We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chancellor's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chancellor's House
Ranked #3 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

My spouse and I chose to spend the night at the Chancellor's House on our return trip from graduation at Penn State. The house is beautifully decorated, the owners Steve and Lynn George were gracious and friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and our room (the Daffodil) was lovely and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay, and Steve and Lynn went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LishLish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

My sister and I spent last Friday and Saturday night at the Chancellor's House. Having traveled extensively and visited many B&Bs I would rank this beautiful home and service the best that I have ever had. Lynn and Steve, the proprietors, could not have been more accommodating. The helped us with attractions, shopping and restaurants. The house was spotless, our room was comfortable and the food delicious beyond belief! Best of all, the house was quiet. While the inn was filled we never heard another guest move about. I would return in a minute and plan to. My thanks to Lynn and Steve for sharing their home with us.
Jackie from Pittsburgh

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaFunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

This was a lovely home, both inside and outside. The host and hostess were gracious, welcoming and a font of knowledge about the area. Our room was well appointed and pretty with a nice view of the garden. Bedford is a well hidden jewel with nice restaurants and shops. The Chancellor's House truly enhanced our visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CampHill_PARiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

The first night we were kept awake by the nearby race-track. The room was tiny with absolutely no closet space, there was barely enough room in the closet to hang two items. The room looked like it was decorated from a garage sale and the bed frame felt like it would fall apart at any moment.

The worst part was the owner, he always had something to say and would not let us eat our breakfast in peace. He was very bossy and demanded that we sit in assigned seats for breakfast. The breakfasts were awful! The first morning we were served eggs that were cold and tasteless. The second morning featured burned French toast swimming in an ocean of syrup.

This was by far the worst experience I’ve had at a B&B! I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cow_Cat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsbutgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had decided to meet friends at Bedfords Springs Resort until we found out the price of one night's stay. We ended up finding Chanceellors House and were pleasantly pleased. Everything was perfect. They were so welcoming and the house was perfect. We stayed in the largest room and had such a nice experience. The wine and cheese let us meet the owners and discover the many things we had in common. After learning of our interests, Steve was able to make an introduction for us to one of his neighbors that he realized we would find delightful. We highly recommend this to anyone looking to vist the Bedford area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjport2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

From the beautiful Victorian decor, native artwork and ambience to the most delightful breakfasts, this place rate high marks all the way around. The Georges were terrific hosts and no detail was left undone. The scones were scrumptious but so were the bananas Foster pancakes. Very convenient location to everything.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardrabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife and I spent a weekend recently at the Chancellor's House in Bedford, PA. It was among the best B&B's we've stayed at. The Innkeepers run a first class operation and are warm and friendly. Wine and cheese in the Library take you back to the days of the original owner of the house who was the Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh. Breakfast was superb. The Inn itself is extremely well kept, close enought to town to walk and in a quite and well maintained neighborhood. This is a definite "keeper" and one to return to again and again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomPhilaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#3 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#7 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#8 of 10 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor's House

Property: The Chancellor's House
Address: 341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing