We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fireside Motel
Nearby Hotels
Adobe Resort(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Cove Inn(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
595
323
57
27
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
323
57
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontcontinental breakfastgift shoporegon coastsheets and towelson the rocksoceanfront roomwalking pathhard boiled eggsgas fireplacecrashing wavesgreat viewpicture windowtide poolsallow petsrooms are largenice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I had a room facing the beach although it was too cold and rainy to sit on the small balcony. There were two overstuffed chairs and a round table in front of the picture window, and we spent much of our time there, including eating breakfast. (Delicious scones, all the rest of breakfast was fine with us: cereal, boiled egg, etc.) Watching the waves beating upon the rocks is hypnotic. The large room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom had two sinks, one outside the bath/toilet area. I stayed at the Fireside two years ago and was happy to return. It is a place I would go to again if in the Yachats area. We stayed in the animal-friendly room because it was cheaper, but we detected no animal smells at all although the room had a slight musty smell that went away quickly after we opened the door onto the beach.

Room Tip: It's worth it to have a beach-facing room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge_675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

During a solo trip down the Oregon Coast, I arrived in Yachats in the late afternoon. Although clear at the time, the forecast called for overnight rain, and because I had already spent the previous night camping in the rain up coast, I opted to find a room. My first stop was the Fireside and it looked nice enough for the $75 price tag (non-oceanfront). I decided to take it instead of spending my evenign looking for a cheaper room, and that was a good decision.

The room was clean and dated, and overall pretty average. The location was quite nice, however. The Fireside sits facing the pacific with a playground of wave worn rocks right outside your door. Just about anyone can appreciate the view, the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks, the tidal pools, etc. that this area has to offer. There is also a walking path along the coast in front of several neighboring hotels.

The motel offered a simple, but nice, continental breakfast set up in the office/gift shop that hit the spot. If you are big on breakfast, you'll have to look elsewhere.

Overall, I'd say it was a little above average....."good", but I'll give it 3 stars because I didn't find it "Very Good" which is the description of 4 stars.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank ctb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

The Fireside Motel sits along a rocky coastline and offers magnificent views of the Pacific ocean. We have rooms for all budget types from our Oceanfront balcony rooms to our more economical north facing (non view) rooms. We appreciate the review and hope to see you with us again here at the Fireside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Curt front desk woman, large but stuffy and bad smelling room, old bedding, lame breakfast-all trumped by divine location and reasonable price-might stay here again but might spend a bit more for better accommodations-

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We are sorry to hear this guest did not enjoy their stay the same way most of our trip advisor reviewers have. When one of our guests has a problem and we are notified we always do our best to try and remedy the situation. The Fireside Motel sits along the edge of a rocky coastline where our guests can enjoy the spectacular view, tide pools, whale watching, hiking, and more. We would like all of our guests to enjoy their stay and want to return again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Fireside is an older but well kept up motel property in Yachats. The location is unbeatable. The waves are crashing just outside your window. It must be perfect for storm-watching.

The room is large as is typical of older motel properties, and features a gas fireplace, flat screen TV, micro wave and a fridge. Enough to keep you comfy.

If you're not walking the many oceanfront trails in the area, just spend some time on your balcony with a glass of wine looking at the sea and the waves. Very soothing...!!

Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but there are several breakfast places in the little town of Yachats that are quite good.

Our room was dog-friendly and fairly reasonable...considering the location.

We were happy and will return..!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We originally had wanted to stay for 2 nights at the Fireside Motel's "sister" property, the Overleaf Hotel and Spa. However, the only room available was their $495 a night grand suite. We thought that the Fireside would be a good choice since it was "related" to the other one. Not so.

On the plus side, this hotel was an amazing view. Our room overlooked the ocean. It was large and clean. I considered the price low if only location/view were considered.
If decor doesn't bother/interest you, read no further as it was a clean room at a great price for a great view.

This property has so much potential but was very disappointing. We were going to stay 2 nights but decided to leave after 1 night. The staff was gracious in that they charged us only for the 1 night.

The property has a lot of deferred maintance. The room was musty but we aired it out by opening the door. We had a room that overlooked the ocean. There was a balcony. The only windows that opened were 2 small "porthole" types so you couldn't near the ocean at night.

My guess is that the room has not been updated in 10 years. The rooms still had keys (rooms numbers were not on the keys for security). The king bed was confortable but not one of the more modern pillowtops. The strip on the bottom of the door was moldy. There were numerous paint and wall chips. We had a jacuzzi in our room, which to me is not really an asset. Would rather have seen a couch. There were 2 large chairs near a desk, but when you sat in them you sank down so low as to make it difficult to reach the desk.

Breakfast was available in the lobby area but you had to take it to your room or eat outside. Had it been a nice day that morning, it would have been great to sit outside. In the lobby is a gift shop. Would rather have seen a nicer lobby and eating area. The food was limited and the scones were delicious. The staff was friendly.

We were mesmerized by the tide coming in on the rocky shore and watched it for an hour. We were so disappointed overall, because this could have been a truly amazing place.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon E, Owner's Representative at Fireside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Future Guest,

If you arrive at the Fireside Motel, or any motel for that matter, and you note as many detail items in the room as this person did, you probably should not stay. We would be glad to help find you a different place for the evening and refund whatever you have paid. For a few folks, the Fireside Motel is just not their ‘cup of tea.’ That is fine. Don’t stay for the night if you are not completely satisfied with your accommodations. The Fireside Motel, while related by ownership to the Overleaf Lodge, does not match the accommodations at the Overleaf Lodge. The Fireside Motel has the same ocean front perspective as the Overleaf Lodge, but the accommodations are not as deluxe, therefore the Fireside’s room rates are more affordable for many. The overwhelming majority of our guests want a clean, safe, friendly and more affordable ocean-front accommodation on one of the most scenic stretches of coastline anywhere in the world.


Sincerely,
Drew Roslund
Owner’s representative
541-330-1286

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews