We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We dream of the breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Dining Room at Bedford Springs

Crystal Dining Room at Bedford Springs
Reserve with OpenTable
Crystal Dining Room at Bedford Springs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We dream of the breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great locally-sourced food. We love the breakfast buffet (the best bacon in the world) and gladly hike the trails across the street to justify pigging out there. If you stay at the springs also try the tea experience (available on Fridays and Saturdays at 2). Love the portraits of guests from the 1890s. The room is charming and the food is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maynecorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    74
    33
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our dishes were well prepared and well served. Since my wife and I split all courses, we were pleased that the kitchen was able to split our dishes without a problem and to preserve the presentation. The wine list was reasonable and the service was first rate.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good dining option at Bedford Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had dinner there during a stay at Bedford Springs and it was very nice. Filet and Scallops dinner and Salmon Dinner were both very good. Slightly pricey but that's what you would expect from a resort property restaurant. If you get good quality meals it makes the price seem justified.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NIonadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
225 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Lovely venue but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We ate here in the beautiful dining room for daughter's birthday. We each choose entrees that happened to be the cheapest on the menu, preferring non-meat meals. The bread selection was pretty good. The ravioli was good. I enjoyed the paella but our friend didn't like hers at all. She was offered something else but declined. They comped her a dessert. We each had 1 drink and my companions each had something extra: One had soup,and one had dessert. The cost was close to $180 for 3. I thought it was excessive for meals that were good but not special. Service was fine. I would select a different place next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PennWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We ate breakfast here while staying at the resort. I had an omelet which came with fried potatoes and toast. The omelet was good, and the veggies I chose to fill it tasted very fresh. The potatoes were nothing special. My husband got the Art of Breakfast buffet, which was abundantly filling. Lots of options and very tasty (he especially liked the maple butter and homemade bread); however, like all resort food, the buffet was pricey ($22), and I don't think we got our money's worth by what he ate. The servers were pleasant, and my husband's coffee cup was never empty; however, little details such as refilling our water glasses, checking in periodically, or offering jelly and jam for my toast were forgotten. For the price and class of this restaurant, I felt like I should not have to remind the waitstaff about the details. The dining room itself is gorgeous! It was especially interesting to see all the old portraits lining the walls, and the namesake crystal chandeliers were impressive. It was a nice dining environment, but the average quality food, average service, and value renders this only a 3 star dining experience in my opinion.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CSArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Dining Room at Bedford Springs also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Dining Room at Bedford Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing