We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Be!”
Review of Bischwind

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bear Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bischwind
Ranked #1 of 2 Bear Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem
1 review
“A Great Place To Be!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our 25th anniversary at the Bischwind for several days. We found this to be the perfect retreat and the Tudor Style house and surrounding grounds and lake, coupled with it's intriguing history, was exceptionally charming and brings you back in time. The owner (Billie) went out of her way to makes us feel welcomed and to accommodate our needs and the breakfast was outstanding. Lastly it was surprisingly close to several attractions including a casino packed with different restaurants and, of course, several gaming options. We will be going back! The Deckers

Room Tip: If you're staying several days go for the Teddy Roosevelt room. If you want privacy take the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cachelessmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Four good friends enjoyed a 2 night stay at the lovely Bischwind for the first time in late August. The innkeeper, Billie, was a spirited, knowledgeable, fountain of information. The rooms were outstanding in individual décor with comfy beds. There is a lovely lake on the property and short drives to dinner locations are pleasant experiences. Bischwind has an interesting history and we all would go back for sure. There was a wedding finishing up when we arrived and it appeared to be the perfect spot for an intimate gathering. Breakfast each day was creative and filling, good food. It's a grand place in the evergreens of Bear Creek. Make plans and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are very unique and offer plush bedding. A few suites are cozy retreats with sitting rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrotter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was the third year that my granddaughter and I stayed overnight at the Bischwind. Billie is such a gracious innkeeper. One night is definitely not enough. We love the whole history of the place and hope to return soon !

Room Tip: Beehive Room is cozy. Green suite a personal favorite. Nice and private. Master's Room (this y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I'm not sure how many times we've been here, but it's always a pleasure! Beautiful property. It was nice to see Billi, Barbara and Ralph. They're so welcoming. Billi makes an absolutely delicious filet mignon for breakfast and the french omelet... We've enjoyed the shrimp scampi before as well! What a wonderful place to relax and have pleasant conversation. Beautiful pool too, was a little bit cool for it this year, but good weather for a walk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hi!. Me and my husband just got back from Bischwind. We loved it, it's a very romantic place. If you're looking for a relaxing place Bischwind is where you want to be. The whole house it's gorgeous. We stayed in the masters bedroom, its a lovely room with a good size bathroom, comfortable bed and a nice view of the gardens and the swimming pool. We had the pleasure of meeting Billy one of the owner she's great, good spirit and friendly. She made us feel welcome. Close to the Bischwind are a lot fun things to do, horseback riding, zip line, good restaurants, vineyards etc. Billy gave us a list with all the things around the hotel (with directions)... we can't wait to go back and have a romantic getaway again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

over the weekend me and my fiance stayed at the bed and breakfast in Bear Creek Pennsylvania honest review about it the room seems like someone's grandparents room the atmosphere was good it was clean as well but you have to walk up a flight of stairs that squeaks when you go up it to give you a clear point about it it seems like a min mansion turn into a hotel location is beautiful it's like a retirement home or a place for old people

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bischwind, Owner at Bischwind, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Bischwind is a 125 year old English Tudor mansion and like all historic buildings have a few squeaks and creaks, only adding to its charm. Only the three guest rooms in the North Wing share a common kitchen area for storing any items which may need to be chilled as well as the convenience of a microwave oven. Guest rooms in the South Wing have their own mini refrigerator as mentioned on our website. Our bed and breakfast has wide span of age groups all of whom enjoy the history of the mansion which is listed in the National Historic Register.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Mills
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I had just a one night mid-week stay at Bischwind. From the time we arrived, Billi, the proprietor, made us feel warmly welcomed. She encouraged us to look around the property, inside and out. Our elegant Master's Room had a large window with a beautiful view of the pool and surrounding grounds. Everything was spotless! Billi is not only a gracious hostess but also very handy. I had complimented her on the beautiful cobalt blue tile work in our bathroom, and she said she had laid it.........also denying that it was very hard to do, which I didn't believe!!

It was a delight just taking in the beauty of the home itself as the woodwork, antique furniture pieces and stained glass are exquisite. The scrumptious breakfast Billi prepared and the Boston mint iced tea were much enjoyed.

Our biggest disappointment was that we had only one night to stay at Bischwind due to a busy schedule. Hopefully, the next time we'll make it a priority to stay two nights! Thanks, Billi, for a rare and wonderful treat!

Peggy M.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the beautiful and elegant Master's Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Creek
21.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,443 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mountaintop Lodge at Lake Naomi
24.9 mi away
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The French Manor Inn and Spa
The French Manor Inn and Spa
#1 of 2 in South Sterling
372 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
23.3 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bischwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischwind

Property: Bischwind
Address: 1 Coach Road, Bear Creek, PA 18602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Bear Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
130 year old English Tudor mansion which is cradeled in the Pocono Mountains invites you with crakeling fireplaces, gourmet breakfast and much more. Built by lumber and ice baron, Albert Lewis, Bishwind has a rich history. Its lake side location with views of a waterfall allows one to relax and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bischwind Hotel Bear Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing