We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

1796 Room at Bedford Springs
Reserve with OpenTable
1796 Room at Bedford Springs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$70 - US$90
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you're a meat eater this is the place for you. The meat is prepared beautifully and is fantastic. Great service and wines to match.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another good experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our 3rd visit to 1796. This visit was not as food in terms of quality and service as our last 2 experiences, but the resort was very busy so this could had been the issue. The salads are ridiculously overpriced and uninspired but the entrees were fantastic. I enjoyed the salmon, done to perfection, and my husband enjoyed a roast chicken. The sides are ala carte and the sautéed spinach and garlic mashed potatoes were delicious. We did not have dessert but the desserts were very good at my last visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
290 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Great setting and good meal”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The food was excellent. Steak cooked perfectly, ribs were incredibly tender. The wait staff is attentive. However, the wine prices are overpriced with a 4x mark up-- more than your standard restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The service was fantastic and the food was cooked very well. The waitress helped us pick out a delightful bottle wine. Bread was served first-not that great but served with butter that had sea salt on it-unusual and good. Tomato appetizer was outstanding-kalamata olive spread, fresh tomatoes, red onions, feta cheese and truffle oil-to die for. We both had salmon which was cooked well but a little oversalted. Rather pricey but very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitalTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food...not exceptional”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our waitress was not the most attentive. Our cocktails sat on her tray while she chatted too long with another table.
The portions are huge, and therefore, very pricy. My husband and I shared a mediocre Caesar salad. The croutons were so big and impossible to cut. A neighboring table ordered the wedge salad. It filled a dinner sized plate! I will say that my filet was perfectly cooked and very good. My husband's chicken was dry. I gave him some of my steak sauce to moisten it. The meals come with a lonely little artichoke heart, so it is necessary to order a side. The smoked cheese mashed potatoes were excellent. I have had many more very excellent meals, and thought this one was over priced for the quality of the dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1796 Room at Bedford Springs also viewed

 

Been to 1796 Room at Bedford Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing