We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beachfront location and View! Clean and very affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beachcomber Cottages
Lafayette
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beachfront location and View! Clean and very affordable!”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I have been coming here every year for our anniversary and it's been a great tradition. We look forward to it every year. These cabins are always very clean and cozy, and you can't beat the location. Right on the beach and set back from the 101. It's a great beach for walks and exploring tide pools, and it's located right in the middle of what we think is the most beautiful stretch of the Oregon coast. The management is very good, and they have really gone the extra mile to make sure we're always comfortable. This year, the power went out due to a storm. Obviously this wasn't anything they could control, but they offered to refund our money or give us a complimentary upgrade to the Red Door, a luxury beach house in Waldport which rents for $225 a night - which is very nice by the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Great view, clean, comfortable, and warm. My mother got a bit sick while there and said (other than missing some of the trip) she was just as comfortable as if she had been home. The Beach is amazing even in the winter, there are rocks for kids to climb on, but lots of sand beach, tide pools, and a waterfall along the land. Easy, flat-ish grass land down to two sets of stairs one paved on not (the paved is much easier but kids don't mind it is a couple yards closer), fire pit just above the beach, benches looking over the beach and water great for a morning coffee!! BEAUTIFUL PICTURESQUE SUNRISE & SUNSET RIGHT OUTSIDE YOUR WINDOW!!!!

Room Tip: The tide pool has a better view than the starfish. The driftwood is better than the sand dollar for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I came here to spend time away from the hecticness of everyday life. It was wonderful to watch the winter storm and then walk the beach afterwards. The cottage ( 3) was clean and well- maintained. With a full kitchen, it was easy and convenient to prepare my own meals. Easy access to the beach ( having the ropes to hang onto while climbing down when the sand was very wet and the rocks slick was helpful).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I just spent 6 wonderful days in #3 - clean, comfortable, inexpensive, and only a short walk to the adjacent beach. It felt like having your own private piece of the ocean - no noise - only the sounds of sea and surf. We're looking forward to our next trip here. If you like tide pools - this is the place ! - only 1 1/2 miles from Strawberry Hill Beach and about 20 miles from Seal Rock Beach. The low tides (-1.8) were fantastic !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyN294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BcCottages, Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
We are happy you had a wonderful time here! Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We stayed in #5 the Sand Dollar. It had the charm of a 40's cottage and was very clean. The view was spectacular and just a short walk to the beach. Each night we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves not the traffic on 101. Great tidepooling just a quick walk north on the beach. A five minute drive and you're in the town of Yachats for food and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BcCottages, Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Glad you enjoyed the time here and were able to see some of the wonderful sunsets we had. Yes, the ocean is so soothing to end the day with as it eases you off to sleep. Come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were looking for something low-key and quiet and definitely on a beach -- this cottage was exactly that. Kitchen was great, cottage was cozy and very clean, beach was terrific! Definitely a quieter area of the coast than areas farther north. You will have to drive for anything other than the beach, but once you are at the cottages, everything else disappears. They are actually farther off the highway than many other accommodations that we saw along the highway. We drove into Newport several times for the Aquarium, Rogue Brewery and Glass blowing. Cape Perpetua is wonderful with hiking, tidepools, overlooks and trails. Drift Inn was terrific and very reasonable in Yachats, also loved The Brown Hen in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buildingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BcCottages, Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Nice to see you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to visit some of our favorite places. It is a great place to stay and be close to local sites in either direction. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of us, hope to have you stay again, maybe in the winter months for our amazing powerful storms and agate hunting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much. The managers were friendly, the rooms were clean, and the view was breath-taking! We are already making plans for a trip to the Beachcomber Cottages next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondePolkaDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yachats
6.2 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
9.0 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
18.2 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ocean Cove Inn
Ocean Cove Inn
#6 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
7.3 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Cottages

Property: The Beachcomber Cottages
Address: 95500 Highway 101 S, Yachats, OR 97498-9705
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Yachats
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Yachats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Cottages are perched on the panoramic Sea Rose Beach, located on Oregon's beautiful Central Coast just 6 1/2 Miles South of Yachts on coast Hwy 101. Across from Siuslaw National Forest, this area is filled with sea life, tide pools, shells and agates. The Beachcomber has become an Oregon landmark and family tradition - for more than 50 years our guests have been strolling the secluded beach, searching for coastal treasures and enjoying the glorious sunsets. We have studio rooms that sleep 2 people and larger family units that sleep 8 people and we are pet friendly as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Beachcomber Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Cottages Hotel Yachats

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing