We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints from us!”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No complaints from us!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Fireside is a wonderful place to enjoy the Pacific coast. Clean room, plenty of trails to walk, beaches-sandy and rocky - were plentiful. Extremely peaceful place to relax. We had the oceanfront room with a balcony where we were able to enjoy the crashing of the waves early in the morning and late at night. I would highly recommend staying here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Oceanfront on second floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are glad you had a relaxing stay in your oceanfront room. As you mentioned, there are several trails in the area, including ocean and forest, and the Yachats coastline includes rugged, rocky outcrops along with sandy beaches. We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing to stay at the Fireside Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    293
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
198
497
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location right on the coast. Beautiful rocky shoreline visible through the windows. You can sleep with the sound of the waves through the open door and window. Fireplace was suprisingly useful even in July!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flingwing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this quaint "motel". The location is superb . The rooms are late 80s decor. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. If you don't like dogs, stay away. Ocean breeze and sounds at night. Wonderful walking trail along the beach. We will go there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savvyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in Yachats 5 nights at the end of July. My inlaws wanted us to stay at their favorite resort there but it was a bit pricy, so we chose the Fireside. We did spring for the oceanfront room, and are so glad! Amazing views out the large windows, a small but usable deck, and a very clean if somewhat outdated room. Every staff member we encountered was super friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Surprisingly, the resort my inlaws raved about and showed us pictures from was right next door! While the Overleaf was certainly nicer, more modern, etc, the view was identical and we saved about $100 a night. Next time I will take advantage of their spa!
The only problem my husband had is that the Fireside is a non-smoking property. He was reprimanded for smoking on the balcony (he never smokes indoors). He was told that he would have to go downstairs to one of the benches out front on the beach. Poor guy! He survived.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fireside Motel. We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit you can purchase a day use pass for the Overleaf Spa or reserve a 60 minute treatment and have full use of the spa facilities for the day. However you spend your time, the sights and sounds of the ocean are always sublime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in May in a non-view room. The price difference between view and non-view was steep, and either way you're steps from the ocean, so I decided to save my money. The room was average and seemed clean, though there was a corner that appeared to have been missed by the vacuum. My only complaint was that the day I left I couldn't get the shower tap to work. It was freezing cold for five minutes no matter how I turned or jiggled it and then suddenly became scalding. I mentioned it when I checked out and was told I should have called them so someone could come fix it. As if I wanted to get redressed and then wait around so an employee could come jiggle the tap.

Overall this place was good and a decent value for the money but not somewhere I'd go out of my way to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your two day stay with us. We certainly are in a fabulous location and the ocean is steps away, no matter which type of room you stay in. We are sorry that you experienced fluctuations in the water temperature on your last morning. We have since looked into this, but we do wish we had known about it prior to your arrival so that we could have prevented any discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When I was a kid my family stayed in a series of motels like this on vacation. This place has been thoroughly updated from then with modern amenities. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. The town of Yachats is really cute. The 405 trail was a good easy walk and the drive to restaurants was short. The sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. We went with the picture window at the end of the motel rather than an open balcony. We could see the water without having to be outside as it was chilly.

Room Tip: If you get cold easily and still want a water view and end unit with out a balcony is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_and_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. Yachats and the Fireside Motel can easily bring forth a nostalgia for family vacations and simpler times. And as you mentioned, the Fireside has been thoroughly updated, as recently as this past spring, and it is equipped with modern amenities and an impeccable view. The room you stayed in is one of two very popular rooms that boast a spectacular view from the large picture windows. It is a fantastic choice if a balcony is not desired. We appreciate your choice to stay with us and we thank you for your feedback and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stayed at this motel many times over the years. The ocean view rooms are comfortably adequate although the window table hanging lamp at head level bears watching. It is a dog friendly motel and caters to dog owners by providing towels and a protective bed sheet for pet use in the room.The surrounding grassy areas are clean and I rate it highly as a place to take your Pet(s).
In the past I have found the front desk staff to be helpful and friendly. On my recent visit this was not the case neither at check in or check out. While one could say they were reasonably business like the normal smiles and courtesies one expects to receive as a guest were totally absent-what a shame. While I tend to agree with other reviewers that the rates are somewhat high for the condition and quality of the room,the closeness to the ocean and the pet friendliness is the trade off. We have just discovered the fine amenities at the affiliated lodging next door (Overleaf Lodge) and that will clinch coming back for further visits.

Room Tip: Second Floor Ocean View rooms highlight the incredible ocean action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fireside Motel. We have a great appreciation for all of our guests and making our guests feel welcome is very important to us, so we are sorry that you didn't feel the staff was as friendly as they have been in the past. The fireside is very pet-friendly and we appreciate your high rating as a place to bring your own dog. It sounds like you took a tour of the Overleaf Lodge & Spa during your visit. The Overleaf would be thrilled to welcome you as a guest. The Overleaf amenities include use of the spa facilities, an expansive breakfast that changes every day, an exercise room, complimentary guest laundry, a computer room and Wi-Fi. The Overleaf is a non-pet, non-smoke property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
509 reviews
21.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing