We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chancellor's House, Bedford, PA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chancellor's House
Ranked #3 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chancellor's House, Bedford, PA”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I can only repeat and agree with the other reviews. A premium place with premium hosts and premium breakfast along with some great history and local information. We will be back as it is only an hour and a half from home.

Room Tip: Rooms are big to bigger with lots of light from eight foot windows and beautiful tile bathrooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
74
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I have made The Chancellor's House our home base for enjoying the pleasures of Bedford since 2008. Always a great time. Innkeepers are friendly and interesting to talk to. Accommodations and appointments are top notch. And you couldn't ask for a more convenient location. Shops, restaurants, museums are just outside the front door. Delicious breakfasts along with welcome wine and cheese too. If you want to treat yourself but don't want to break the bank by staying at the resort, you couldn't pick a better place. Thank you Steve and Lynn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daffodil Room the times we stayed and enjoyed it. Steve and Lynn did an outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 280lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Three old Army friends and their wives who gather annually to tell war stories and catch up with each other spent a wonderful two days at this Bed and Breakfast within walking distance of most of the attractions in Bedford, PA. If you haven't visited Bedford, you should. Its a delight - full of beautiful historical homes and historical sites dating from the French and Indian War. The Chancellor's House is a gem - spotless, beautifully appointed, and Innkeepers Steve and Lynn George are friendly, fascinating, and very knowledgable about the town and the area. Best B&B we've ever stayed in and we've slept in some very good ones over the years. Steve is an architect and Lynn designed the garden and prepared the outstanding breakfasts. They are very, very professional and a delightful couple to boot.

Room Tip: All three rooms are first class. We stayed in the larger Dogwood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeBandit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Perfection at every turn. We are three retired Army Lieutenant Colonels and our wives. We hold an October reunion every year in a different locale. This year was Bedford and the Chancewllor's House and it was one of our best choices. Our hosts, Steve & Lynn, were so very welcoming and helpful in planning our stay. Their home is the finest restoration of the home and grounds that I have seen... no detail was spared or compromised. The home is spotless. Then, there were the breakfasts. Served in the elegant dining room, Lynn amazed us with her wonderful selection of dishes; prepared flawlessly. I would strongly recommend Bedford as a vacation destination and give 5-Stars to the Chancellor's House.

Room Tip: All rooms are first-class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My partner Eric and I were looking for the perfect place for a few days' getaway- and we found the perfect place in the Chancellor's House. Bedford is an easy trip from Pittsburgh, and a delightful town- full of history, great specialty shopping, and fantastic dining. Lynn and Steve, the owners are fantastic hosts- perfectly welcoming, intelligent, and true ambassadors for the Bedford area. The house and service were fabulous- everything from evening wine and cheese in the library to breakfast served on impeccable china...We couldn't be happier. We commend the George's for their unfaltering hospitality, and their ease of acceptance of us as guests in their home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My best friend and I wanted a peaceful, stress-free location to celebrate our milestone birthdays and discovered the Chancellor's House. Just 2 hours from Pittsburgh, it's an elegant 1870s home tended with loving care and filled with history. Innkeeper Lynn was away, but owner Steve George was a wonderful host, and chef Sally was amazing. Steve shared with us the history of the house, named for the Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh. Our breakfasts were elegant, seasonal and delicious. And Steve's recommendations for restaurants and attractions were perfect. Lots of fine dining in little Bedford! Omni Springs spa was another highlight - we will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: The Dogwood Room had two separate beds with another tucked into the roomy closet. Perfect for a gir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent two weeknights at the Chancellor's House. Although Lynn was out-of-town, Steve, the owner, made us feel right at home. Being former bed and breakfast owners, that's not always easy. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispypoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
398 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#9 of 10 in Bedford
15 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor's House

Property: The Chancellor's House
Address: 341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing