We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely awesome”
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yachats
Certificate of Excellence
spokane,wa
2 reviews
“absolutely awesome”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed at this motel the last couple of days and have been incredibly impressed. Perfect location, great area to bring our canine family, staff is very friendly, rooms are not fancy but very, very clean and comfortable. We will definately be back and hopefully for longer than 2 days. Great job by all in keeping this such a wonderful place to come for a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marialuci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    196
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
230
264
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Clean room, friendly staff and quiet location. It's not fancy but it had everything we needed. The internet wouldn't connect, probably just as well. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eljell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Silver Surf a couple times and found the simple, clean room with kitchenette a true bargain---with a priceless view of the ocean from our bed! This time we went with our son and his family who stayed in an adjacent room. They loved it! Plus they have been upgrading it with new refrigerators and linens, plus repainting the rooms. Once they've redone the heated pool in October, it will be an even better bargain and experience. We found the managers eager to meet our every need, including providing a picnic table and tablecloth for an outdoor meal out of the wind. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stay here every year for my birthday trip, this Nana & I's 9th year and my nieces 5th year staying. The remodeling on the rooms and cabins is wonderful everything looked so clean and fresh when we arrived. The motel staff and managers have been so helpful and nice. We have six of my nieces with me this year ranging from 2 to 12 and we are all having the time of our life like normal. The love being right on the beach to boogie board, have a neat tide pool with in walking distance, and an indoor pool if the weather is bad. This is the perfect vacation get away and even the cocker spaniel loves it here. The new outdoor game additions are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StonehavenCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I have stayed at the Silver Surf for years. It has always been my favorite place to stay in the Florence/Yachats/Newport area. The location can't be beat.

The partial remodeling is great and was needed. Unfortunately, it seems the cleanliness of the rooms has gone downhill. I appreciate being able to check in an hour early, but I would have gladly waited a little longer to have a clean room.

There was (what looked like) blood on the outer edge of the toilet seat. There was hair on the bathroom walls, shower enclosure walls, toilet and bathroom sink. All around the toilet and the toilet itself was dirty. I had to clean the top of the fridge just to set some snacks up there. I only used a few glasses. cups and utensils and had to wash every one before use. The table and the piece of furniture holding the tv looked like they hadn't been wiped off in a while, they had smears of something on them. What I first noticed was that the room hadn't been vacuumed or maybe just wasn't vacuumed well.

I was grateful that the towels and sheets seemed clean and like usual the stay was pleasant. I will probably stay at the Silver Surf again, but I am going to try the Fireside down the road first.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The hotel was very nice and the price was great. We only stayed 1 night we were just passing through. The owners were just wonderful-gave us advice on where to go!
Would for sure stay here again. I wouldn' t call i the "bates" hotel.
The owner even had us look at the room BEFORE we said we would stay-she wanted to make sure we liked the rooms!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bend oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Please check the date of this review....this motel had been remodeled, My sister and I stayed two nights at the Silver Surf. Check- in was easy, nice managers, eager to recommend restaurants, places to go. The weather was really changeable and rain storms were brief enough that we could get out and actually see a little sunshine. One sunset was lovely. We could see the surf from our room, it was just a short walk away. The room was comfy and clean. Previous reviews here were very negative about cleanliness and that is just not true now! Our room had been completely remodeled---new paint, carpet, light fixtures, kitchenette counter, bathroom paint, counter, sink, faucet, and new entry linoleum. Parking was just outside our door. There were no smells and no hairs on any of the linen. The Hide-a-Bed mattress was new and very comfortable. The housekeepers were friendly and energetic. We brought two dogs and were only charged $10. Most other visitors had dogs too and everyone had control of their dogs. If you plan to cook, I suggest you bring paper towels. Otherwise we had everything we needed. I hate to think a potential visitor would stay away from the Silver Surf because of outdated and bitter reviews.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marystreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
1.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
20.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Property: Silver Surf Motel
Address: 3767 Highway 101 N, Yachats, OR 97498-9432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yachats
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Yachats
#4 Family Hotel in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront on the sandy beach; indoor pool & hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing