We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and eat on your way out to Pittsburgh!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Eagle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat on your way out to Pittsburgh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were traveling from NJ to Pittsburgh and decided to break up the long drive to stop in Bedford. We heard how great the food was so we made reservations for dinner when we arrived. Scallops and salmon tasted as fresh as the fish we get when we're at the shore. The steak was seasoned and cooked perfect and the candied bacon jam was a pleasant surprise on the side! After dinner we enjoyed some great local beers that we don't typically see in Jersey (or in most other restaurants off the PA turnpike). The staff and service were wonderful and they made a normally long and stressful drive a lot more pleasant. After the great food and drinks, we got a good night's sleep and a real hot breakfast (fresh blueberry pancakes and sausage) before getting back on the road. Can't wait to go back for another quiet weekend getaway!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
118
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here as a get together with friends and I would definitely come back. The hosts, Mary Jane and Tom were welcoming, casual but professional. Since a larger more comfortable room became available, they moved me there. I love the uniqueness of the old building- large doors and windows, hardwood floors, woodwork. Everything was clean and just where I wanted it but not cluttered. The bed was comfortable and I wish I had the same shower at home. The dining experience downstairs in the restaurant was remarkable- cozy fire, great service, unique but accessible menu and wonderful food. I look forward to returning. Next time I'd love to stay either on the cozy 3rd floor or a room with a fireplace, sit outside on the enclosed porches and enjoy the soon to be open basement pub, walking around downtown Bedford and enjoying the food and drink in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vandergrift, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My fiance and I have now stayed at the Golden Eagle Inn twice, once in the Oralee Room, and once in the Mary Espy room, while in Bedford to visit family. We had a wonderful experience during both visits. The hosts, Mary Jane and Tom, were so welcoming and friendly. The first stay was during a post-Thanksgiving trip, the first weekend in December. The Inn was freshly decorated for the holidays with live greenery and a grand Christmas tree greeted us at the entrance. We were shown to our room (the Oralee), where the fireplace had already been lighted for us, and our accommodations felt fresh, clean, and very cozy. After settling in, we had dinner in the dining room, which was charming with it's period decor, high ceilings, and lighted fireplaces. It was difficult to choose from such an enticing menu. I settled on a Harvest Salad with Pan roasted chicken that absolutely melted in your mouth. Tom suggested a wine to accompany our meal that was a perfect pairing. The chefs came out to our table to visit and were happy to talk about the menu. You can tell for the staff of the Golden Eagle, their work is truly a passion for them. We didnt wake early enough for the complimentary breakfast the next morning, but were delighted to order from their brunch menu. I recall delicious hash, bacon, eggs, and toast. After visiting with family for a while even returned for a late lunch before departing. The Chef burger is out of this world. Needless to say, when we returned for a New Years visit, we again chose to stay at the Golden Eagle. Their New Years Eve menu offered a great variety of food and our local family members joined us for the meal, and some stayed for the live entertainment. We were met with the same charm, warmth, cleanliness, and service during our New Years visit. We even ended up staying an additional night due to an ice storm and they were happy to accommodate us. We are looking forward to future trips to Bedford and the Golden Eagle Inn.

Room Tip: Both the Oralee and the Mary Espy are wonderful rooms for a romantic Getaway. Choose the Oralee if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vandergrift, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a wonderful experience. The hosts Tom and Mary Jane were pleasant and made sure everything was to our liking. The rooms were clean and comfy. We had a fireplace on one visit which was very romantic. The dining available at The Golden Eagle Inn was the superb and is beyond any fine dining experience you would have anywhere. Hats off to the Chefs.

Will stay there as often as possible when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickr4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our first stay, was impressed with the atmosphere, cleanliness, and attention to detail of our room. Kind and welcoming hosts, fine service without being too close. Well-proportioned, yummy breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Golden Eagle Inn New Years Eve and a had a blast. We didn't really know what to expect since we had never been to Bedford but the inn and town itself is extremely nice. The inn is a great location right in the hub of historic downtown Bedford and it is only about a 1.5 miles from the Bedford Springs Resort if you are going to be around there at all.

Tom and has wife were marvelous hosts and the our room (The Oralee) definitely exceeded our expectations with a gas fireplace, private bathroom, high ceilings, nice windows etc. We also had New Years Eve dinner at the inn which made or room half-price which is a fantastic deal. During the dinner they had great live music featuring mostly traditional Irish songs and some bluegrass music which was good enough that we stayed for hours after we ate. The food at dinner and the breakfast the next morning were both top-notch with my wife even claiming that her NY Strip at dinner was one of the best meals of her life.

The Golden Eagle was truly superb B and B experience. If you're looking for an excellent place to stay and/or eat when in you're in the heart of downtown Bedford this is perfect option.

Room Tip: They all seem really nice from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Golden Eagle Inn is a friendly and comfortable place to stay in a truly excellent location: right near all the historic buildings, antique stores and restaurants in downtown Bedford. We parked our car behind the inn and hardly had any use for it. The owners are exceptionally nice and greeted our family of four us with a bucket of bottled waters and two bags of wonderful caramel corn from Bedford Candies, just up the street. They were also very accommodating of our 5 and 7-year old children and the room was spotlessly clean. Overall, a great find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModTravel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#3 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
14.4 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#7 of 10 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Inn

Property: Golden Eagle Inn
Address: 131 East Pitt Street, Bedford, PA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Eagle Inn, built in 1796, provides guests with all the history an old time inn with modern amenties like central air, private bathrooms, wifi and off street parking. Guests will enjoy a tasty full service breakfast every morning, either on one of our sun porches or in our lovely dining room. Located in the heart of downtown Bedford, Pennsylvania, the Golden Eagle is perfect for those who want to enjoy the beauty, charm and history our town has to offer - all within walking distance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing