the cost. We don't recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
One of the main things the Fireside Motel prides itself on is providing the best customer service we can to go along with the magnificent view the motel already provides. We are sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay the way we would have liked them to. We have a manager on duty at all times if problems arise. Our hope is all of our guests enjoy the magnificent Oregon Coast, the village of Yachats, and of course the Fireside Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Want to bring your dogs on vacation with you? Choose The Fireside Inn in Yachts on the Oregon Coast. Very nice rooms gorgeous oceanfront views an wonderful beach to walk with your dogs
Very good restaurants in town and Newport and Florence are nearby

The Fireside has added a breakfast with some of the best pastries ever!!
I have been going there since 2002.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The ocean view rooms were clean and comfortable. The views were so inviting..listening to the waves at night, sitting on our balcony watching the waves crash. You take a tray with your breakfast (something homemade!) to your room, balcony or bench by the ocean. Works fine. The trail that runs along the ocean by the hotel is just superb. We found a real gem in this place!
Pat D

Room Tip: an ocean view room is well worth any extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patwatercolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing