We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and charming with nice innkeepers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chancellor's House
Ranked #3 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very clean and charming with nice innkeepers”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We were ready to book a room at Bedford Springs but decided after reading Trip Advisor reviews that this sounded charming and a little different for us (we really don't stay much at B&B 's)
It was a good decision. The inn was immaculate and our room was large with a large bathroom and comfortable bed.
Steve and Lynn were gracious hosts and interesting people. My husband thoroughly enjoyed talking with Steve about the history and politics of Pittsburgh. Lynn's lemon ricotta pancakes were wonderful!
We enjoyed them both as well as the other guests.
They made reservations for us at 10/09 which we requested but had other suggestions.
I can't figure out how to add this to
Attractions, but we drove out to the site of Flight 93 and it was definitely worthwhile. Maybe a 25! minute drive. We also drove up to the Bedford Inn before we left and it looked nice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyseinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Md.
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a wonderful place! Steve and Lynn have a truly remarkable B&B. You won't be disappointed. Hospitality wonderful. The attention to every detail in décor and style is truly remarkable. Get off that turnpike and stay here! Bedford downtown is worth a weekend trip for fancy restaurants and unique shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The George's were so gracious and nice during our stay. Things started off with a misunderstanding about the date we booked. We never figured out exactly what happened, but that's neither here nor there. What matters is that Steve, the owner, handled the situation so nicely and things worked out perfectly for everyone. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The rooms were so nicely decorated with a lot of attention to small details. We especially liked the style of the bathrooms.

Lynn was so pleasant to talk to, I wish that we had had more time to spend with them. Both seemed very interesting and nice. They are both very knowledgable about the area and can recommend restaurants and things to do.

If you're in Bedford and stay here, make sure you visit the American Coverlet Museum across the street from the Chancellor House. You won't be disappointed. I'm not even into things like that and I found it incredibly fascinating. Next thing you should do is drive out to the Flight 93 Memorial Site. This is where one of the planes crashed on 9/11. Such a moving experience and definitely made our visit to Bedford more memorable.

Thank you again to Steve and Lynn for being so kind and understanding. The breakfasts were so good, we felt so spoiled. :-) I hope we can come back sometime.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonGlisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely home, gracious hosts, wonderful breakfasts. It's obvious that Steve and Lynn love Bedford and love serving others. Their home is beautiful (we loved Steve's story of how they came to own it), clean, lots of lights all over, with special little touches that make a bed-and-breakfast-stay much nicer than a hotel/motel. How nice it was to park the car and walk everywhere in town, which by the way, has lots of shops and places to grab a bite. We were there on a "first Friday" when the town stayed open later, and it was delightful. When you do drive, make the short trip to the Bedford Springs resort. Beautiful... but for the cost and character and atmosphere, you'll be glad you stayed with Steve and Lynn! All in all, a rejuvenating, relaxing weekend. Don't hesitate: call and book your Bedford stay at the Chancellor's House!

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room on the list! Quiet streets; each room is in a corner of the house. Bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have already told many of our friends ... Perfect B&B experience!! We loved the walking distance as well to many equally relaxing destinations. Lynn and Steve were perfect hostess and host, and a wonderful art collection to enjoy as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We received a gift card to stay at The Chancellor's House. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and were actually a little nervous about the experience. The Innkeepers, Steve and Lynn George are gracious hosts and from the moment that Lynn greeted us at the door, we were made to feel like welcome guests in their home. All three rooms were booked while we were there. I believe one was a same day reservation. The Georges made their role as innkeepers seem easy. Our room was clean and comfortable.The house is lovely. We too enjoyed wine and cheese and friendly conversation with the other guests and the Georges before taking an enjoyable walk down the street to a new and very good restaurant called 10/9. Breakfast was excellent and we left with a copy of Lynn's famous pancake recipe. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night! Bedford is a town worth exploring and the Chancellor's House is the perfect place to stay when you visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hosts (Lynn and Steve George) are what make the experience memorable. They are warm, charming and friendly. The B&B is their home and you are treated always as a special guest. The place is beautiful, clean, quiet. The artwork is superb and sitting in the Library chatting with the hosts and other guests is extraordinary. Breakfast is to die for- especially Lynn's lemon ricotta pancakes! Yoy absolutely cannot go wrong by staying here. I guarantee you will return.. It is a few short blocks from the main small shopping district replete with new restaurants, shops and all sorts of neat attractions. I have stayed here now about 6 times and it is the only lodging in Bedford that I will consider. If they ever decide to retire and sell the place, I don't know what I'll do!!!! Each time I stay here it only gets better!!! .

Tom B

Room Tip: There are three rooms in this B&B. You cannot miss in any room. The Daffodil Room is the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
347 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#3 of 10 in Bedford
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#8 of 10 in Bedford
13 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor's House

Property: The Chancellor's House
Address: 341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing