We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoss's Steak & Sea House

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #14 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees. All cooked to order! Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms.
Johnstown, Pennslyvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food for good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stopped here while traveling through. We've eaten at this chain before and it is always good food for the money. The soup was delicious! Hubby had the stuffed pepper soup and I had chicken noodle. Just like homemade. We both had the stuffed steak which was well prepared. Service was very good and friendly. Dessert selection was OK.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsosci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    57
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The tour group that my husband and I were with stopped here for dinner. Super nice people the minute we all walked in the door. Food was good and the Salad Bar was clean and filled. Will definitely let people know if they are in the Beford, PA area and looking for a place to eat, that Hoss's should be on their list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bamafanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Bedford location. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

A nice variety of dishes and loved the desert bar. The steak was a little under cooked but they were quick to fixit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Your review of our Bedford location is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience. We hope you choose Hoss's again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“They try Real Hard to Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a casual family restaurant (sort of sizzler esq) with a sweet and positive attitude. Simple no frills formula restaurant with friendly, accommodating service. Super clean restaurant and obviously a local family favorite.
Steaks were ok - but it was the obvious desire to make everyone happy that was impressive over the food - which was good at a good price. Not really my preferred "style" of dining ...but I certainly appreciated the hard work, positive attitude and good intention of the place. It reminded me that I did love salad bars and the bread and dessert bars were just a good extension of a good idea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blessasugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Bedford location. We strive to show all of our guests true Hoss'pitality and provide great quality food and service at a reasonable price. Your kind words and positive feedback are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Please come further south!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having grown up in PA, Hoss's is a staple restaurant. Having move to the Shenandoah valley several years ago, we miss Hoss's. Every time may family comes home to visit my parent (live in western PA), we always stop at the Bedford Hoss's for lunch. We can always guarantee that the food and service is always good and that the place is always clean.

The salad bar is the best (sorry Ponderosa!). It has much more to offer other than salad. You get a full dessert, soup and bread bar as well. The salad fixings are always fresh and cold. No need to worry about food safety here. There is always someone at the bar cleaning up and filling the empty containers.

The closest one to us in VA is Winchester. We live 100 miles south of that location. Please bring a location south!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Hoss's on your trips to Pennsylvania. Food safety is a top priority for us and we appreciate you noticing the care we put into the food we serve. We will pass on your comments to build a location further south. However, until that happens we are always happy to serve you at our Bedford location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing