We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Surf Motel
Nearby Hotels
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adobe Resort(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fireside Motel(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Cove Inn(Yachats)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ya'Tel Motel(Yachats)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
400
204
42
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
400
204
42
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoregon coastindoor pool and hot tubfire pitthe managersfull kitchenbeach accessbeach toysocean viewexcellent viewelectric fireplaceprivate balconybeautiful beachlaundry roomclean roomsmy favorite placelove this placeeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed here with our two young boys and had a great time.
The hotel is right on a gorgeous, sandy beach that you're likely to have all to yourself. The kitchenette is nicely appointed and was a great money saver for us. We got fresh fish from the local fishmonger and had a feast on a budget.
The furnishings were somewhat dated, but cozy, and the room was immaculately clean despite being a pet-friendly unit. The owners couldn't be friendlier and our boys loved all the little extras, like roasting marshmallows in the fire pit and playing horseshoes. As others have noted, the walls are a bit thin, and it's probably not a place I'd choose for romance or luxury. For us, though, it worked out great.
We'd stay here again in a heartbeat, and I'd recommend it to any family or adventurous couple looking for a budget friendly stay on the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacknhanksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I traveled Hwy 101 from Oregon down to California and we stopped for one night at the Silver Surf Motel. It was wonderful, quiet, on the beach, and the Inn Keepers Janice and Michael made our stay perfect. We ended up staying 3 nights, and enjoyed walking on the beach and watching the sun set each evening. The motel is on the beach, all the rooms have a balcony and face the ocean. The motel is so private, we saw very few people on the beach. Wonderful, Wonderful to take such great memories of the Silver Surf Motel back to our home in Kingman, Arizona.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamnjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I stayed at the Silver Surf with family when I was about twelve. My mom and sister have been coming back for a few years.

The first night we stayed in one of the units on the second floor. We arrived later in the evening and the view was great. The kids played on the beach and there is a spot to rinse the sand off.

The room has two queens, a kitchenette and bath with tub packed into a small space but there was still some room for a play pen. There is a small balcony and table too. The beds were soft but comfortable. There is spotty wifi and the TV gets a good selection of stations. Although the place was packed and we had people beside and below us (one with kids) we never heard a sound (I hope our neighbors had the same experience.

The second day we moved to a two bedroom cabin. The beach view cabin was open so we got in first thing in the am before making breakfast and hitting the beach and pool (indoor and nicely heated).

The cabin is nice, the carpets are clean ( I was told our room was shampooed that day). There is a fireplace and full kitchen.

The beach view cabin is a little more worn than the end unit I looked in. The micro suede chair arms were very worn and darkened, but it has a nice fireplace and a good supply of wood and kindling. The cabins have shower only.

If you plan on site seeing and running up and down the coast the rooms are fine. If you want to enjoy the nearby beach and the air the cabins are a winner.

The original section of the hotel was built in 1948 and the units have been around for a while too. But the place is well maintained and the cleaning staff is diligent.

The room was clean, the building is dated but well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beavis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Best feature is the view. The Managers Mike & Janis are very helpful, friendly and accomodating. The housekeeping staff work hard to please the guests. The Motel is in dire need of a total renovation. It is sad to see that it has not been remodeled or updated for many years. The rooms appear clean but smell old, look old. The beds are very uncomfortable-but had clean sheets. The furniture is not stable-ie: chairs worn out & wobbly. The walls are very thin and floors very squeaky. We would like to see this Gem revived to it's original state. Then it would be our destination on the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaze54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Peace and quiet, Spotless room, Internet was a little iffy, but, they are working on improving it. The hot tub needed some whirleys that worked better and was noisy. Janice and Mike, the managers, are extremely helpful in all regards, from helping with the luggage to recommending restaurants. Mike even invented a walking stick. one for practical, one for fun.
The view is non-stop from the balcony. If I have to say anything negative it would be about the plastic chairs on the balcony. I would stay here again - anytime

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews