We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place”
Review of Fireside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved This Place”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

You can't beat the view and easy access of the beach at this place. Room was clean and the staff was friendly. Loved the crab they made out of the towels and soap. The furniture is a little outdated but it is a cozy. Loved the fresh baked muffins in the morning! Quiet too... Would stay here again.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We hope you will be able to visit us again. It is great to read your review and know you had such a fantastic stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    288
    50
    22
    5
See reviews for
196
488
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

not an elaborate motel but clean and the staff very friendly. Cannot beat the location on the ocean and the ocean side trail. Brought the dog and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the dog kit supplied. Very nice stretch of the Oregon coast and many other beaches easily accessible..

Room Tip: choose an ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Fireside Motel. We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is simply the best place to stay on the Oregon coast and we would stay here exclusively even if we didn't bring along our two dogs, which the Fireside accommodates better than any other motel I have visited......anywhere. These people care that you have a great experience. The staff even showed me how to fold the towels in their trademark "crab".

The footpath along the ocean front is spectacular and after only a short walk leads to the wide open sandy beaches to the north. The resident gray whales parked themselves just off the rocks and provided hours whale watching while they fed on shrimp. The balcony is perfect for that so remember to bring binoculars. You won't be disappointed.

Rooms have a fridge and a microwave, and although there are some great places to eat in town, I also recommend hitting the grocery store and spending time just hanging out. Should you want to get out and explore, this area is the best as the Oregon Caves, Cape Perpetua, Heceta Head Lighthouse, and "old town" Florence is only a short drive south.

Room Tip: Ocean Side, not ocean view. GREAT open beaches a short (and spectacular) walk to the north. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. We truly appreciate all of your kind comments and are delighted to know that your stay was so wonderful. Summer and fall can provide hours of fantastic whale watching, as you were able to enjoy from your balcony. The spots you recommend visiting are all fabulous and most people do consider them “must see” locations. The Cape Perpetua Scenic Area is only 3 miles from the Fireside Motel and offers miles of magnificent trails through coastal forests, churning waves and panoramic views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

If you’re looking for a good hotel that’s dog-friendly, this place is hard to beat. The front desk at the Fireside tells me it accepts dogs in 80 percent of its rooms, and about a third of the guests brings a pooch along. The hotel supplies dog hosts with a doggie kit--a sheet to cover the furniture plus a few extra towels. Many rooms have good-sized, secure balconies where dogs can chill in their own space while you chill in the room. Fireside also provides free poop bags outside when you take your dogs for a walk. But the main attraction is outside your front doorstep: a long, meandering beachfront walkway (known publicly as the Yachats 804 trail) featuring some of the most beautiful shorelines you’ll ever see. Take the dogs out early and you’ll get some fabulous beaches all to yourselves! Fireside does a good job maintaining the rooms despite the dog traffic, and the rooms have plenty of amenities including the big three that I was looking for: a fridge, a DVD player with the TV, and free wi-fi. Our two puppies enjoyed themselves very much!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veganvessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are always happy to see smiling puppies and their people at the Fireside Motel. We are glad that you and your dogs enjoyed the walking trails and that the room amenities fulfilled your needs. If ever you return to our stretch of the coast, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We are fond of Yachats, a sleepy coastal town along Oregon's rocky ocean mid-coast, and we always stay at the Fireside. Good ocean views , a nice breakfast to take back to your room, friendly staff and a stand-out gift shop (wonderful seashell night lights are a perfect thank-you gift for under $10). Took off a star only because wireless is spotty - but that provides an opportunity to put down your smartphone and take a stroll along the dramatic spouting surf and tide pools!! Insider Tip: Driftwood Inn is best place to eat in town!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 52024Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are delighted to be your “coastal gem”. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a hiccup during peak Wi-Fi usage, but we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, from the friendly staff, breakfast, and views to the gift shop. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have stayed at quite a few places along the Oregon coast and found Yachats a most charming coastal village and the Fireside Motel extremely comfortable and reasonably priced. The view of the ocean was magnificent and we loved the walking trail going for miles right above the ocean. The room was clean, comfortable and convenient and the staff was friendly and helpful. This motel is not only pet friendly but pet welcoming. We would certainly stay there again on a future trip to Yachats.

Room Tip: It is worth the price to have an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the “fantastic view, pleasant room and helpful staff”! We are absolutely delighted to welcome pets and we hope all of the furry best friends have the time of their lives. The ever-changing seascape offers hours of fascinating study, whether from your room, balcony, or any of the benches or vantage points along our ocean trails. We do hope you will return for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Spent 1 night and was pleased with everything about the Fireside. Clean room, friendly and helpful staff and location that has everything you could hope for with a Oceanside accommodation. Add to that a price that seemed far below what you would expect to pay. Not a 5 star hotel but a wonderful value for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing ocean still have views and benchs near the surf are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rena M, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are glad you were “pleased with everything about the Fireside Motel”. Our oceanfront location provides us with breathtaking views and ample opportunities for peaceful contemplation or adventurous discovery. Thank you for reviewing your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
23.3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Motel

Property: Fireside Motel
Address: 1881 Highway 101 North, Yachats, OR 97498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#3 Family Hotel in Yachats
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at the Fireside Motel on the oceanfront. Most of the rooms have breathtaking oceanfront views and are amazingly close to the surf pounding on the rocky coastline. Tide pools abound with life in the surf in front of your room and a well maintained State Park trail meanders along the bluff and ends at a nearby sandy beach. Many of our rooms are pet friendly, so bring your favorite pet(s) too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Fireside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Motel Yachats
Fireside Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing