We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Bread!”
Review of Bread & Roses

Bread & Roses
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: A cute place for lunch and a Wonderful bakery! I never travel up the coast without stopping to bring some of their delicious goodies home.
Restaurant details
Description: A cute place for lunch and a Wonderful bakery! I never travel up the coast without stopping to bring some of their delicious goodies home.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fresh Bread!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

There was only one kind of bread available that day, at noon. It was very good, made with a little bit of "yachatian Culture" as the baker described it. A hearty bread with a little bit of everything, it was very, very good. We took it home to have with our crab dinner. Everyone loved it.

We also had a cranberry scone that we took for nibbles in the car, on our drive north. The scone was moist and flavorable. I will definitely stop here again whenever I am on the Coast.

They are only open on Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Mondays....so plan ahead. It is well worth it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4duffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    41
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming, quaint, and delicious”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stopped here for a light lunch after a long morning of hiking. This is a small, charming bakery with a variety of baked goods as well as a short menu of (delicious) home made lunches.

We had a root vegetable pasty, and a bowl of the black bean vegetarian chili. Both were delicious, and clearly made with healthy, fresh ingredients. Could not have been more satisfied.

Didn't have any sweets, but they all looked fantastic. They also offer fresh-baked bread for purchase.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Charming shoppe for Pastries and espresso. Friendly staff, local artists' wares displayed. Be sure to try the palmierre.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jrryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldport, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm Atmoshere and Yummy Food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our family was just in Bread and Roses to pick up some treats. As usual they were delicious. We find that whether you are craving savory or sweet you will find something tasty to eat. This day we were seeking sweet, but not too sweet, to take with us as we hiked the 804 trail. We tried some gluten free blackberry scones. They were just right.
When we walked through the door we received a friendly greeting from the young man behind the counter. As is typical, the atmosphere was welcoming and carefree.
Because Bread and Roses is a quaint little bakery owned and operated by a talented and unique artist you never know what treasures you will discover when you walk through the door. Artisan breads, croissants, sand dollar cookies, pizzas, pasties, soups, sandwiches, pastries, cakes, or even meringue mushrooms are just some of the goodies we have happened upon.
Once again we were glad that we stopped by. Our tummies and hearts were fIlled.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Small but nice restaurant, good healthy food and casual service”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is just a nice, small restaurant with good healthy food. The bread was delicious. There are not so many places to sit but you may decide to take the food out and eat it elsewhere.
Service was friendly and casual.

A good choice if you want to have the healthier choices of food.

On some days, I was there on a Saturday, there is a lively market next door with lots of alternative stuff. Even saw the colourful died T-shirts from the 1960’s again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bread & Roses also viewed

 
Yachats, Oregon Coast
Yachats, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bread & Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing