We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year, or 6 months makes…..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a difference a year, or 6 months makes…..”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just a glimpse of what can happen to a hotel in just a few months to a year. We used to stay in Bedford (Fairfiled Inn) a few times a year because it was a descent half way point between residences (Virginia and New York). The last time we stayed, we rolled in around 2am this past month. We checked in and asked for a suite (3 kids-2 adults). The first room we received, had an open air conditioning unit, tools and drop cloth on the floor and garbage. The kids, who ran into the room first, were caught up in that garbage. Not to fun at any time, let alone 2 am. Next, it took over 10 minutes to find another room. The next room, had an AC Unit that sounded like an FA-18 Hornet upon takeoff. Not to mention the fridge had a drain problem, and slurped the rest of the night. Upon waking, after a not so nice 4 hour (now 6AM) rest, the bathroom toilet clogged. Then at breakfast, I asked for a straw for my 2 year old for the milk, and they were out of straws. In fact, since they went to a hot breakfast, a few years ago, and got rid of their waffles in the morning, the breakfast is terrible. The hotel is visibly more dirty as well. I can chalk a few things up to bad luck, but this isn't the first time most of these things have happened. This is two in a row now and that as they say, is a pattern. So, even though the I-99 is right out the front door of the Fairfield, and it does provide a location of convenience, it will be the last time we stay there. If anything changes, I will definitely update. Thanks.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Michael G.,

Thank you for reaching out to us in regards to your recent stay.It looks like we missed the mark in providing exceptional product and service. We will closely monitor and correct the maintenance issues, the fairfield brand has changed the format with the hot breakfast program, we eliminated the waffles because of the inconsistent product and replaced it with buscuits and gravy. Please reach out to me when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Thomas P. Lear, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    136
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
177
96
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Only stayed one night but was clean and quiet. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Only about 1 mile off of Turnpike and from downtown Bedford. Hot breakfast was included in cost for room. Food was hot and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgs1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Fairfield Inn and Suites in Bedford, PA was just a stopover site for a long car trip. The hotel is very clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast buffet had lots of options and was nicely presented.

I loved several things about the room (2 queens) we had. First, the desk area had lots of electrical outlets and I did NOT have to crawl under the desk to get to them! The free internet was pretty typical -- no speed demon but an easy connection and perfectly adequate for email and surfing. What I loved even more is that there an electrical outlet by the bed, AND a floor lamp with a built-in shelf on the "other" side of the bed. Usually, only the person sleeping near the middle of the room has a bed table. This is such a convenience for those of us who wear eyeglasses or want a drink of water next to the bed.

I recommend this property to any traveler.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped off during a road trip and was pleasantly surprised by the colorful decor - Gave the hotel and nice feel! Bed was comfy and room was clean. Easy access from interstate and dining nearby. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143pattiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were on a road trip to Cleveland and Bedford is exactly halfway so we used Trip Advisor reviews to select this place.
The size of the room is great. Nice-sized bathroom, sitting area with big screen tv and separate sleeping area with another tv. Sitting area was a little dark so we moved the pole lamp from the sleeping area out into the sitting area and it worked fine.
There was a microwave and a refrigerator in the room which is a nice plus.
Your choices for a view from your room are either a cemetery or the highway.
There is a Subway right in front of the hotel and Salsa's Mexican Grille is directly across the road.
The breakfast was complimentary and adequate. WiFi is also free.
The only negative was the stale odor in the room. Even the sheets smelled stale. Maybe the room hadn't been used in awhile and needed to be aired out.
At first we were given room 210 which was literally 3 steps from the elevator. When we asked for another room we were given a room on the 5th floor. We are Marriott Rewards members and one of our preferences is a high-floor room so we didn't understand why we didn't get the 5th floor room to begin with.

Room Tip: Views are limited - either the cemetery or the highway. Higher floor would be good and don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room was nice and bed was comfy. Breakfast in the morning is really good. The only reason I wasn't able to give it the full rating was because the TV in the room does not have HD and we asked the front desk lady how far a local college was from the hotel. And she responded with "I dont Know." Didn't offer to find out how far either. Besides the lazy front desk lady and no HD this is a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in this property. It was clean, comfortable and staff were friendly. Early check-in was a plus, especially after a red eye flight. Rooms were huge with new carpet and furnishings. Free breakfast was as expected from a Fairfield Property. Hotel management was engaging and welcoming. There's a number of restaurants or convenience stores around the hotel and it is a five minute drive to Historical Bedford downtown. The only downside for us is that the hotel is right next to a memorial park and the view of our room is the Bedford cemetery grounds.
I will stay here again if I am in the Bedford area. Great value for the price and much more that what we expected from a Fairfield property. Candidly, we had a better experience from this Fairfield inn than a full-service Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the highway rather than the cemetery grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
79 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
15.3 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Address: 4436 Business 220, Bedford, PA 15522-7742
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bedford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#4 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Bedford
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Bedford Hotel Bedford
Fairfield Inn Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing