We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not eat too much”

East Gourmet Buffet
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Bartonsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not eat too much”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I come here to eat dinner they tell me I eat too much seafood???

Helpful?
1 Thank Hua Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in the Poconos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Repeat customer of once per week for over 9 months. Usually lunch between 11:30 and 2PM.
I'll start with the best part; If you don't feel like eating a lot even at this low price, THE SAME OWNER is 2 miles up the road at NEW STAR ASIAN FUSION take out and restaurant with soup, tea, fresh made noodles and entree made fresh to order for $5.95 lunch !! That is the only place around you're going to find better food than this Buffet. He has managers (relation) run the Buffet like a clock while many days he cooks right up the road. Stop in and try Peter's (Pi) own Chinese, Thai, or Japanese specials!
I can only speak for lunch when I stop mid work day to eat. Never see food getting low, always hot and very consistent. The girls are right on tables to clean and check bathrooms for cleanliness every half hour. One thing I've noticed, You can tell by the sound level in buffets how people are enjoying the food, and this place does get loud when crowded. When customers don't talk or smile much they are not enjoying their food. That's your first sign of a good time. Waitresses are having a good time as well and friendly. Some items rotate with changes but all is good. Favorites; wontons from soup in cup with chopped green onion and add egg drop soup over top. Sesame balls with red bean paste, Lotus Peach Buns, Salmon consistently cooked just right, Baked Calamari, at least 2 shrimp dishes always on at the cheaper lunch time. Sushi is made fresh and really moves. Try to save room for a warm doughnut and soft ice cream. The chocolate ice cream is really chocolate. The only thing to make the Buffet better is name tags for the girls, (and Tracy to come back) !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BearStoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The food was over cooked and tough. Everything was a mess, lots of uncleaned tables, floors were sticky and stained, and the bathrooms looked like a bomb went off in them. The only good thing was we were seated right away unlike the African-American couple before us who had to wait an hour before being seated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A cut above an average Asian buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

While visiting the outlets, we stumbled upon East gourmet.Reviews were good, and we tried it out. It was Saturday, surprisingly no wait, but the place is full. it is much larger than usual Chinese joints, and way cleaner.I am not sure, how long it had been open, but it looked new, or well kept. We were seated promptly and served. As always I get hot tea, the tea was OK, but the earthenware just killed. It was served in recycled plastic cups, and it felt like drinking at a canteen.
Anyway, the food is good. More selection of seafood, and American cuisine than the price would suggest. On Saturday they charge 13$, cheaper on other days.A lot of fried fare, and meats. It appears that locals favor this buffet, since people kept coming and coming.And sushi weren't that bad either, and fresh. A sushi chef makes them right on the spot.
The desert was a disappointment;no eclairs, several choices of fruit, and some cakes. I saw people just loading up on soft ice-cream, several trips to machine..no wonder it runs out.
I would recommend going there, if you are on the budget and want a good eat. However, if you are on the diet, better avoid it, since the food is tempting and there are few healthy options.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olesea Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Huge Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Very large buffet. The selection of food varies for all family members and even the kids. From fish to prime rib which is so yummy and cuts like butter. The service is good...they don't rush you out. If your travel thru on interstate 80. Great place for a fast hot or cold meal. Wish they have coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoseman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Gourmet Buffet also viewed

Bartonsville, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Bartonsville, Pocono Mountains Region
Bartonsville, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to East Gourmet Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing