We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little dive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yachats Underground Pub and Grub

Yachats Underground Pub and Grub
Ranked #14 of 16 Restaurants in Yachats
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
242 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great little dive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Good food, good brew selection. Great service, friendly staff. Don't pass by this alternative to the Driftwood Inn. Prices are good, not much atmosphere but lots of fisherman stories.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratfink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“watched foortball game here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Loved the food... the bartender took FOREVER for
drinks and food order,but I noticed she took care of regulars quickly. One group of people left while waiting.

I understand...I was a bartender and waitress. And the regulars carry you through the slow times.BUT...people talk.
Would I recommend it to someone else?...Probably not , unless they have more patience than I do.

This is one of those times when I think the management/ owner needs to roll up their sleeves and help out if it gets busy, or hire a second person for busy hours or pull someone from somewhere else.
You do not make any $$ if you are not serving people ,and in the end..unless you are independently wealthy and use your business as a loss for taxes...you cannot survive in a bad economy without great service.
A lot of people use their business as an ego boost. Well, it only lasts as long as you can pay the bills.

It really is all about service and good food and drinks...
but if someone is being overwhelmed at the bar, or in the restaurant, because of a surge of customers, than management needs to help out..or horrors...even the owner. After all it is about staying in business.
I will probably stop one more time to see if it was just a weird day or not...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grubby establishment, bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

View is gorgeous from this place but they desperately need to spruce it up and upgrade the kitchen. We intended to have dinner here but after looking at dishes at other tables and eating an appetizer, we paid our tab and went to another restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We tried to find a clean table and finally brushed one off ourselves. There was a drunk at the bar talking so loud we could not get our order through to the waitress when she finally came over...then after a long , long wait for our food we got our orders and my lady said this was not the sandwich she had ordered and the waitress ran to the guy at the bar and took his sandwich and brought it to my lady and gave her sandwich to him. YIKES!!!! Never again. To many good places to eat in Yachats with GOOD service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank senior_travelorBVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in Yachats one night on our trip down the coast. We were parked and on our way to another establishment for a drink when we heard music coming from the Underground Pub, and decided to go in. It was a Thursday, which turns out is the night some locals get together and jam. They were playing blues, and it was so enjoyable we spent the evening there. Because it is so small, you end up talking to a lot of people. I think we were the only tourists among the locals, and they were all so friendly and many spoke with us. Tammy, the bartender, was great and did a fantastic job. We had a fun evening and felt very welcomed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilleysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yachats Underground Pub and Grub also viewed

Yachats, Oregon Coast
 
Yachats, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Yachats Underground Pub and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing