We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not fancy but very comfortable”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not fancy but very comfortable”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

An older motel (but kept up to date) with great ocean side location! The rooms are very comfy and well equipped. Each room has a semi-private covered outside sitting area. The front staff are the best, they help in every way they can. The only draw back is the lack of an on-site kitchen. They offer a limited breakfast bar supplied by their next door luxury lodge (part of the same company). There is an onsite restaurant there that is available to go to. With many eateries available less than 1/2 mile away, this is not a problem. We will return!

Room Tip: First floor oceanside the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrct65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fireside Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your comfortable room and sitting out on the balcony. The Fireside does provide a continental breakfast which includes a pastry that is baked fresh every morning in the kitchen at the Overleaf Lodge. The Overleaf Lodge does not have a restaurant, however. But as you mentioned, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Yachats, all within 1 mile of the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    294
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
200
498
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fireside is ideally situated on the beach at Yachats. The room was clean (and didn't smell) and well appointed and the service staff courteous and helpful. Good standard for a motel. Yachats is a delightful town that I would definitely go back to for a longer stay.

For dinning in town I would recommend the Historic Drift Inn and for breakfast and coffee the Green Salmon coffee shop was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unplanned stop referred by diners down South ... We were so pleased with this little find!!!!!

Ocean Spray - TidePool - Pacific Breezes - Fireplace Ambiance ... The Fireside had it all and priced very reasonably.

Would travel to the area again just to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pktravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms clean and adequate. Continental breakfast, no early morning coffee available. The view was beyond imagining. Listened to the surf pound all night. Fireplace in room and nice balcony to sit and watch the ocean from. Look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great property located right on the shore. Awesome office staff that are always helpful and courteous. Rooms are a bit dated, but you come for the location. Recommend lunch at the Adobe just down the way from the motel.

Room Tip: Unless you really need a view from your room window, get room on the side and just walk out to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments to our staff. I enjoyed reading in your room tips that you said hello to the bunnies in the grass and the whales in the ocean. We are lucky to be in such a diverse, amazing location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you follow my reviews you will note that each experience does not have to reinforce my sense of importance and proclaim my net worth. We appreciate,clean, quiet, value for money, a friendly environment, scenic location, lots of good food and convent distance to attractions that suit us. Situated towards the southern end of the magnificent Oregon Coast on Highway 101, the drive there has two main options first to get there from the north through Lincoln City or from the south through Newport. We chose the southern route traveling down and the northern route returning home. Not a long drive by American standards with lots to view by scenic distraction either way. This was our first experience of the Fireside Motel and we were very pleased with it. Again to be clear, we travel for relaxation and rest, not to have every experiential nerve tested and appeased. We found the motel without any problem and our check in was simple, friendly and quick. It helps of course if the weather is good, which it was...... The room like all rooms in the motel was close by the ocean whose sound is hard to be missed with open windows, lovely. The motel has two major hotels one on either side, Overleaf to the north and the Adobe to the south. The coastal trail hugs the coast line past each of them. The room was of a design typical of 90% of the hotels we have ever stayed in. Decor was conservative, all the equipment was in good working order with easy to use instructions, the room itself felt and smelt very fresh and well maintained. Nothing looked tired or threadbare, only fresh and crisp. A modest cold breakfast was available each morning to be consumed either in the breakfast room or it could be taken back to your room if you wished.
We had booked in for four nights and were sorry to leave at the end of it. We will return. At the right time of the year i.e., May, June and July, while there is excellent Whale watching available at the coast this is a wonderful location to do this. I observed more whales over a two day period than I have ever seen in my life.....

Room Tip: Second level is quieter. If a sea view from the room or a balcony is essential then be sure to confi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudRoy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience at the Fireside Motel. We are happy to know you had a relaxing time and enjoyed everything, including the fabulous whale watching. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are repeat customers of the Fireside - this was a spur of the moment jaunt so weren't able to get an oceanfront room, but the ocean is mere steps away. As always, our room was comfy, clean, staff was pleasant -- we were happy (including out dog).

Room Tip: Get oceanfront if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningwithscissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for continuing to stay at the Fireside Motel. As you mentioned, the ocean is mere steps away from any of our rooms, and the sound of the waves crashing against the rugged coastline is heard by all. We are glad to know you (and your dog) enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
510 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing