We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but a bit overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nissley Vineyards and Winery

Nissley Vineyards and Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$116.88*
and up
VIP Private Wine Tour with Lunch in Hershey from Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I like going to Nissley for the lawn concerts once a summer, but I do think the price of admission is too high. With food and wine being an extra charge, $15 a person just to sit on the lawn and hear a band is too much.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LUVTRAVLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nissleyv, Manager at Nissley Vineyards and Winery, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
At Nissley Vineyards we have held lawn concerts for over 30 years. Beginning as a quiet event with box suppers for an audience of 80, we have grown to become a huge party. Today people say that we are unique in the Central PA area for the beautiful setting and the quality experience that we provide. There are many influences on the admission price of $15. Foremost is that we cannot charge less without attracting a crowd that is far too many for our property. Thank you for your comment. We hope you will continue your annual custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Summer Concerts and Nice Wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We attended a summer, saturday night concert. We arrived and the vineyard was very organized at parking cars and guiding people to the lawn outside the vineyard store. We found a location to picnic (there were over 2,000 people there) and purchased a bottle of wine. The wine was excellent. The band that night played oldies and the dance floors were crowded. But we had a wonderful time! Thank you Nissley Family!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat and Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry County, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I decided to give Nissley a try because we actually like their wine a lot, and drink it fairly regularly, it being accessible at a nearby shopping mall store and the local wine & spirits. We were staying in the area at an inn for the weekend, and the innkeeper said we could do a better tour than Nissley. However, because we like their wine so much, we decided to do the visit anyway.
We arrived right as it opened at 10am. We were greeted warmly by two ladies on the front porch. They got us set up with our self-guide tour books, and we were on our way. The booklet was informative and interesting. I liked being able to take our time and move along at our own pace since I'm a photographer.
The end of our tour was topped off with a free tasting. They lady who did our tasting was personable and sweet. We ended up buying 2 bottles of the Grapeful Dead and 1 bottle of the Raspberry dessert wine, which my husband and I agreed were our favorite. I wouldn't mind visiting sometime for the concert series. That sounds like a lot of fun!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“concerts on the lawn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you have time on a Saturday night this is a must to do on your list , great bands play and food to purchase as well as wine but I would recommend bringing your own Nissley wine with you to avoid the wine line , the crowd to very pleasant and laid back atmosphere . I would also suggest getting there around 6 to get a nice spot there are two dance floors or just dance anywhere as some do . We brought friends from out of town and they are already looking to come back , bring your chairs table and food as all do , no beer allowed , or pets and under 21 . so enjoy adult time . there also is a 15 .00 cash price to get in .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WalkerPaRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dance Dance Dance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have visited the winery for tastings, and especially enjoyed the Music in the Vineyard concert on July 5. It was a perfect evening with great weather, sitting in the beautiful outdoor setting while the sun went down and sipping their great wines (My favorite is Rhapsody in Blue.). When the music began, the great band had us and many others dancing all night. Don't like to dance? Then just sit back, enjoy the music, the lovely evening, and each others' company.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nissley Vineyards and Winery also viewed

 
Manheim, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Nissley Vineyards and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing