We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the twenty minute drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Travelodge Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Bedford
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“worth the twenty minute drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2006

“It looks like a motel room,” said my wife as we walked into our room at the Best Western Bedford Inn, and she was right. The room looked like the standard hotel room in the standard highway hotel with two double beds (not queens), a dresser table two chairs and a TV. Other than the contemporary bedspreads, I felt as though we had stepped back into the 70’s. My first impression was, “this is nothing special.” We had a clean, comfortable room for an overnight on the highway complete with trucks transmission braking as they negotiated the interstate onramp.

The room was very clean. I checked corners and looked for things undone. I found none. As I did so I found little things that distinguished this room from some others. There was, for example, an ironing board and iron, and the TV had a connection for a game system or portable DVD. My wife connected to the free wireless network with little effort and the signal was strong. Looking at the promotional material in the room it was obvious that the hotel was working for long-term stay people going to nearby ski resorts.

It was the next day that we discovered that this roadside hotel was more than what was seen. The back of the hotel, and its rooms face a park-like setting around the pool (empty on our visit) and hot-tub. Had I known, I would have requested a room change to this part of the hotel.

Finally, the full, hot breakfast buffet is worth the effort. Eggs, bacon, sausage (a local and flavorful variety), as well as French toast, and potatoes highlight the buffet with a mix of seasonal fruits also available. The restaurant looks over the pool and the décor of the restaurant is a stained glass theme.

Would I stay again? Compared to the bustling Breezewood strip and the run-down New Stanton offering this is a gem. The price was good, the room was comfortable and the little amenities reflect a true desire to be hospitable. This hotel is worth the extra twenty minute drive.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    249
    128
    48
    18
See reviews for
225
167
68
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Erieville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2006

We'd been on the road for 10 days before arriving at the B.W. in Bedford; we'd chosen it only because of their pet friendly policy and their location. We were very pleasantly surprised by how clean and spacious the room was, how excellent the restaurant was, and then there's the humungous free breakfast buffet.
The staff was warm and helpful and there's free high speed internet service in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2005

We used this hotel as a stop on our way to Virginia. We are a family of 5 and didn't expect much. We were pleasantly surprised.

The staff was exceptional and the rooms were just right. We requested a roll away and it was in the room when we arrived. It's nice to not have to make an issue of something after a long drive.

We spent a few hours lounging by the pool, which was a really nice atmosphere, backing onto a large grass field.

To top it off, breakfast in the morning was included. Not just a continental breafast either, it was full bore, all hands on deack eggs, panckaes, waffles, cereals...well you get the idea. It cost 89 bucks and was worth every penny.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
6 Thank wickman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2005

We stopped here for a night on the way back from Michigan. It was overall pretty nice, but our room had some stains on the ceiling and smelled a little musty. However, the front desk was nice, and the jacuzzi was the perfect way to relax!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cancun_curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2005

I have stayed at this hotel every summer on my way to New England for some years now and am never dissapointed. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast buffet, nice pool! Also Bedford is a quaint little town with some interesting shops and old-fashioned movie theater, Bedford Village. Definitely worth a stop!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2004

I have been homesick for this town ever since I had to leave it in 1941. I come back each year for the Fall Foliage Festival and wander around the town and Old Bedford Village, immersing myself in the local history and old buildings. Most of my old classmates are no longer living, the businesses have changed hands and those wonderful drugstore soda fountains have disappeared--but this is still a wonderful town to spend a vacation in. The hotels are good, the food is good and the Fall foliage days are great--my husband says that Bedford reminds him of Main Street in Disneyland and he can't wait to come back again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
15.3 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.9 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#8 of 10 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bedford

Property: Travelodge Bedford
Address: 4517 Business 220, Exit 146 PA Turnpike, Bedford, PA 15522-7763 (Formerly Bedford Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bedford 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bedford Hotel Bedford
Bedford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing