We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn, terrific breakfast, OUTSTANDING hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chancellor's House
Ranked #3 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Spring Hill FL
1 review
“Beautiful inn, terrific breakfast, OUTSTANDING hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We had the opportunity to spend a night at the beautiful Chancellor's House in Bedford, PA this past spring. The beauty and history of the inn equalled that of the Bedford area. Enough cannot be said about the graciousness of the hosts, Steve and Lynn George. They truly personalized the stay, making it apparent from the first that our comfort and enjoyment of the inn and the area were a priority. If you have the opportunity, don't miss this one!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

My husband and teenage son stopped over one night at the Chancellor's House on our way to tour Fallingwater. We were unable to get a good sense of the town of Bedford, but our brief overnight at this Bed & Breakfast was unforgettable. The owners are extremely gracious. An evening on the porch chatting with Steve was delightful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious -- plus you feel incredibly pampered. The house itself is lovingly restored and our bedroom was not just clean, but luxurious and tastefully appointed -- the bathroom was nicer than the one we have in our home!! We always love the idea of Bed & Breakfasts, but are usually disappointed. Not this time. This was the quintessential experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyPants23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

As a frequent flyer I have traveled everywhere it seems, and stayed at beautiful places, but have never been so unexpectedly charmed as I was after a recent visit to the Chancellor's House. Recently, my best friend and I decided we wanted to travel with our significant others for a long weekend that required no airport delays or hassle. We needed a little romance and relaxation for our souls. On the spur of the moment we decided to head out of the city and find a charming town with accomodations at a bed & breakfast. My boyfriend had been to Bedford a few years ago and remembered the area as a great romantic, yet high active lifestyle, getaway. With our friend's joining us for a spontaneous road trip over the 4th we only needed accomodations and we would be set. We made reservations at the Chancellor's house with no expectations and have now had the bar set very high for future B & B stays.
From the moment you drive up to the beautifully landscaped home you are in for a treat. The grounds are covered with color showing an attention to detail that is consistent in both the accomodations and the graciousness of the hosts.
Our room was exactly what we wanted for our trip, perfect historical influences combined with today's modern life. We stayed in a beautiful room in a romantic four poster bed with a private modern bath full of light and overlooking the gardens. We hiked, visited the springs, had a tasting at a winery and explored the historical downtown area. In the evening Lynn and Steve had wine and cheese waiting for their guests on the beautiful front porch, and listened to the day's adventures with suggestions for the next day.
We awoke to an amazing breakfast with a gorgeously appointed table and a never ending supply of coffee.
After a much too short weekend stay we left happily with plans to return again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transplantedmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

A stunningly beautiful and immaculate B and B. Wine and cheese on the front porch with the owners, an architect and a theater major. Exquisite taste in antiques, that fit the federal style of the home. Beautiful garden and formal full breakfast on china and crystal by candlelight! Delicious omelet, bacon, fruit and all the trimmings. Accomodated a special dietary request sent in ahead of time. Interesting history of the house and the town has a lot to offer, including great dining choices like the John Bonnett Tavern 4 miles from the house! Bedroom was gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable and wonderfully dressed in quality linens. All around a great place to stay and we will be back!!

  • Liked — The elegance, cleanliness, surroundings.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#8 of 10 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor's House

Property: The Chancellor's House
Address: 341 S Juliana St, Bedford, PA 15522-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing