We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything and a good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Cove Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Close to everything and a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent two nights of our annual motorcycle trip to the Oregon Coast in Yachats. We stayed both nights at the Ocean Cove Inn. The room was clean, the view was great and the location was close to everything in Yachats. They even provided a complimentary bottle of wine for us in the room. Quiet location in a beautiful serene setting. The only piece missing was a patio umbrella on the sundeck, but it may have been too windy for that anyway. We'd return, for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper motel building, better views from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ersterhernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    35
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
123
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place was a really nice surprise! Clean, quiet, affordable, and in a great location. Much better price than the big chain hotels we stayed in on this trip, and with a better view. The room was huge and had a nice lounge area, as well as a table and chairs on the patio. The only negative thing I could say is that the tv was tiny, but who wants to watch tv in an area as scenic as this anyway?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom3247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

When on vacation, we greatly value being able to walk everywhere - and the Ocean Cove Inn is the only lodging option in the heart of downtown. It's just across from the sandy beach, and is quite close to great restaurants (Alder Bistro) and coffee shops (Green Salmon).

It's important to note that this isn't a B&B (I'm not sure why TripAdvisor has it categorized as such). It's beautifully renovated, furnished with antiques, so the rooms are comparable to something you'd find in a high-end B&B, but it's more of a hotel experience than a B&B experience. If you're looking to chat with the owner, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a great room in the heart of Yachats, this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric_83702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My Mother in law lived in Yachats the last years of her life, so we visited there a lot. We were "told" about the OCI by faithful visitors so we tried it. Since my MIL passed we have been returning for the 4th of July celebration. This year the OCI has gone corporate and for the worst. No homey touches at all. Two tissues in the box greeted us, no glasses in the bathroom. No daily maid service unless requested, then reluctant at best. NO 4th of July decorations per normal, or even a US flag on the 4th. NO on site manager, and many excuses were made by the "regional" manager, who we had to drag out to the site because we were reluctant to give her a credit card over the phone. We do NOT like this lack of service and we noticed that those of us who had booked a year in advance for the 4th were no longer there. So sad. A Yachats Gem has been ruined for us.

Room Tip: The wifi did not extend to our room, so we were without it. Do not stay in the last unit at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceancoveinn, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry that you are disappointed with the new set up of the Ocean Cove Inn. We are moving away from the B&B aspect and moving towards a vacation rental home model. We do appreciate this feedback as we are eager to make positive changes, such as an onsite office clerk. While we understand your disappointment that the running of the Inn has changed, we are confident that future guests will love staying in this wonderful spot,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I booked our stay here several months ago based on the fine reviews both of the rooms and the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. In the interim, however, the motel came under the management of a vacation rental agency and, at least at present, does not seem to be at all what it was. Our only contact with management was when we checked in. In the three days we were there, our room was never cleaned, nor were linens changed or coffee supplies replenished. There's a microwave and fridge, but no utensils or plates...not even a coffee stirrer. On the last day, I noticed that a page in a notebook said rooms would be "refreshed" at the explicit request of a guest, but this was not offered at check-in and there was no one at the property to receive requests. In fact, on 2 different days, couples arrived hoping to get a room (there were vacancies), but they tried calling the number on the office door and got no response. I've given the motel 3 stars simply because the rooms are quite pleasant and the place is conveniently located at walking distance to restaurants and with a view of the ocean across the road (but only from the upper rooms). Had we been passing through for just one night, it would have been OK, but not for our longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceancoveinn, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Cove Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. While we have moved away from the B&B set up of the former owners, we are confident that future guests will love staying at Ocean Cove Inn. We are ensuring that staff is on hand for office hours and there are daily, scheduled housekeepers available upon request. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Such a lovely place to stay. Great views of the sea, an easy walk to watch sunsets over the ocean and a delicious breakfast at the Green Salmon cafe 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms we stayed in were clean, comfortable and great as a stopover on our Pacific Coast Highway journey. We could have easily spent several nights here, just relaxing. Helpful and hospitable manager. Would most definitely stay here again if we ever get the opportunity to re-visit PCH.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having stayed in two waterfront hotels in Yachats on previous occasions, we chosw the Ocean Cove Inn this time. This place can best be described as an upscale Motel. The room was sizeable, comfortably furnished, including a sofa and an armchair. The welcome was friendly. The location, right on US101, is not very scenic---you can just about see the ocean behind buildings across the road---but we were just looking for a place for the night. Despite the proximity to US101, we experinced no noise problem. Breakfast is not included; the nearby Drift Inn provides a good breakfast at a reasonable price. Avoid the Green Salmon Cafe unless you like stained tables, uncomfortable chairs and lukewarm coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belltif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
0.7 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
0.9 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dublin House Motel
The Dublin House Motel
#9 of 11 in Yachats
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Cove Inn

Property: Ocean Cove Inn
Address: 180 Prospect Ave, Yachats, OR 97498-9475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Cove Inn is a charming motel just above Yachats Bay on the central Oregon Coast. It offers cozy rooms for two and plenty of amenities. The location is excellent for exploring Yachats on foot, being just minutes from restaurants, coffee shops, wine bars, stores, picnic areas and the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing