We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming breakfast stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bird's Nest Cafe

Bird's Nest Cafe
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming breakfast stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lovely breakfast stop with antique furnishings and outdoor seating under the porch. Obvious care and time out into the building. We just had coffee and a muffin and thought it a bit pricey. Waitress was very personal! Coffee could have been hotter.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    54
    11
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bedford Springs and stopped here for lunch on the way to the resort and for breakfast on the way home. It is fairly busy. The place is cute with a homey atmosphere. We sat outside both times we were here. This made our service all the more pronounced. We had to go looking for our waitress many times on both occasions. Ran out of iced tea, no coffee until we were done eating breakfast, getting our check, collecting our check....you get the picture. SLOW. Just do not be in a hurry. The food was good. Nothing wrong with it, nothing special. But fine. We took baked goods home with us as a thank you gift. They looked really good and were very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WOF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared dishes and the best Chocolate Eclairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A friend and I ate lunch here, the food was very good, the service was a bit slow as there was only one girl, servicing 2-4 tables throughout our meal. We started with the Trio of Deviled Eggs, which was very good. It included 3 types of garnishes, 6 halves. Our favorite was topped with red onion. For lunch I had the Chicken salad on a chabatta roll. It was very tasty. I was not a fan of the cole slaw, as the base was more vinegar than anything else. My friend had the sliced select beef on a chabatta, the beef had a bit of gristle and they forgot the pepper horseradish sauce. The server bought the sauce on the side and my friend was much happier with the overall flavor.
For dessert we sampled several of the cookies. The peanut butter and the macaroon were particularly good. I also bought several pastries to take home. The chocolate eclairs were out of this world!! The cream puffs were quite good as well. I also bought what could be described as a cannoli, but it was not the cream of a traditional cannoli, the cream was more like the cream puff cream, good but not if you are anticipating a traditional Italian cannoli!
Overall, we were happy with the food and the ambiance. The chocolate eclairs alone would be worth a return visit!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatCon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint, with tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Don't expect to be in and out in minutes. Enjoy the ambiance and friendly staff while they prepare fresh food every time...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
202 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good Food, ServiceCould be Faster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice lunch, but waited 30 minutes for 3 sandwiches. Several tables came & went while we waited. Would go back because food was good. Maybe just an off day service wise.

Helpful?
Thank Elman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bird's Nest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing